BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Man in the White Sharkskin Suit: A Jewish Family's Exodus from Old Cairo to the New World

Average Rating 3.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

a terrific read

this book held my interest.................it is a book about the incredible lives and resiliance of a family forced to leave all that was dear to them--each member of the family beautifully chronicled. Ms. Lagnardo is a wonderful (non-fiction) story teller--I read it f...
this book held my interest.................it is a book about the incredible lives and resiliance of a family forced to leave all that was dear to them--each member of the family beautifully chronicled. Ms. Lagnardo is a wonderful (non-fiction) story teller--I read it for my book club (best choice) and recommend it to everyone including my Mom...
(The photos were a great addition and added so much to the narrative).

posted by sadiecs on March 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This is a very touching book but it has it's weak points.

My heart went out to this family for all that they went through as refugees from egypt who never really made roots in america.It was a sad account.However i was not that impressed with the writing skills of ms Lagnado.I kept having the feeling that she wanted to glorify...
My heart went out to this family for all that they went through as refugees from egypt who never really made roots in america.It was a sad account.However i was not that impressed with the writing skills of ms Lagnado.I kept having the feeling that she wanted to glorify her father and that her accounts were not so accurate.For example,they lived in a rented apartment in egypt and owned practically nothing,yet she contradicts herself regarding that matter in the book,and appears to be over glorifying what they left behind.

posted by mayaTD on December 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    a terrific read

    this book held my interest.................it is a book about the incredible lives and resiliance of a family forced to leave all that was dear to them--each member of the family beautifully chronicled. Ms. Lagnardo is a wonderful (non-fiction) story teller--I read it for my book club (best choice) and recommend it to everyone including my Mom...
    (The photos were a great addition and added so much to the narrative).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This book was extremely readible and informative. I liked it so much that I just ordered her next book, The Arrogant Years.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2008

    A very moving and beautifully written memoir...

    It was really by chance that I picked this book up off the shelf. I was drawn to the family photos on the front cover and sat down to start immediately with Chapter One. I finished the book in three days and was so moved by the writing that I had to email Ms. Lagnado to share with her my thoughts and how her book moved me. The tone of the book, while not bubbly or happy, was very comforting to me. Right from the start, you are taken on this journey into Ms. Lagnado's parents' lives, and through her words, you sense the beauty of Cairo. She offers such fantastic memories of what Malaka Nazli represented for her, the tradition of her family, journey to America and settling down in Brooklyn as new immigrants but bringing some of the old world tradition, and most of all, the bond between her and her father, Leon. And for a reader to feel all this love, the love of their tradition, love of their home, and love between father and daughter, is a very moving experience. This is one of those rare books that I will treasure, and read and re-read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    I loved this book.  It reminded me of how difficult it is to be

    I loved this book.  It reminded me of how difficult it is to be an immigrant in America--and to think about what my own immigrant ancestors must have gone through to create the life that I now benefit from in America.  It was a slice of history -- the Jews from Cairo--that I knew nothing about.  It was also a beautiful tribute by a daughter to her somewhat difficult father; full of understanding and acceptance of what he was instead of anger over what he wasn't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Amazing

    Amazing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    very interesting, somewhat sad

    Didn't realize the extent of the persecution of the Jews in Egypt and what they went through. Very sad how difficult it was for families to leave and find a new home, and only to have difficulty in assimilating to their new surroundings. The younger generation had an easier time, but the elders didn't.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2010

    a beautifully written book

    how often does a non-fiction book read like poetry? not too often but this book does...you feel as if you're in the moment...smell the smells, hear the music, feel the mystery...although written in English, it reads as if it's written in a more beautiful, lyrical language

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A great read.

    Engrossing. Lagnado's depiction of old Cairo is mesmerizing and so evocative. Her depiction of her parents as immigrants in a strange land - Brooklyn -- is so authentic and absolutely familiar to any reader who has also emigrated to this country as a very young child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    Lucette Lagnado is brilliant!

    It is not very often that I find a book that once I begin reading, I cannot put it down! How refreshing. I am surprised that this book is not considered a memoir, because that is really what it is. I love how the author is able to portray her mother and father and many other relatives as the flawed characters that they are, as we all are, but in such a non-judgmental and loving way, which allows the readers to view them non-judgmentally as well. This book also enlightened me to Jewish life in Egypt before, during, and after WWII. You will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1