Customer Reviews for

Man of Fate

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 10, 2009

    Man of Fate by Rochelle Alers

    This is a well crafted story. It grabbed me from the very first page, what makes it so absorbing is the interactions of the characters. I am not speaking of just the main characters Kyle who is an intelligent, determined and handsome man, or Ava who is a feisty, stubborn, determined and good looking woman. The secondary characters are richly written. These are characters that draw you into the story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I love the stories of Kyle and Ivan... I have been waiting to re

    I love the stories of Kyle and Ivan... I have been waiting to read Duncan's story but it isn't available for my Nook..... I really wish I could add this one to my library.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    man of fate

    i loved this book the Characters where great it ava and kyle found love when they least expected it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    1 cup of faith, 1/3 cup of fate, and a good man equals the best man

    Rochelle Alers brings us a man who is the epitome of grace and beauty but he is also a very passionate man who finds himself falling in love. When he realizes he is in love he falls with grace, which makes him the replica of a great man.

    Kyle Chatman is a lawyer who knows what he wants and often goes to get what he wants with a confidence that allows him to come back successful. When he finds himself in a fender binder he finds himself intrigued by the cause of the fender bender Miss Ava Warrick who he comes to realize is a lady who is independent and very well spoken as well as educated and he finds himself wanting to know her more. Kyle never thought he would find the day when he found himself so intrigued with a woman that he would change the way he did things to please that women.

    Ava Warrick was always weary of men from experience with relationships she had encounter and after finally decided that she could be a mommy as well as an independent woman without marrying a man. Ava is a compassionate social worker who seems to be still finding herself when she encounters Kyle she finds him to be a pompous, arrogant attorney but as she gets to know him she finds him to be a very compassionate complex person.

    Ava & Kyle enjoy their selves with no true definition to who they really are until they both find their selves falling in love with one another while Kyle is willingly open about his feelings Ava holds back for various reasons and its cause a slight power struggle to their relationship. While everyone around them notices them falling in love it is Ava who struggles with it.

    Rochelle gives us the perfect story about a man who never thought marriage was in the cards for him until he meets the perfect women who fits him and his temperament. While it seems that Ava was slighted in her character, she still presented a slight lag but she also represented a scorn woman and therefore Rochelle's characters were characters we can always relate with. I cannot wait to read Duncan and Ivan's story as I suspect these two stories will be rather interesting especially Mr. DG who seems to be more intense one. Rochelle has once again given us men to read about when we feel that good men aren't out there she gives us the true meaning of a good man even when they have their own flaws.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    I love reading this book. Kyle and Ava have a story that many of

    I love reading this book. Kyle and Ava have a story that many of us can truly relate to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Rochelle Alers is an excellent author. I recommend any of her books. I love the way the she has all of the characters of the Best Man series, the Wainwright series, and the Brides series together. Write somemore Rochelle!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    Good Read

    Really refreshing. Enjoyed the love story that was breath-taking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Lose consciousness briefly brings love

    A morning accident brings two totally different people together. Kyle was so into making sure that Ava was alright in the mist of it all he caught feelings for her. The swelling of her face cause him to get weak along with losing conscious in his arm. With all the madness once Ava awakes, Kyle stayed a gentleman with her crying about her car, but the accident was her fault. All of the peace, love and happiness that came from Kyle was so unreal to Ava. She's so use to dealing with butt wipes that she almost missed her prince in action. Both have had their dysfunctional relationships but Kyle was willing to take Ava for a test drive.

    To me the characters was real but not so believable to the point were I had a favorite. It started off fast, got slow in the middle and at the end it got hot with cayenne pepper, spicy. I would have enjoyed some courtroom battle with Kyle clients. Especially with his new partner Jordan and his grandfather that was accused of beening a slum lord. There's a three series so I will be reading the next one really soon.

    Note: Received this off of paperbackswap.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Read

    This book was a really great book. I want to read the other two books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Easy and pleasant reading

    This was a great love story. I couldn't wait to read part 2 and part 3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Beginning to the Best Men Series

    "This is the first story in the Best Men Series and it's a GREAT start...I enjoyed Kyle and Ava's budding romance...I like the fact that they were open and honest from the beginning...there is NO game playing...a grown, SENSUAL and mutually consensual relationship...I also found myself CAUGHT UP in the beautifully descriptive and well written details in regards to the cultural scenery of NY...I love the camaraderie between Kyle and his circle of friends...I also thought it was nice to catch up with the Whitfields from her previous series...I ONLY hope the other two stories in this series are just as ENGAGING."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    a terrific contemporary romance

    Somewhat distracted as she is driving to an emergency meeting with a client, social worker Ava Warrick crashes into the vehicle driven by attorney Kyle Chatham. Instead of seeing her client, Ava ends up in the hospital with a concussion. Kyle takes responsibility to insure she gets the best care though he did not cause the accident. He believes fate led to a fender bender meeting, but Ava scoffs at his kismet theory.--------

    Ironically, neither wants a relationship, but both are attracted to one another. Soon the attorney and the social worker begin to fall in love. However, whereas his feelings accentuate his belief they are destiny's darlings, she has doubts; he must persuade his beloved that he is her MAN OF FATE.------------------

    The first Best Men tale is a terrific contemporary that starts with a bang as Kyle and Ava learn a basic physics 101 lesson that two objects sharing the same place is a fender bender. As their relationship changes, they learn advanced physics in which two hearts beat as one. Clearly character driven (even inside his Jag), Rochelle Alers provides her audience with a fabulous contemporary New York romance and the anticipation that Kyle's best friends and brownstone partners Duncan and Ivan will soon follow.--------

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2