Customer Reviews for

A Man of His Word (Hearts of Middlefield Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Amish love story

    Kathleen Fuller's new release, A Man of His Word, weaves together the stories of two siblings and their struggles to find the right life partner. The novel opens on Moriah Byler's wedding day. Her thrill at marrying Levi Miller soon turns to disappointment, followed by betrayal and loss. Pregnant with their first child, Moriah must deal with her husband's forsaking of their Amish way of life and her own feelings of inadequacy. Compounding her problems is Levi's twin, Gabe, who has secretly loved her since childhood. How can she deal with this constant reminder of Levi and his rejection? Can she trust him with her heart?

    Moriah's younger brother Tobias doesn't know his own heart. Rachel Detweiler infuriates him, but somehow attracts him too. They seem to antagonize each other and battle misunderstandings and dashed hopes. His bold confrontation with her fiancé changes their lives forever.

    The touching tale draws the reader into the lives of these realistic characters. Kathleen truly made me care about them. The story is not a fast-paced thriller, but a gentler drama that includes its share of conflict, making you wonder how things will ever be resolved. I enjoyed the narrative.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    1st in Middlefield series will please fans of Amish lit

    A Man of His Word by Kathleen Fuller is the first book in the Middlefield Series. Moriah Miller has spent much of her life waiting to marry her beau, Levi Miller. But soon after their wedding, the life she imagined for the two of them unravels. He abandons her and their unborn child, leaving her in a state of limbo within their Amish community that doesn't allow divorce. Gabriel, Levi's twin, has long been in love with Moriah but hid his feelings, but now he may be the only one to make things right. Fuller captures the day to day life of an Amish woman, along with her faith and love for family. Readers will see some plot twists coming easily, but the story is compelling and moving as Gabriel tries to do right by Levi and Moriah, as well as Moriah's ache over the loss of a dream and the fear of starting anew. Several other couples are introduced throughout the book who will certainly be featured in future volumes in the series. Gabriel and Moriah's romance is fraught with emotion and pain; I look forward to the story involving Moriah's brother and his new wife which promises to be more light-hearted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    A Sweet Love Story

    Kathleen Fuller managed to enter the realm of Amish fiction with a totally new and different sort of love story. Filled with faith, hope, trials, and redemption, readers will not be reading just another Amish novel. Moriah Miller and Gabriel Miller are two characters that will remain in your mind and heart for days after you read the last page. I thoroughly enjoyed their world, their love story, their faith. When dreams end and life gets difficult, remaining faithful and not becoming bitter at life and God can be a challenge for everyone. Kathleen wrote a story about two families, and a community dealing with such difficulties. Readers will be drawn in and long to climb into a buggy and ride into the heart of Middlefield, Ohio.

    I have read Kathleen's regency romances and loved them. I also loved this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pleasantly surprised

    I was pleasantly surprised with the book A Man of His Word, by Kathleen Fuller. This book is about an Amish woman named Moriah who is marrying her childhood crush Levi. Levi has an identical twin named Gabriel. Gabriel has always been secretly in love with Moriah but refused to stand in the way of his brother's and Moriah's love for one another. When Levi abandons Moriah, Gabriel feels the burden left by his brother and tries to step in to care for Moriah. Gabriel stops at nothing to prove to Moriah his devotion and love for her. Moriah is terrified to give her heart again after feeling so betrayed by her husband.

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I am a total sucker for love stories so this was right up my alley. When I began reading this book, I thought the first chapter or two were slow reading and I didn't get drawn into the plot right away. Once I read through more of the book, I was hooked. I stayed up all night to finish the story. I really enjoyed the love story between Moraih and Gabriel. I could feel the love and angst that Gabriel felt for Moriah. The feelings the author envokes in the reader is very powerful. Kathleen fuller is a very talented storyteller.

    I actually found the story between Tobias and Rachel to be my favorite part of the book. Tobias is Moriah's sister and Rachel is a member of their Amish community. I loved their teasing nature with one another and the obvious unspoken passion. I almost wish the entire book had been devoted to their story.

    While I am not a very religious person, I found the religious aspect to the story very heartwarming and I felt it really added to the love between the characters. The devotion and faith they had in god and his ability to see them through their challenges really helped to make me get to know the characters and feel their emotions with them.

    I would defiantly recommend A Man of His Word to readers who enjoy a good romance. It is a story about love, family, faith, and never giving up hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A very human portrayal

    Moriah married the man of her dreams.

    Levi Miller, unfortunately, had other dreams. Dreams that didn't include Moriah. Or the Amish life he had grown up in.

    Members of a closeknit Amish community, Moriah was looking forward to her life with Levi. Her wedding is picture perfect and soon after she finds, to her delight, that her dreams are fulfilled when she discovers she is pregnant.

    But Levi leaves Moriah and the Amish before she can tell him of the good news.

    Gabe Miller, Levi's twin, has loved Moriah since they were children. His heart breaks as he sees Moriah pregnant and abandonded.

    But what can he do? The Amish Ordnung does not permit divorce. Even if Levi never returns, Moriah can never be his. Must he be content to love her from afar?

    Hurt and betrayed, Moriah struggles to trust a God who also seems to have abandoned her.

    For some reason, I'm drawn to books with Amish settings. Maybe I'm drawn to the portrayal of a simpler life. The Amish seem to live such quiet, orderly lives.

    I love Kathleen Fuller's characters. She presents a very human side of the Amish showing deep emotional struggles. She also places real life scenarios into the story. Unrequited love, betrayal, hurt and bitterness are not glossed over in A Man of His Word. The parallel story line of Tobias and Rachel provided a bit of lightness to all the heavier drama the main character, Moriah, was facing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2009

    A Wonderful Read

    Moriah has been married to her childhood sweetheart, Levi, for four months. She is carrying his baby. Everything should be wonderful in her life - but it's not. Levi is gone for long hours and distant when he is home. The news about the baby should make everything right. But on the night she's going to tell him, he leaves a note informing Moriah that he's walking away from the Amish faith. And from her. The close-knit Ohio community rallies around her, including Levi's twin brother Gabe. Even knowing there can never be a future for the two of them, he vows to take care of Moriah and her child. Maybe God has different plans in mind.

    I thought this was a wonderful read and enjoyed it very much. Most Amish fiction is set in Pennsylvania, so it was nice to see one set in another area and to note the differences between the two. The struggles the characters encounter are common to every human. The characters are real and easy to cheer for. Yes, there is the unresolved problem with the young man who had been addicted to drugs, but that makes me want to read the sequel and see what is going to happen. Super job, Kathleen. Keep it up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable Encouraging Read

    I had never read anything by this author, but I have read quite a few books by Beverly Lewis (who also writes about the Amish quite freqently). I was expecting it to be similar. I actually enjoyed this book more than those books I have read by Lewis. The book is about a young Amish woman who gets married and then unexpectedly her husband leaves her out of the blue; for another woman; while she is pregnant. Needless to say, it shakes her to her very core and she questions everything she has ever believed in. After so much tragedy, she has the opportunity to be with a man who truly loves her (which also happens to be the twin brother of her estranged husband). She has to decide if she is going to let bitterness and fear keep her from what could very well be true love. It was such an encouraging story. I'm sure all of us can relate to being betrayed or hurt by someone we love, and the temptation to wall off our hearts and try to protect ourselves. I really enjoyed it. I would definitely read more from this author. It had a lot of depth and emotion as well as an excellent message.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    Delightful Amish Romance

    Are you a fan of Amish stories? If so, don't miss A Man of His Word. Are you someone who's never read an Amish story but wondered why they were so popular? Then don't miss A Man of His Word. With its captivating details of an Old Amish community, you'll soon see why this is such a popular genre. Are romances your cup of tea? Then don't miss A Man of His Word. Kathleen Fuller gives you not one but two love stories in this delightful tale. Don't miss it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great story of faith, endurance and love

    Moriah Byler just married the man she loves and is expecting their first child. But things don't seem right between them. Her husband, Levi, has taken a job working for outlanders (non-Amish) and seems to spend more and more time away from home. Her world comes crashing down around her when Levi decides that he wants to leave her and the Amish faith.
    Moriah's story of heartbreak and love is not the only one weaving its way through the pages of A Man of His Word. Her brother, Tobias, has a budding romance of his own that is fraught with challenges.

    A Man of His Word is well written and enjoyable to read. It is a light read with well developed plot and characters. I found myself easily sympathizing with the characters and hoping for a happy ending for all. The addition of a sub-plot and insights into Amish life added depth to the book.

    I definitely plan to seek out more books by Kathleen Fuller in the future.

    I received a copy of A Man of His Word from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review blogger program (http://brb.thomasnelson.com/). I received no further compensation for my review. The opinion expressed above is purely my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Man of His Word

    A Man of His Word
    A Hearts of Middlefield Novel
    Kathleen Fuller
    2009
    Thomas Nelson
    Fiction/Christian/Amish

    Reviewed by Cindy Loven

    Kathleen Fuller has brought a beautiful story of love, set in Amish country in Middlefield Ohio. Centered around the Byler Family, specifically Moriah Byler, this book brings us a story of love, heartbreak and triumph over difficult circumstances.

    Moriah Byler is getting married as the book opens, and we share in her wedding day, along with her excitement and love for her new husband Levi. However soon it seems things are not going "happy ever after" for Moriah and Levi. She had a wonderful planned meal for their four month anniversary, prepared it and waited for Levi to come home, only to be awakened by her brother in law Gabe, with a note from Levi. He was leaving the Amish faith. He was leaving her, and the baby, even though she hadn't had a chance to tell him about the baby yet. Moriah's world came crashing down, with a single heartbreaking note.

    Rejoining her family, Moriah tries hard to not become bitter. She knows that she must pray for Levi.
    A horrible accident brings Levi back to her, only to snatch him away in death. A young widow now, with a baby on the way. It is more than Moriah can stand, she shuts out her friends, family and God. Follow along to see if Moriah, can come to terms with her new life? Will she block God out forever? Will Gabe be a part of her life?

    This wonderfully written story will keep your attention, you will not want to put it down. Included at the end of the book is a reading group guide. 288 pages $14.99 US

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1