BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Man of His Word (Hearts of Middlefield Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Very sweet

    I really enjoyed this story! My late great-grandmother had this book on her kindle, and l really enjoyed this read, and knowing her, she loved this one too :) †

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Book Review: A Man Of His Word

    Kathleen Fuller has a new book, "A Man Of His Word" published by Thomas Nelson and it is a gentle love story set against the backdrop of the Amish society of Middlefield, Ohio.

    In simple terms it is the story of a Moriah who marries Levi and thinks that her life is complete when she finds that she is going to bring their first baby to the marriage. Her husband, Levi, is unhappy with being chained down so he not only leaves her he leaves the whole Amish order. His twin brother, Gabriel, is outraged and goes to have a showdown with him only to find that Levi is having an extramarital affair and won't be coming back. Gabriel is heartbroken, not only for the loss of his brother but because he is secretly in love with Moriah and has been since 6th grade.

    Simultaneously, there is the additional love story of Moriah's brother Tobias and Rachel as they find they love each other and work to discover how to tell each other that.

    This book is all about family relationships, brothers with brothers and sisters with brothers as well as being in love and telling the person you are in love with that information and what happens when you don't. While it is a gentle book there is tragedy in the story and how the individual bears up under it and how friends and family and faith in God help to ease the pain.

    All the characters are likable and Ms. Fuller has a way of bringing you into the story and making the little town very real. I didn't think I would enjoy it but Ms. Fuller proved me wrong, "A Man Of His Word" is a wonderful book to pass the time with and help to increase one's faith in God.

    I give "A Man Of His Word" five stars and look forward to the next book by Kathleen Fuller

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fuller writes a winner.

    Set in Middlefield, an Amish community in Ohio, this book is the story of love and betrayal and the hope of a new love. Moriah and Gabe and his twin brother, Levi, have enjoyed a close friendship since their youth but Gabe hesitates to tell her of his love and his brother wins her hand. After they marry, Gabe distances himself from her life and tries to dampen his feelings for her; after all she is married to his brother. The evening Moriah plans to tell her husband she is pregnant with his child, he doesn't come home, sending a note that he chooses to denounce his Amish faith and family and he won't be coming back to her. Moriah struggles with a negative self image and thoughts that God has also abandoned her or this wouldn't be happening. Moriah's family and community rally around her, offering support. Gabe offers her his support, but she refuses him. Fuller's characters are well developed and the setting is vivid. Readers will have no problem imaging they are in the Amish community because Fuller submerges readers into Amish country with their uncomplicated lifestyle and strong faith. A Man of His Word kept my interest the entire book. I'll look forward to the sequel. A good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Old-fashioned romance still works!

    Set in Middlefield, OH, "A Man of His Word" transports the reader to Amish life. There is also a smattering of Amish words with definitions to really get a taste of the life. Life here is simple and the people are hard-working. There is some interaction with the outside world, but the beliefs of the people in this community are strong. Here is a world where your word is your bond, where leaving the church and your family means banishment (but forgiveness is also available), and where love blossoms in the purest of forms. Families are strong and the examples set for love and marriage palpable.

    I was totally drawn into the story from the beginning. Throughout the book there was tension and love between characters creating some funny and poignant moments. Come meet Levi, Gabriel, Tobias, Christian, Aaron, Rachel, and Moriah. These teenagers grew up together, yet, do they really know each other? Their parents watch and pray that their children make the right matches and that their faith remains strong. Aaron slips, but returns to find forgiveness from his family and his commmunity. But, will he forgive himself? I appreciated that all of the characters did turn to God in prayer and in His Word even when things seemed darkest. While there were tough moments, they found Him to be a steady rock. I recommend this book highly to all readers. It will make you laugh and cry, but most importantly, will show that God is ready, willing, and able to help us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Man of His Word by Kathleen Fuller

    I would recommend this book to anyone in a heartbeat! Moriah Byler married the man of her dreams; little did she know that he would leave her a month latter! But the man's twin brother, Gabriel loves her a lot! I think the book is wonderful and amazing! I don't want to give anything away about the book, but you can pretty much tell what is going to happen by reading the back of the book, but the way they get together is interesting! The book moved fast, but that's no reason to decide not to read it!

    The book is a heart touching read about life in the Amish world. It was really cute and wonderful! Amish fiction is a popular genre right now, and it's because of people like Kathleen Fuller and her book 'A man of his word'. This is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    Could Not Put It Down!

    I have to admit, I'm not the biggest fan of Amish fiction. But A Man of His Word sucked me right in with the story, the characters, and the fascinating peek into Amish life. I loved the palpable tension between Moriah and Gabriel. Kathleen Fuller did a great job with character development--you'll enjoy the supporting cast just as much as the leading duo. This book has a light faith message that does not ever intrude on the story, and yet it still reaches out and beautifully wraps around your heart as you read. For those who love Amish fiction, this book is a must. And for those like me, who are hesitant of the genre--you haven't read Amish lit until you've read Kathleen Fuller. You'll be turning the pages well past midnight like I was. Can't wait to read the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Man of His Word

    You will not want this book, A Man of His Word by Kathleen Fuller, to end. From the moment you find out she is going to be Mrs. Levi Miller, you are hooked. This story is about an Amish girl who is going to marry her dream guy. Of course, like real life, something goes wrong. Following her story throughout the book instills faith and love. By following how she deals with a husband who has abandoned her, left the Amish faith, and turned his back on their baby, you realize God has so much more in store for her. Seeing how she comes to terms with what life has dealt her will give you encouragement in the trials you face.
    This romantic story challenges your faith, and helps you see God will be there for you. The plot is very well developed, as are the characters. You find yourself rooting for Gabriel and for Moriah to figure out who she really loves. You feel the struggles of Gabriel's father. It is very interesting learning more about the Amish faith. There is even a listing of what the words mean in the front of the book. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes romances and especially books about the Amish faith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Man of His Word by Kathleen Fuller...A GREAT BOOK!!!!!

    Having read a lot of Amish fiction in the past few years I've become a little bored as it seems that they're all becoming a bit repetitive and...well...boring. I was a bit surprised when I read the cover blurb for A Man of His Word that it was going to be different from the traditional "happy, Amish marriage story." I was not disappointed. I finished this book in one sitting I just could not put it down! Ms. Fuller did such a good job with this one. The conflict in the story is one that I've never seen read in any Amish story...I don't want to give too much away but what Moriah had to deal with made me think of what a lot of "modern" women and men go through. I'm not so sure if it ever happens within the Amish community as I don't know much about their culture but it was believable. I was happy to see that the characters were "real", they felt anger, they showed restraint as well as abandon and were tempted just as we all are at times. The love story is terrific, with a romance between two of the secondary characters that was so good I wish it had it's own book! I definitely recommend A Man of His Word to all readers of Amish fiction and Christian romances and can't wait until Book 2 in the Hearts of Middlefield series, An Honest Love.

    I reviewed this book for Thomas Nelson's Book Review Bloggers program.
    http://brb.thomasnelson.com/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Charming Amish Novel

    You know that feeling you get when you know two characters would get together or when characters could solve a problem if only they were honest with each other, if only one person knew what the other knew? Well, that's how I felt as I read Kathleen Fuller's Christian romance A Man of His Word. I suppose that's the deal with most romances. You could just "kill" the characters for not doing or understanding what seems so obvious to you. You scream and shout out of frustration, but you put up with it because you know everything will comes together in the end; and you actually get enjoyment from the suspense. Who knew frustration could be a good thing?

    And that frustration gets even better with detailed descriptions, lovable characters, and clever plots. Fuller successfully weaves two beautifully written story lines together, switching between plots to add to the suspense. As characters grow through their hard circumstances, readers become attached to them and the lovely world of the Amish, one not too different from the readers' own world. I've often wondered why Amish novels are so "hot" on the market right now, but if all Amish novels are this lovely (and I've read a few that aren't), it's no wonder they're popular. I can only complain about the ugly cover of A Man of His Word. It cannot reflect the beautiful, addicting, and wonderfully written contents that await every reader that picks up A Man of His Word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Read!

    Kathleen Fuller's first book in the Hearts of Middlefield series is a page turner with real characters who accurately portray Amish life in Middlefield, Ohio. A beautiful story about love, loss, and one woman's ability to unguard her heart and love again.

    I highly recommend this book and look forward to book #2 in the series, An Honest Love.

    Beth Wiseman,
    Best-selling author of Plain Perfect and Plain Pursuit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1