Customer Reviews for

Man of My Dreams

Average Rating 3.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 11, 2010

    The ending left me dangling.

    I picked up this book at the library because I loved American Wife. I have not yet read Prep but intend to. I thought the writing of The Man
    was excellent and engaging. Her characters were well-drawn but exasperating, especially Fig and the later Hannah. Will she never learn?! But the ending, which some readers liked, left me cold. It didn't fit with the rest of the book in either style or content. We are to assume she has finally found maturity, but all I could see is that she has found a job beneath her ability in an uninteresting part of the country and is at a true dead end. I agree with one reviewer who said that the book felt like a series of short stories rather than a novel. I thought it was just OK, entertaining in parts but not as profound with insight as I at first expected, when she analyzed her childhood with a chronically angry parent and its impact on her adult life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great characters, but no excitement.

    Curtis Sittenfeld develops the greatest characters. I love to read about their lives and what they make of what is happening in their world. The characters keep me interested, but her novels do however, lack excitement. I think she tries to keep it real, and for this reason sacrifices the unexpected. I appreciate that she isn't quick to throw in the happy ending, but it would be nice to have a little more of a story to talk about. I'm not bashing her, I love her writing, but I think this is what is standing in the way of her novels being truly exceptional.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2006

    Startlingly dull and tedious, unlike 'Prep'

    Curtis Sittenfeld's first novel 'Prep' was an unexpected bestseller. It received much deserved rave reviews. It was richly textured, with a gripping narrative. Her second novel, 'The Man of My Dreams', alas, is rather bland ¿ it is neither richly textured, nor does it have a gripping narrative. It is also dull and tedious. In fact, it doesn't even read like a novel. I felt as if I were reading a collection of short stories loosely strung together, like mismatched beads, into a novel. Lee Fiora of 'Prep' was a complex, multi-dimensional girl who, in spite of possessing a mean streak and appearing rather conniving and heartless at times, was quite fascinating. In contrast, Hanna Gavener, the heroine of this novel, seems rather clueless when the novel starts, and remains clueless when the novel ends. When the novel begins, Hanna is fourteen years old. When 'Prep' began, Lee Fiora was also fourteen years old. Could it be just a coincidence? I wondered. I had trouble reading the novel to the end. Unlike 'Prep', which I read without skipping a page, I skipped pages of this novel several times because of the tedium. It lacked depth and felt hollow. Also, the dialogue was quite uninteresting, and even dreary, often. So I was quite astonished it wasn't quite what I expected. I knew that Curtis Sittenfeld has the prowess to write well, and so I expected to experience the joy of reading as I did when I read 'Prep'. I hope in her next novel she will find the narrative power that she abundantly displayed in 'Prep'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Kaya williams

    "Welcome!"she said smiling brightly

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Nice summer read

    I really like Curtis Sittenfield. This one was a bit uneven--it felt unfinished and the characters a little incomplete. I enjoyed Fig's character more than the protagonist's, but that could be because she was so bold. I found myself getting angry at Hannah for being a tad on the whiny and entitled side, and some of her experiences felt false and somewhat reaching. However, this is still worth reading, especially if you like Sittenfield. Prep is still a stronger book, although I haven't gotten to American Wife yet. Overall, I would recommend this as a "beach read," albeit perhaps a more literary read than the quintessential chick lit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Good, but a Slow Read

    I was expecting an amazing or just an overall good read after reading Prep, which I loved by her, but this book seemed to drag on. It had a lot of great parts, but it wasn't a page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Very Accurate!

    The Man of My Dreams is a very entertaining portrayal on the trials and tribulations of love in a young woman's life. Very few women find true love immediately, if any, and therefore I could really relate to the struggles that Hannah encounters while looking for love. Even her relationships with her family and friends are complex; never a hint of simplicity in her relationships. I think that many young women can relate to this difficulty in relationships as well as a feeling of being overcome by the poor relationships in our lives. This is a very interesting look at how the decisions we make affect our lives and I would definitely recommend it, especially to teens or young adults. It's a great look at our experiences through someone else's life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    MeganH09 The Man of my Dreams

    The Ex-Boyfriend of Her Dreams <BR/><BR/> Curtis Sittenfeld is a very talented author that portrays a young girl struggling to find herself amongst all the negativity in her life. The story opens with Hannah on her way to her aunt¿s house, because her parents have split. Hannah is reminiscing about what life used to be like before her parents split up. The way the beginning is written adds turmoil to Hannah¿s already complicated life. The author does not always talk about the topic at hand. He dances around the subject by talking about other people¿s lives instead. Hannah also uses a lot of alliterations when she talks. Her speech is very smooth and controlled, as if she thinks too much about what she is saying. She is so careful with her words even at the age of nine, that you begin to wonder just what she has gone through as a child.<BR/> We are then rushed forward to Hannah¿s college years. Not much has changed and she seems to be the same person she was when she was nine. Hannah is still very timid, very shy, and very controlled. She does nothing out of the ordinary, or anything that will draw attention to her. It seems she is afraid of the outside world. The tone is very critical in this section. Not only does Hannah feel people are judging her, she is also very quick to judge. Hannah does not make many friends, and the friends she does have take her for granted every chance they get. <BR/> The story jumps ahead once more and we are in Alaska with Hannah and her sister Allison. The way Allison talks makes you want to believe every word she is saying, she has a lot of credibility. At the same time you feel bad for Hannah because you know she feels inferior to Allison in everyway. Hannah does nothing to hide this envy and also calls Allison out on her ¿perfect behavior.¿ <BR/>Every part of the story is a big leap forward with minor details in between. Most of the major facts or details are at the beginning of the chunk. Each chunk is a new Hannah, some part of Hannah has improved or changed in some way. The last major chunk of the story Hannah chooses to follow a man to Chicago because she believes they are soul mates. At this time Hannah is also seeing a physiatrist, and must say goodbye to a woman she believes is one of her best friends. This chunk is very cynical, you as the reader are cynical, as well as Hannah¿s physiatrist. You want to know why Hannah feels they are soul mates, because the mold of a happy couple is not present. <BR/> Every chunk of Hannah is something new and creative. As the story goes on and you identify the way the story is broken down you realize the way the author intended it to be read. You as the reader can identify with Hannah even if it is a very small aspect of your life. You also want Hannah to get better, to feel better about herself, and to find the man of her dreams.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2008

    An amazing book

    I've read the book 'Prep' about five times. So when I was walking around the store, and saw this book, I instantly bought it. The book is sincere and enlightening. It tells an amazingly honest tale of a girl. Everything about it made me fall in love with the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2007

    Improved from Prep

    I am also a lover of the book 'Prep', and I think 'Man of My Dreams' was an improvement from her first book. One might notice in 'Prep' there's a lot of excess information that may not keep you fully into the story however, with this book, there's no side information-- everything is directly to the point. I'd recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2007

    Not as good as Prep

    I was looking forward to reading this book because I really enjoyed Prep. I was very disappointed in the main character's choices and I thought it was rather depressing to read. Prep was refreshing and fun, this was boring and sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2007

    Nothing Special

    I read Prep first and loved it. I expected this to be just as good. The main character was nothing special and I had a hard time liking her and understanding why her story was out of the ordinary. It was really slow and even though I have finished, I am still waiting for something to happen in the plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2007

    A wonderful second book

    I enjoyed this book even more than Prep. I could relate to Hannah's twenty-something insecurities and her difficult relationships with her sister, father and cousin. It brought back memories of my own turbulent twenties. It's a well-written book with a realistic,satisfying ending - not a happily-ever-after one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2007

    great book

    I was a little worried about reading this book based on some of the reviews listed here, and I loved 'Prep' so much I didn't want to be disappointed, but I loved this book too! I can't wait to see what she writes next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2006

    I LOVED this book.

    I loved Prep, but this book was far better. I recommend it to any girl in her twenties.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2006

    Title doesn't fit the book

    This book is ok. The story is however told in third person so you can easily get confussed. Overall its a good story but not told very well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2006

    Not to bad

    This book started slow, but it picked up speed after page 100. I didn't think that it was nearly as good as Prep, but I did enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2006

    Average

    I had just finished reading 'Prep' when I stumbled upon Sittenfeld's newest novel at the bookstore. I enjoyed, but didn't love her first, and as another person commented, I expected this novel to be better. It wasn't. It is far better composed, but as I felt with her first novel, the language and dialogue can seem contrived, the characters dull, the plot stagnant. What you get out of this novel is what you put into it. If you think about the classic coming-of-age story and how it pertains to you, the characters and essentially the novel itself will have meaning. Read superficially, the book is superficial. I most enjoyed thinking of how I would react in the given situation, and despite some rather tedious portions of the novel, on the whole it was thought-provoking. The ending was average, a bit unoriginal, although it definitely could have been worse. Overall, the novel is 'okay' at best. I would recommend it mostly if you don't have other pressing works on your list and if the synopsis & these reviews sound appealing to you but I warn all readers of works of 'literary merit,' that you will likely be disappointed. This isn't a ground-breaking novel, it isn't original in plot or in form, but it will entertain you enough that you'll read it till the end and probably finish it without hating the protagonist or the writer or yourself for reading it. I say you skip it though, there are better works available in this genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2006

    Different, But Good

    I liked this book for one reason: the ending. Sittenfeld was able to get across to me that Hannah really had reached a point of contentment without a man in her life while acknowledging that one could be in her future. Admittedly, it took her a while to get there and the book became tedious at times because of this. But the character of Hannah was, above all, practical and tenacious about who she was --no mind games for her (like so many others in her life!). In her odd way, she was rather endearing and I was happy for her eventual contentment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2006

    promising title pointless book

    I have to admit that after reading prep and being entertained but not blown away i thought maybe the second book would be better. However the lead character is not very likable, pretty disgruntled and generally uninteresting person, by the time the book closes it tries to play it off like she's reach some kind of realization about love and life and what it means to be happy but it just doesn't work. There are defitently funny and relatable moments like prep but this one falls short of any real raw emotions and honesty. if you really are interested i would go to the library or wait for paperback, not worth the 20 bucks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3