Customer Reviews for

The Man of My Dreams

Average Rating 3.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 11, 2010

    The ending left me dangling.

    I picked up this book at the library because I loved American Wife. I have not yet read Prep but intend to. I thought the writing of The Man
    was excellent and engaging. Her characters were well-drawn but exasperating, especially Fig and the later Hannah. Will she never learn?! But the ending, which some readers liked, left me cold. It didn't fit with the rest of the book in either style or content. We are to assume she has finally found maturity, but all I could see is that she has found a job beneath her ability in an uninteresting part of the country and is at a true dead end. I agree with one reviewer who said that the book felt like a series of short stories rather than a novel. I thought it was just OK, entertaining in parts but not as profound with insight as I at first expected, when she analyzed her childhood with a chronically angry parent and its impact on her adult life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great characters, but no excitement.

    Curtis Sittenfeld develops the greatest characters. I love to read about their lives and what they make of what is happening in their world. The characters keep me interested, but her novels do however, lack excitement. I think she tries to keep it real, and for this reason sacrifices the unexpected. I appreciate that she isn't quick to throw in the happy ending, but it would be nice to have a little more of a story to talk about. I'm not bashing her, I love her writing, but I think this is what is standing in the way of her novels being truly exceptional.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2006

    Startlingly dull and tedious, unlike 'Prep'

    Curtis Sittenfeld's first novel 'Prep' was an unexpected bestseller. It received much deserved rave reviews. It was richly textured, with a gripping narrative. Her second novel, 'The Man of My Dreams', alas, is rather bland ¿ it is neither richly textured, nor does it have a gripping narrative. It is also dull and tedious. In fact, it doesn't even read like a novel. I felt as if I were reading a collection of short stories loosely strung together, like mismatched beads, into a novel. Lee Fiora of 'Prep' was a complex, multi-dimensional girl who, in spite of possessing a mean streak and appearing rather conniving and heartless at times, was quite fascinating. In contrast, Hanna Gavener, the heroine of this novel, seems rather clueless when the novel starts, and remains clueless when the novel ends. When the novel begins, Hanna is fourteen years old. When 'Prep' began, Lee Fiora was also fourteen years old. Could it be just a coincidence? I wondered. I had trouble reading the novel to the end. Unlike 'Prep', which I read without skipping a page, I skipped pages of this novel several times because of the tedium. It lacked depth and felt hollow. Also, the dialogue was quite uninteresting, and even dreary, often. So I was quite astonished it wasn't quite what I expected. I knew that Curtis Sittenfeld has the prowess to write well, and so I expected to experience the joy of reading as I did when I read 'Prep'. I hope in her next novel she will find the narrative power that she abundantly displayed in 'Prep'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Good, but a Slow Read

    I was expecting an amazing or just an overall good read after reading Prep, which I loved by her, but this book seemed to drag on. It had a lot of great parts, but it wasn't a page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2006

    Not to bad

    This book started slow, but it picked up speed after page 100. I didn't think that it was nearly as good as Prep, but I did enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2006

    Average

    I had just finished reading 'Prep' when I stumbled upon Sittenfeld's newest novel at the bookstore. I enjoyed, but didn't love her first, and as another person commented, I expected this novel to be better. It wasn't. It is far better composed, but as I felt with her first novel, the language and dialogue can seem contrived, the characters dull, the plot stagnant. What you get out of this novel is what you put into it. If you think about the classic coming-of-age story and how it pertains to you, the characters and essentially the novel itself will have meaning. Read superficially, the book is superficial. I most enjoyed thinking of how I would react in the given situation, and despite some rather tedious portions of the novel, on the whole it was thought-provoking. The ending was average, a bit unoriginal, although it definitely could have been worse. Overall, the novel is 'okay' at best. I would recommend it mostly if you don't have other pressing works on your list and if the synopsis & these reviews sound appealing to you but I warn all readers of works of 'literary merit,' that you will likely be disappointed. This isn't a ground-breaking novel, it isn't original in plot or in form, but it will entertain you enough that you'll read it till the end and probably finish it without hating the protagonist or the writer or yourself for reading it. I say you skip it though, there are better works available in this genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2006

    promising title pointless book

    I have to admit that after reading prep and being entertained but not blown away i thought maybe the second book would be better. However the lead character is not very likable, pretty disgruntled and generally uninteresting person, by the time the book closes it tries to play it off like she's reach some kind of realization about love and life and what it means to be happy but it just doesn't work. There are defitently funny and relatable moments like prep but this one falls short of any real raw emotions and honesty. if you really are interested i would go to the library or wait for paperback, not worth the 20 bucks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2006

    not great

    i was disappointed with this book. i did not like the way it was written. a lot of the time it was confusing during the narrations because u didnt know if it was the character talking or the author. not well done. i did however get through the book in a few days, but it lacked a good, solid plot and i did not grow to love (or even hate) any of the characters. an okay beach read, but otherwise not very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2006

    Bad Title - Good Story

    I really enjoyed the story, but I would have to agree with other reviewers who have said that it's confusing to follow due to the third person narration. I didn't like that persepective from the beginning. I also thought the title didn't do the book justice. Sittenfeld's book is about so much more than men, but the title is going to deter some people from reading it. This wasn't as good as Prep, but still worth the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1