Customer Reviews for

The Man of My Dreams

Average Rating 3.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Kaya williams

    "Welcome!"she said smiling brightly

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Very Accurate!

    The Man of My Dreams is a very entertaining portrayal on the trials and tribulations of love in a young woman's life. Very few women find true love immediately, if any, and therefore I could really relate to the struggles that Hannah encounters while looking for love. Even her relationships with her family and friends are complex; never a hint of simplicity in her relationships. I think that many young women can relate to this difficulty in relationships as well as a feeling of being overcome by the poor relationships in our lives. This is a very interesting look at how the decisions we make affect our lives and I would definitely recommend it, especially to teens or young adults. It's a great look at our experiences through someone else's life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2008

    An amazing book

    I've read the book 'Prep' about five times. So when I was walking around the store, and saw this book, I instantly bought it. The book is sincere and enlightening. It tells an amazingly honest tale of a girl. Everything about it made me fall in love with the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2007

    great book

    I was a little worried about reading this book based on some of the reviews listed here, and I loved 'Prep' so much I didn't want to be disappointed, but I loved this book too! I can't wait to see what she writes next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2006

    I LOVED this book.

    I loved Prep, but this book was far better. I recommend it to any girl in her twenties.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2006

    Memorable Characters

    After reading Prep and loving it, I ran out to buy this book as soon as it hit the shelves and proceded to read it in four days (would have been sooner if I hadn't had other things to do!). As with Prep, I closed this book wanting more...but that is not to say that either book seemed unfinished or was unfulfilling. A book that I think about for days afterward, imagining how these characters, Hannah, Henry, all of them, would continue to unfold beyond the last page, is a rarity and a gift. As it's been said before, Curtis Sittenfeld has tremendous insight into the coming-of-age soul and all of our quirky feelings of inadaquacy that we fear telling about, even to those closest to us. Being probably close to ten years older than she is, the thing that popped into my head again and again as I read is, how can she be so young and yet so wise?! She has a true talent, that ability that great writers have of taking those circumstances of life that may seem mundane or difficult or embarrassing...in short, worth forgetting, and making them beautiful, hilarious, classic...which is how they should be viewed as these are the moments that shape who we are, just as they do Sittenfeld's characters. I'll be waiting and watching for the next Sittenfeld novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2006

    This book is amazing.

    In her new book, Sittenfeld tells the story of Hannah, an 'everywoman' not unsimilar to Lee of Prep. The story is told as a punctuated narrative, highlighting major episodes from Hannah's life in which she was forced to relate to men in romantic settings. Hannah is not lucky in love -- in fact, you'd describe her as the opposite more often than not. An undercurrent through the book is also Hannah's relationships to friends and family, especially her turbulent relationship with her father. Similarly to Prep, audiences are not going to love Hannah, but Sittenfeld's spot-on analysis of situations and emotions gives something for everyone to relate to. (And I mean everyone! After I read the book, I passed it to my boyfriend who is also enjoying it.) Sittenfeld's book is a refreshing antidote to the trite and poorly written chick-lit that currently fills the shelf. Actually, even using the term 'chick-lit' in this review makes my skin crawl -- this book is so far from predictable, so completely satisfying, and so well-written that there is NO comparison to the Sophie Kinsellas or other run-of-the-mill writers turning out quick and cheap reads (not that there's anything wrong with a good guilty pleasure, but Sittenfeld's book is good, fun to read, and doesn't make its female readers feel like you need to wear a size 4, be fabulously well-dressed, and engaged to a perfect man to fulfill your feminine desitny). This book isn't a tough read -- I finished it in about a day -- but it is poignant and memorable. Sittenfeld has perceptive eye for understanding what moves her characters -- and people in general -- that truly marks her as an amazing author. I cannot recommend this book highly enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1