Customer Reviews for

Man to Call My Own

Average Rating 4
( 92 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

There are many twists which make it very interesting. The characters are complex and well developed. Highly recommended.

posted by Anonymous on January 7, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Just Kinda of boring...

The extent Marian goes to to ease Amanda's jealousy is a little outrageous. I thought the story was a little boring and really just all over the place. I typically love Lindsey's work but this book left much to be desired.

posted by Baries on April 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 12 of 13 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2004

    DISAPPOINTING

    This is the first book I have read from this author. I agree with the first reviewer, the story was about making you hate the 'evil' twin sister in the beginning, then you end up hating the 'good' twin in the end. I liked Chad 'the main man' in the story at first, but different parts of the story were HORRIBLE, and he just seemed like an idiot in the end.. I just seemed like a slow agonizing death trying to reach the end of this story. If you want a believable plot get another book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2004

    disappointing

    I have read many of her books, and this book was very disappointing. It lacked a good plot and characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2003

    Joanna Lindsay(JL) at her WORST

    I am a big fan of JL romances, but this is the worst romance I have ever read. JL spends the first few chapters convincing the reader that the 'evil' twin deserves to be despised even though the 'good' twin is the one being horrible to the hero for a really stupid reason. By the middle of the book I couldn't stand either twin and the pathetic, easily manipulated hero was beginning to get on my nerves too. I tried to finish the novel, but by the time they were all heading back east, and the evil twin had roped herself a funny, patient husband and was undergoing a magical transformation into a nice girl while the good twin was becoming meaner and more hateful by the minute, I really didn't care how it all turned out. I just wanted out of the story. I usually finish every book I buy, but this one was just too HORRIBLE. Two hours of my time was more than enough wasted on this trash. Don't waste your time or your money, re-read an old JL book or buy an old one you haven't read yet. You'll be more satisfied.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2003

    What a disapointment!

    Johanna Lindsey was my very first romance author I had ever read. She has held me captive, as she does with many of her characters, until the end of the book. What I can't understand is...where in the world was the romance in this book? All I read was the tension between sisters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2003

    Not one of her best

    It did not grab me like some of her earlier books have done. I love reading her books but the newer ones are really going down hill. She needs to get some life back into her books. The last few books have been a real disapointment and so has this one. I can not recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2014

    Disappointed

    She lies, I really hate it when the heroine flat out lies. I didn't finish the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2004

    Don't even bother

    This is the first JL book I've ever read and I was sorely disappointed. The twins were extremely irritating and Chad was gullible and underdeveloped. While the plot had potential, the circumstances with the father's 'death' seemed like they were thought of at the last minute to create a plot twist, but only resulted in a pointless waste of paper. Fortunately for Ms. Lindsey, this book has not completely deterred me from her writing and I will be trying out her other books that reviewers here have praised so highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2003

    One of her worst

    JL really needs to put the magic back into her books. I used to look forward to all her new ones, now I hold my breath. She hasn't written a good book in some time. Maybe she should write another book about The Mallory's and The Andersons, that might be what she needs to put the fire back into her fingertips.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 12 of 13 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1