Customer Reviews for

Man to Call My Own

Average Rating 4
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

There are many twists which make it very interesting. The characters are complex and well developed. Highly recommended.

posted by Anonymous on January 7, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Just Kinda of boring...

The extent Marian goes to to ease Amanda's jealousy is a little outrageous. I thought the story was a little boring and really just all over the place. I typically love Lindsey's work but this book left much to be desired.

posted by Baries on April 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 17, 2012

    This was a funny, pathetic upbringing story with cute ending. Th

    This was a funny, pathetic upbringing story with cute ending. The story of two sisters that were raised in opposite spectrum of care and emotional attachment. One is spoiled to extreme that even her own dad would rather her believe him dead vs telling her the truth about his second love of his life. While the other is so emotionally deprived to the point when she changes her appearance just to avoid her association with her twin. The turn around comes on the unexpected and undesired journey of their lifetime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Good read

    This book was hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Western romance

    This was the first Johanna Lindsey book I read, and also my first western novel. While I really loved the story, I thought it was a little too extended in the end. The events that occurred got in the way of our hero's and heroine's, Chad's and Marian's, relationship, and that was kind of annoying. However, I love how the characters develop and mature throughout the story. The misunderstandings and situations between the characters are realistic and believable. You can feel the scorn, the heartache, and the attraction. I will definitely be reading more Johanna Lindsey novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2004

    GREAT READ

    JOHANNA LINDSAY DID IT AGAIN. I DIDN'T WANT TO PUT THIS BOOK DOWN. I LOVED HOW YOU PROTRAYED THE TWINS IT WAS EXTREMELY FUNNY WHERE IT HAD YOU LAUGHING OUT LOUD. BUY THIS BOOK YOU WON'T REGRET THIS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2004

    Very enjoyable

    I am an avid Johanna Lindsey reader. While this wasn't her best work it was definitely fun to read and believable. Those who said it didn't have a plot may have bought a copy missing pages or something, because it was there. In my mind this was her worst effort, and if I am still giving her 4 stars that should say something. At her worst she is better than 90% of other romance authors. Will read this again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2004

    A really nice, engaging Tale

    I had taken a hiatus from reading any of J.L. books for some time now, although I would still collect them (because I collect her works) I rarely ever actually READ them anymore. I was so pleased to read this one and loved the story of the 2 twins it was comical at moments, sensual confrontations between Chad and Marian, a loving relationship between Chad and his father, and the Aunt who has spirit and a chance at finding love in her latter years. The Story is about 2 twins both gorgeous. One of the twins (Mandy) is spoiled and down-right Awful the other (Marian)is not she hides her beauty so that the other twin doesn't get jealous. You see Mandy has a history of sabotaging Marian's love interest, then she follows it up with crapping on the fellow in the end and leaving them. So Marian puts on this disguise to hide her beauty so that no one will be interested in her, and no one will get their feelings hurt. At the beggining of the story you find out that the girls father has died and they have to go and live with their Aunt, who they have not seen since being toddlers, out in Texas. Chad is the son of the Rancher who owns a HUGE spread near the Aunts but he is working over at her Ranch to help her out (anymore information on that part and I would be telling to much of the story) needless to say Marian is attracted to Chad and he to her, although how they get to this part is through misconceptions and spontaneous actions :) There were parts that I chuckled and it kept me engaged, which when it comes to the Romance novels these days, is all that I ask. In fact it kind of reminded me of a old Jude Deveraux style or even Julie Garwood. I didn't give it 5 stars because of the ending it wasn't plausible for me, it didn't quite add up. Respectfully Reviewed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2004

    A fun read!

    I really enjoyed this book. Although I wanted to give each sister a good swift kick, their characters matured through the story. Their Aunt was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2003

    LOYAL READER

    I LOVE JL'S BOOKS. I ANXIOUSLY AWAIT ALL HER BOOKS.THEY ARE DIFFERENT BUT PEOPLE AND STORIES ARE DIFFERENT. I LOVED THE BOOK AND THE DIFFERENTNESS ABOUT IT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2003

    You'll love it, Like I Do!!

    Johanna Lindsey is my favorite writer and she never disapoints me. IF you love Ms. Lindsey other books, you'll defintely want to read this one. A Man to Call My Own is to good not to read twice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2003

    She's back!!

    I've read and own all of Johanna Lindsey's books. Like most I was dissappointed with her last few. But I'm glad to say, she's back. I loved A Man To Call My Own. It's not a Malory (well, nothing is), but it was wonderful. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2