Customer Reviews for

Man to Call My Own

Average Rating 4
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

There are many twists which make it very interesting. The characters are complex and well developed. Highly recommended.

posted by Anonymous on January 7, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Just Kinda of boring...

The extent Marian goes to to ease Amanda's jealousy is a little outrageous. I thought the story was a little boring and really just all over the place. I typically love Lindsey's work but this book left much to be desired.

posted by Baries on April 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Loved this !! Had to finish it!!

    Loved how the attention didnt go to other twin with the looks but focused on the other and her personality n charm n wit!! Nice girl wins the guy!! LOVVVEED IT!! Have all the JL books now except the latest one, which i'm about to order!!! LOOVE all her books!! So i guess i'm biased..lol

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    A Man to Call My Own

    I read this book years ago and I revisit this book often. Its about twins who compete their whole lives. I read this book and Johanna Lindsey's Angel every summer. They are two of my favorite books I have ever read. The twins have to work together to get back home after a tragic event takes place and the man who escorting them home falls in love with the wrong twin. Or does he? This is a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    So Loved this book Hated for it to end.

    I Love how it was done back in the old west. That was a new side of Johanna Lidsey for me. Like all her books AWESOME....I could not put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2007

    Excellent

    There are many twists which make it very interesting. The characters are complex and well developed. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2005

    Bubalicious

    I love the characters in the story, especially Marian and Amanda, the twins. This book is really good. I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Loved it!

    I finished this book in a day and absolutley loved it. The characters were interesting and all this plot twists kept me on my toes. It was a five star book in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    highly recommended for the historical romance lover!

    True to form - you can never go wrong with Johanna Lindsey!
    The story has action, adventure and good old fashioned romance.
    The love scenes and plot and perfect.
    Gotta love Johanna!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Great book

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    wow

    It moved,the characters were authentic and I held my breath until the love scenes were over!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    good reading

    keeps you interested to the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2006

    Great Book from Lindsey as always!!

    I could not put this book down, I love all Johanna Lindsey's books, but this one and Hearts Aflame are my favorite and I have reread them many times!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2004

    Excellant

    This book was amazing. I read the book for school and i thought it would be boring. In reality it was an amazing book. I couldn't put the book down. I recommend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2004

    Wonderful Read

    I really did enjoy this book, it was full of energy and a lot of details that keep the reader interested. I also recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A winner

    On the train coming home from a Chicago business trip, Mortimer Laton fell between cars and died. Following the funeral in his hometown of Haverhill, Massachusetts, Mortimer¿s attorney Albert Bridges reads the will in which the preponderance of the estate went to his twin daughters equally. Worried about fortune hunters, Mortimer had one stipulation. To inherit, the girls must marry, but until they do his sister Kathleen will serve as their guardian and approve any groom. Amanda angrily leaves, but Marian understands that they will move to Texas to live with an unknown aunt.<P> Chad Kinkaid works on Kathleen¿s ranch though he will inherit the neighboring spread. He is attracted immediately to Marian in spite of her dotty clothing and thick spectacles. She falls in love with Chad, but Marian believes he loves Amanda because no one ever cared about her. While Amanda falls in love with someone who seems indifferent to her and Chad has trouble persuading his beloved that they belong together, a behind the scenes manipulator has other plans for the Laton cash.<P> Though there has been a rash of twins serving as protagonists lately, A MAN TO CALL MY OWN is an invigorating 1870s Texas romance. The plot contains an interesting major twist that will surprise the audience but also serve as a reminder of how far communication has come in under a century and a half. Though there is plenty of action, the story line focuses on the couples, more so on Marian and Chad, who readers will like. Johanna Lindsey provides an absorbing tale that her fans will appreciate.<P> Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2003

    Best historical romance writer of the 20th/21st century.

    I have read all her books and am always waiting anxiously for the next. Her books are the stuff that my dreams are abouts. She has a concept that is appealing and exclusive to all her main characters. Her books are about love, fidelity, hope, beauty, joy, morals, and qualities that we admire and look for in our owm partners.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2