Customer Reviews for

A Man to Die for (a Suspense/Thriller)

Average Rating 3.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A book to die for!

I've been recommending Eileen Dreyer's medical thriller A Man to Die For ever since it came out in 1991. It's out of print in book form so I was thrilled to see it offered as an e-book (along with some of her other excellent titles- yay!)and pumped that I can start rec...
I've been recommending Eileen Dreyer's medical thriller A Man to Die For ever since it came out in 1991. It's out of print in book form so I was thrilled to see it offered as an e-book (along with some of her other excellent titles- yay!)and pumped that I can start recommending it again.

Like all good books set in hospitals or police stations, this book has that dark, dark sense of humor that keeps these two stressed-to-the-max professions sane. And Casey McDonough needs help keeping her sanity. Survivor of a traumatic childhood, the sole support of her emotionally fragile mother, and one helluva fantastic trauma nurse, Casey thinks there must be something wrong with her because she just doesn't get why everyone is bowing down to worship Dale Hunsacker, the new star OB/GYN at St. Louis' Mother Mary Hospital. There's...something wrong with his eyes, i.e. there doesn't seem to be anything human or compassionate behind them. And the way he does pelvics? Well, let's just say any woman reading this may never have another without an additional cringe.

When nurses who haven't seen eye to eye with the good doctor start turning up dead, Casey begins to have some suspicions that get her in hot water with hospital admininistration. Still, she can't have a physician bumping off her co-workers just because he brings big money into the hospital...can she? No, Casey's something of a crusader and she just can't keep her mouth or her eyes shut when something so terrible is happening right under everyones'noses.

When Sgt. Jack Scanlon, former marine, former Jesuit, meets Casey at the precinct where she goes to report her suspicions, he's already got more than enough on his desk to worry him...he certainly doesn't need a feisty red-headed nurse with authority problems telling him that St. Louis' latest golden-boy physician (and friend to the mayor)is a serial killer. But as bodies keep appearing across the city and county jurisdictions, Jack's ulcer tells him Casey might be right...and may be the next on the doctor's hit list.

Dreyer mixes situational humor with one of the creepiest villains and two very flawed, but touchingly human crimefighters in a book that I've read multiple times. Casey's mother, the downtrodden but still faithful Irish Catholic who wanted to be a nun, but instead married a man who gave her two kids and a whole lot of beatings, is a sensational invention. She drifts in and out of clarity, always pious and often hilarious, and can always be counted on to offer tea to Casey's guests, whether they are paramedics and detectives...or murderers come to call.

Read anything you can get your hands on by Dreyer who also wrote spectacular series romances under the name Kathleen Korbel, especially A Rose for Maggie (child w/special needs); Soldier's Heart (the Civil War label for PTSD); and Jake's Way (illiteracy). Also look for the out of print If Looks Could Kill under the Dreyer name as it's my next favorite in this too-talented-not-to-be-on-your-favorites-shelf author.

posted by romancemistress on July 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Romance?

No idea how this book is classified as romance. The total amount of romance in this book could not fill a page. And the story just drags out. I honestly wish I had never wasted my time on it. Lost an entire Saturday to this book.

posted by 9522047 on December 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A book to die for!

    I've been recommending Eileen Dreyer's medical thriller A Man to Die For ever since it came out in 1991. It's out of print in book form so I was thrilled to see it offered as an e-book (along with some of her other excellent titles- yay!)and pumped that I can start recommending it again.

    Like all good books set in hospitals or police stations, this book has that dark, dark sense of humor that keeps these two stressed-to-the-max professions sane. And Casey McDonough needs help keeping her sanity. Survivor of a traumatic childhood, the sole support of her emotionally fragile mother, and one helluva fantastic trauma nurse, Casey thinks there must be something wrong with her because she just doesn't get why everyone is bowing down to worship Dale Hunsacker, the new star OB/GYN at St. Louis' Mother Mary Hospital. There's...something wrong with his eyes, i.e. there doesn't seem to be anything human or compassionate behind them. And the way he does pelvics? Well, let's just say any woman reading this may never have another without an additional cringe.

    When nurses who haven't seen eye to eye with the good doctor start turning up dead, Casey begins to have some suspicions that get her in hot water with hospital admininistration. Still, she can't have a physician bumping off her co-workers just because he brings big money into the hospital...can she? No, Casey's something of a crusader and she just can't keep her mouth or her eyes shut when something so terrible is happening right under everyones'noses.

    When Sgt. Jack Scanlon, former marine, former Jesuit, meets Casey at the precinct where she goes to report her suspicions, he's already got more than enough on his desk to worry him...he certainly doesn't need a feisty red-headed nurse with authority problems telling him that St. Louis' latest golden-boy physician (and friend to the mayor)is a serial killer. But as bodies keep appearing across the city and county jurisdictions, Jack's ulcer tells him Casey might be right...and may be the next on the doctor's hit list.

    Dreyer mixes situational humor with one of the creepiest villains and two very flawed, but touchingly human crimefighters in a book that I've read multiple times. Casey's mother, the downtrodden but still faithful Irish Catholic who wanted to be a nun, but instead married a man who gave her two kids and a whole lot of beatings, is a sensational invention. She drifts in and out of clarity, always pious and often hilarious, and can always be counted on to offer tea to Casey's guests, whether they are paramedics and detectives...or murderers come to call.

    Read anything you can get your hands on by Dreyer who also wrote spectacular series romances under the name Kathleen Korbel, especially A Rose for Maggie (child w/special needs); Soldier's Heart (the Civil War label for PTSD); and Jake's Way (illiteracy). Also look for the out of print If Looks Could Kill under the Dreyer name as it's my next favorite in this too-talented-not-to-be-on-your-favorites-shelf author.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Highly recommend

    Excellent book. Fast paced. I love it when a book catches your interest from the get go.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Rereading dreyer

    These medical suspense hold up well. Although they do remind how many tech and forensic advances there have been

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    I read it when it first came out and I loved it!

    I read it when it first came out and I loved it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2014

    Engaging

    I read this book in one sitting, it was that riveting. The plot is solid, the characters likeable, and the dialogue is fresh and very much as people really talk.

    It's not disgustingly violent, sappy and hackneyed, or has any of the other faults that will cause me to not recommend a book. If you like intelligent, well-written mysteries, you will like this book.

    Highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2015

    Omg

    What a mind bender. A really good thriller. Love the book! Pages a little over 300.uo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2015

    Looved it

    Great reaad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    A nurse, a doctor and a priest/detective

    More than a murder mystery ... you have to keep reading as the story unfolds. Entertaining. Well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2014

    recommended

    good story/characters - you know who but its still enjoyable right up to the end - a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2014

    Loved it

    Should be a series. Loved Cacey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2014

    You must check it out!

    Good read, fast moving!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2014

    Highly recommended if you love mysteries

    I can't put this book down! Love it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    Well done

    Excelllent cat and mouse game. Strong characters and plot. Refreshing to read somethingw

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2014

    Great

    Excellant book. Great storyline with good plot and characters. Mystery was well thought out with great suspence and the main character had real guts going after what she wanted. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2014

    Excelent Read

    Boy do I wish I had written this book. If I am able to put one or two appropriate one liners on a page I feel really good abouut what I have written. This writer drops inciteful and amusing one liners as though it were second nature to her.

    What is more,she knows how the inside of a hospital works, and she tells it like it is. Her female lead is strong and amusing, the sort of person some of us would like to emulate. Her male lead comes across as a real person. The few love scenes are tender and not over done.

    Iwill definitely be following this writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2014

    This book was AMAZING! It had the perfect mix of his and her sus

    This book was AMAZING! It had the perfect mix of his and her suspense with a touch of romance. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1