Customer Reviews for

Mancala

Average Rating 4
( 230 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(133)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

78 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

Great Classic

Thank you, B&N, for offering this wonderful classic game digitally! I loved playing this with my daughter when she was small, and now I can enjoy it with my stepchildren as well... but even more as there are no pieces to lose! My favorite game to pass the time in waiti...
Thank you, B&N, for offering this wonderful classic game digitally! I loved playing this with my daughter when she was small, and now I can enjoy it with my stepchildren as well... but even more as there are no pieces to lose! My favorite game to pass the time in waiting rooms!

posted by sadieroopup on July 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

Not What I Remember

I was think thi would be like the Mancala that I used to play with my friends. It's not. The rules are waaaaay different, and I'm not good with change with things that I love. Maybe that is why I don't like it now. Who knows? This might be the perfect game for you... Ju...
I was think thi would be like the Mancala that I used to play with my friends. It's not. The rules are waaaaay different, and I'm not good with change with things that I love. Maybe that is why I don't like it now. Who knows? This might be the perfect game for you... Just not for me.

So. BEWARE people who knew Mancala the way it was before: It is different know.

posted by Night-Girl on November 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 230 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Great Classic

    Thank you, B&N, for offering this wonderful classic game digitally! I loved playing this with my daughter when she was small, and now I can enjoy it with my stepchildren as well... but even more as there are no pieces to lose! My favorite game to pass the time in waiting rooms!

    78 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    Like it!!!

    I am so glad I downloaded this app. Graphics, speed works fine on my Nook. Great game for killing time while waiting at drs., etc.

    65 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    I love it!

    Lllooovvee iiittt!!!its my favorite game so far and it requires a strategy and fun (unlike grow)

    48 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not What I Remember

    I was think thi would be like the Mancala that I used to play with my friends. It's not. The rules are waaaaay different, and I'm not good with change with things that I love. Maybe that is why I don't like it now. Who knows? This might be the perfect game for you... Just not for me.

    So. BEWARE people who knew Mancala the way it was before: It is different know.

    33 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Am I stll confused??

    I don't really know! Never heard of this game before, but it looked interesting! The instructions are so confusing and I'm no dummy! But I still don't think I totally get it. I just play and play until the game ends and naturally I lose. Eventually, I'm sure it will all make sense. I am enjoying it a lot anyway, learning something new. According to most of the reviews it is a great game.

    22 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Easy to play

    Its really easy to play, u just pick up a set of marbles then when u run out u pick up the pile of where the last one landed unless its empty.... if its empty ur turn is over.... well i guess thts how u play cause thts how u play in real life.... it could b different on the nook.... cause u never know.... hope this helps u have more fun playing ur new app... :-)

    22 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    Great

    Been playing with my cousin he beats me alot!
    LOVE IT

    21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    enjoy it!

    I like that you can play not only with the device, but with friends too. I'm teaching my neighbor how to play and we both enjoy it.

    21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Fun

    Great app. Took a couple of rounds to get the hang of it but now it's great fun. It's colorful and works the way it is suppose to (can't say THAT about every app). And it was only $.99!

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Play a real game

    I think its sort of confusing like all the other virtual ones. A real game of mancala is better

    12 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Great app!! This is a must have!

    We have the board game of Mancala and play it often. With this app we can take it with us without worrying about lost pieces. This game offers different skill levels and also the option of different number of marble wells so it is really unlimited in the play. It is great to play alone or with another player. I highly recommend this app!!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    Great game!

    this is really coll game!

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    the best one!

    My favorite!!!

    11 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    love it

    took me few games to learn how to play, also instruction helps, just press ? icon in top left corner.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Pretty fun

    This game is fun and fast

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Boring

    I think walking a snail is funner

    7 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    Mancala

    Wow o wow o woowwwwwww

    6 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    ?

    What about 2 player?

    5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Ahhhhh

    Its an okey game! If you like losing!!!! Every simgle game the computer beats me!!!!! But its still a good game!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Love it!

    I used to play this game in grade school 20 years ago. I have it on my NOOK and the board game. I love this app, except that the computer never switches up its game so you figure out how to beat it , the challenge is gone. People keep saying the rules are different, but I remember playing the exact way this app is. I think there are a frw different eays to play, for example starting off with 5 or 3 stones instead of 4 but Im pretty sure you can change that in the options. I think its well worth the 99 cents.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 230 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12