Customer Reviews for

Manchild in the Promised Land

Average Rating 5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 27, 2014

    An Outstanding Book!!!!  5 Star!!  I read this book in 1970 in 1

    An Outstanding Book!!!!  5 Star!!  I read this book in 1970 in 10th grade English class.  Read it from cover to cover.
    Received an A grade on the book report!  A book on urban neighborhood lower class to middle class lifestyles of
    Black America.  I lived alot of this book in the 1970's thru 1980's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Excellent read

    Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    I loved this book. Read it. I assure you  you will be blessed by

    I loved this book. Read it. I assure you  you will be blessed by this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Loved it

    I was introduded to this book when i was a little girl growing up in north philly. Very good reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    Highly Recommended!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    "Manchild in the Promise Land," a classically written autobiography by author Claude Brown in which he significantly discusses to each viewer the actualities of life, furthermore; nicely detailing how life is lived in the ghetto communities in America. As I began reading, I found myself emotionally attached to his literature because of his injection of factuality in which was nicely vaccinated into the body of his composition. The author truly and compositionally poured every inch and ounce of experiences that he had encountered during his lifespan on God's green earth into the cup of veracious literacy. Claude Brown openly reveals to each reader life experiences, furthermore, the book begins to inform initially readers about his life as an adolescent. Nevertheless, the author informs each reader about the destruction of his community in which was caused by poverties, inebriations (drugs and alcohols), illegal organization and performances (crimes). The author basically reveals to his audience the ups and downturns of living in ghetto. Furthermore, after my completion of reading the entire book, I would like to say finally that this is a book for all ages. Nevertheless, this book that is based on real life experiences. "Manchild in the Promise Land" is a classic book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    Love it!

    I read this book in my African American Literature class. I have read this book 4 times and plan to have my sons read it once they get older. I love this book! It is definitely a must have for anyone's library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    Stands The Test Of Time

    I love this book...it's still relevant in 2010. I love the way the author didn't hold anything back when describing his frends and situations that they were in. You could literally imagine a day in Sonny's shoes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    relevant in 2009

    "An excellent book that has withstood time. It is just as relevant in 2009 as it was in 1965 when it was first published."


    Hargie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2006

    Amazing

    I read this book for my high school senior english class. I love the book. Changed my whole prespective of reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2006

    over coming the hard knock life

    This is the best book I have ever read and I read a lot of books. I read this book when I was 13 and I have read it at least 4 more times after that. This book is all about a man who over came the odds and refused to live with excuses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2005

    WOW

    This book is the most fluentual book that I have read that makes me see that some people had harder lives then me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2005

    I love this book

    I first read this book when I was around 12 years old and never forgot it. I am now 42 and just read it again. It is such a powerful book and I was really disappointed to hear that Claude Brown died. I wish that I could write to him and let him know what an impact he has had.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2004

    Manchild has all the makings of an excellent read!

    When I first purchased this book I did not know what to expect..... yrs later it is one of the best reads in my library. Being an African American male Brown's book took me back to my own childhood. Manchild is filled with colorful yet truthful characters, some you'll love, some you will hate and even some you may fear!! From drug dealers, prostitutes, police and life in the ghetto, Brown mixes them all together and the result is a beautifully written novel of life in the ghetto! If you were raised in the ghettos of America then this book will take you back and if you wasn't then let Brown show you how the other side lives. A masterpiece!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2003

    LIFE UNABASHED TRUE AND HONEST, GRITTY.

    AMAZINGLY, GRITTY, AND RAW AND A FORTUNATE ROUGH LIFE THAT PROVED THROUGH HARD WORK AND TENACITY THAT YOU CAN DO WHATEVER YOU WANT IN LIFE. A MUST READ FOR EVERY YOUNG BLACK MALE IN AMERICA. JUST PLAIN AND SIMPLE THE BEST BOOK I'VE EVER READ ON BLACK LIFE THAT MIRRORS YOUNG BLACK MALES EVEN IN TODAY'S HIP HOP AGE. MUST READ.......EVERY MALE, WHITE BLACK AND ANYONE ELSE.......GET IT...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2003

    truly a man and a child...

    this book was beautiful; it wasn't some fabrication by someone who wanted to write good fiction and portray such realism... it was a raw picture of reality as a manchild, written by one who lived life north of the mason-dixie line, yet still lived in perils as a black man in northern north america. the ending was so fitting; a complete circle paralleling the journey from 'fours in the morning; twos in the daytime and threes by the evening'... as one grows from child to man to childlike demeanor. this was simply a beautiful chronicle of life that though written of the forties and fifties, is still applicable to today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2003

    The realist there is out there you know!

    this book is so realistic closely related to my life but instead i was raised in Georgia. Deep within the West Savanah. I thank Sonny for giving me an inspiration in proceeding in my own dreams in being a pro star. I can't stay in the ghetto much longer. All my life living in worries about who gonkill me or a set up by so-caled friends of mine. This book I would recommend others to read it because you'll learn something out of it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2002

    "Manchild" well worth the wait

    I read Nathan McCall's "Makes Me Wanna Holler" and "Pryor Convictions" by Richard Pryor a few years ago and both mentioned Mr. Brown's autobiography as sources of inspiration. After searching for this book for I couple of years, I finally picked it up two weeks ago. I was not disappointed! Mr. Brown's account of growing up poor in the ghetto in the 40's and 50's transcends time. I've seen a lot of similar "characters" while growing up in the late 80's and early 90's. I am the father of three young boys. When I feel the time is right, I will make sure that each and every one of them adds "Manchild in the Promised Land" to their reading collection. There are too many lessons on life and the potential each one of us has - good and bad- in this book to avoid sharing with them. I'm certain that they will love this book as much as I do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2002

    A Timeless Classic

    I have always been an avid reader and I must say that there is no question that Manchild in the Promised Land is by far the best book I've ever read. This book changed the way that I look at life...forever. Brutally honest. Truthfully written. It speaks to the perils of coming of age which all must face. Brown's views on life, love, and responsibility are priceless; his imagery superb. I cannot say enough good things about this timeless masterpiece. I laughed, I cried, I learned a lot about me through this piece. No one should leave the earth without reading Manchild in the Promised Land. When I was a child, my mother always said that Manchild were her favorite book. Now I know why and I share her enthusiasm. Cheers, kudos, and all praise to Brown for this brilliant work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2002

    Had my son to read it

    My brother was assigned Manchild in the Promise Land when he was in high school. I got ahold of it and couldn't put it down. For some reason latly I had been thinking about it. I usaually read courtroom dramas 'To kill a mockingbird and The Green Mile' is two of my favorites. I wanted my son to begin reading novels and I decided that this one would be a great book to start with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2002

    Man Child - Speaks the Truth

    When I first read this book I felt like I could relate to it. Not so much the fact that he was poor or at one point was an under acheiver but the fact that he survived. Thats why it can be related to. That is the reason that people can see his life through their eyes when they read it and say 'I've been through that too.' Therefore it is a book that should be in every home library but every middle school as well. Youth today can relate to this book because they are rebellious and are on the threshold of a time that their decisions count. Let them read this book and put some substance back in the educational system of today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3