BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Mandy

Average Rating 5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2007

    good book with a few problems

    There are many things about this book to like. It is an interesting, if somewhat predictable, story that is well told. However, at the same time, there are a few occurrences of 'By God' or 'My God' used as interjections (which is taking the Lord's name in vain) and one 'dammit' (which is cursing). I suppose that these are included to make it sound 'realistic.' However, everyone agrees that children should NOT be taught to talk like that, so for the life of me I cannot figure out why authors of children's books want to include that kind of language in their works. It just boggles my mind. If it were not for this, I would have given the book an excellent rating.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    So glad to share this

    When I was around 9 or 10 when I really started to get into reading, I picked up this book and was engrossed. I loved it so much that I'm pretty sure this is all I read that summer over and over and over again and am elated that I can share this now with a very special little girl in my life. I love how this takes you to you own special garden...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2007

    Lighten up, Wayne.

    This is a beautiful book. My mother read it to me when I was quite small, I reread it as an adult and I don't even recall anything but lovely language used in the book. All your fears are lies.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2007

    Lovely!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was smart, sophisticated and heartwarming. It was also very original, and had an awesome ending.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2007

    Someone who really enjoyed this book!

    When I first read Mandy I was either nine or ten. My adopted grandparents from the church that we attended gave me this book as a Christmas gift. I read this book over and over again. Now that I am a mother I enjoy reading it more. Julie Edwards is a wonderful and amazing author and I enjoy all of the writing that she has done.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Review by a 10-year old girl: "So Wonderful That I Couldn't Put It Down"

    The reason I got this book was because of the beautiful cover illustration. When I read it (which was right away), I loved it. Unlike most books, you catch on really fast to the characters and story. You feel like a part of the story when you read this book. I thought the main character, Mandy, was very imaginative. Mandy loved gardens, so that made it even more fun to read. The story was easy to picture in your head. The author was really creative. I liked it so much that I bought another copy as a Christmas gift for a good friend. I would recommend it for girls ages 8-12. You should definitely read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2007

    Couldn't put it down

    I loved this book,only it was really predictable.....but other then that I loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2013

    Summary- Mandy is a 10-year-old orphan who is very kind. Matron

    Summary- Mandy is a 10-year-old orphan who is very kind. Matron Bridie, the woman who runs the orphanage where Mandy lives is very nice and even though Mandy is an orphan, she thinks life is pretty good. One day while Mandy is out exploring the woods around the orphanage, she finds an abandoned cottage. Even though the cottage is very run-down, Mandy feels like it is a place just for her. She spends days and weeks fixing it up. She takes things from the orphanage to help her fix the cottage. She also begins lying about where she is going so that no one else will find her special place. While at the cottage, Mandy becomes terribly sick and no one knows where she is! Mandy regrets not letting anyone know about where she goes, but is it too late?




    Opinion- The first thing I thought when I started reading this book was – “Wow! A happy orphan who isn’t abused and likes the woman running the place!” That made me laugh because usually the books I read start off with a troubled kid usually an orphan or ignored by his or her parents. It was nice to read a different story plot. Besides Mandy actually being a happy orphan, I thought the story was very nice and it kept me wanting to read it until the end. I liked reading about Mandy fixing up the cottage. I thought Mandy was a realistic character and could understand why she wanted a place of her own. I found out that Mandy is the first book Ms. Andrews Edwards wrote and that she wrote the story for her step-daughter. Ms. Andrews Edwards has a way of telling stores that makes you care about the characters and that makes her stories even better.
    *NOTE - This book was given to me as a gift

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great read for children!

    I liked it alot. It was funny sad and deeply rewarding. Only bad thing is it might be a little to predictable. All around a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    My favorite book as a kid!!!

    My cousin gave this book to me when I was a kid, probably 10. I still look at this book as my favorite book ever. I am the type that likes to fantasize and this book took me there. Very well written and just an enjoyable read. I am now 49.5 and still remember this book as my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    love it

    i think this book every body could enjoy it because it is about an orfan girl who find a plac ethat she can fun away to and get away from everything!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    Strongly recommended!- great for little girls looking for a novel with adventure

    This book is heartwarming and absorbing. It is a great book to read if you like adventure. It has great wording and adjectives. I find it very fun to read. I never wanted to put it down. It made me go into a different world, a world of fantasy. This was written and typed by a 12 year old girl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2010

    thrilling,powerful,and an awesome book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    it was truly a good 1.i wood definitly reccomend to friends.PLEASE READ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2006

    Read the original hardback 1970

    This book was a birthday present from my godmother for my tenth birthday (in 1970). The character and the story was so touching that I re-read the book through most of my childhood and into my teen years. As an adult and some 35 years later, the character and the story remains a treasured childhood literary memory. This book has been a cherished companion and a most memorable gift. My thanks to Julie Edwards for fueling my love for literary works and giving us the wonderful world of Mandy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2005

    this is the best classic!

    i think mandy is the best book for young children. i had just got done finishing it today.i might read it again. i love the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2005

    read it 8 yrs. ago and still...

    I read this book when I was in the sixth grade, eight years ago and it remains fresh in my mind to this day. A great book for any girl around that age- particularly for those who feel that they don't have a home of their own (I come from a military background) and can not relate to others. It brings you home. Try it... you won't regret it guaranteed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2005

    #1 best book in the world

    This is the greatest book i have ever read. It is very cute. The little girl is the sweetest child i have ever read about. Every girl would love this book. It will keep you flipping the pages and you will feel happy throughout the whole book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2005

    Great job!!!

    I loved this book it was so great! It was easy to get into because everyone can relate to wanting a place of their own to just hang out!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2004

    Is there ANYTHING Julie Andrews can't do???

    Yesterday I started and finished Ms. Edwards¿ book `Mandy¿, and I absolutely loved it. I never doubted I would enjoy it, because I tend to like anything Ms. Andrews does, but I¿m pretty certain I loved this book for it¿s plotline and the lovely way it was written, rather than simply because I¿m a fan of the author. I loved the style in which it was written, so very descriptive of everything; the cottage, the garden, the animals Mandy met, they all seemed to be in such detail. I also loved some of the little expressions, such as ¿It was a warm contentment, something like the feeling one gets when hot tea and honey slide way down into one¿s stomach, only ten times better.¿ And Ms. Andrews has all the emotions and feelings of all the characters involved exactly correct. I¿m sure if I were Mandy I would feel the same way, and vice versa if I were Sue or Matron. Your heart really goes out to Mandy, especially when she is sick in the cottage, and when Bill and Anne are telling her that they want to adopt her. Although the ending and some parts of the plot were perhaps slightly predictable, in this case that only enhances the story. It was lovely, because you had a fair idea what was going to happen, and then you were so glad when it did. Or I was anyway. `Mandy¿ was a wonderful book, beautifully written, and an absolute joy to read. I¿m sure there will be many children who can identify with it (whether with Mandy or Sue) or just enjoy it for the lovely style and great plot. I hope when others read it their parents are not interrupting them every five minutes, as was the case with me. That way they will have the chance to read it all in one go, as I¿m sure I would have. I thoroughly enjoyed this novel, and I should like to congratulate Ms. Andrews Edwards on writing something so wonderful for her first story. Now I think I¿ll have to go and read `Dragon: Hound of Honour¿. And I¿m sure I¿ll read `Mandy¿ many times. Personally, I think it was a very good thing that Ms. Andrews Edwards lost the bet with Jennifer. Look what we got out of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2004

    I Read It Over And Over Again

    I love this book! I have read it at least 5 times in the last year. Julie Edwards is my favorite actor, and now she is my favorite author.I give her props on this book.If books could talk,this book would be a very interesting person. If you ever need a book to read, pick this one up. I promise you will love it as much as I do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4