Customer Reviews for

Mandy

Average Rating 5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2004

    Mandy, the best book EVER written!

    Mandy is a book which shows how a young orphan girl discovers a house behind the borderline of the orphanage.This book has 4 great elements: character, plot, setting and theme.This is my favorite book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2004

    I loved it when I was a kid, I still love it

    I first read this book at least 7 years ago. There are very few books that I can read repeatedly and never get bored with yet this one always captivates me. When I read this book I feel like a kid again, and I get sucked into the story. It's uplifting and endearing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2004

    Good for children & adults

    I read this book when I was 10 and still re-read it every now and then just for fun. It has a cute plot, lighthearted and interesting. What girl wouldn't want a house and garden all of her own?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2004

    I love this cute little book.

    I really like this book. I have read it over 5 times and i still love it! It's just a cute book that is fun to read its really easy to get into. I like that it gets exciting and mysterious. It rips your heart out in places. She goes off on her own and finda a place for herself. It gives little Mandy an independence, where she lives in an orphanage and doesn't get much space of her own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2004

    I hate this book!

    This is the most boring, terrible book I've ever read! The author takes chapters to write about uninteresting things that don't add to the plot line! Noone should ever have to read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2003

    Fantastic book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    A wonderful book about a young orphan girl named Mandy who wishes for a place of her own. So one day, Mandy goes out on an adventure over the tall, brick wall of the orphanage. Once she finally gets to the other side, she finds a path that leads to a cottage. Mandy thinks this is the perfect place for her to make her own; so she starts tending the garden and cleaning up the cottage, day after day,week after week, month after month. But one day she gets sick in the cottage and no one knows where to find her; except a good freind she never knew she had. Will someone find her? Will she find the family she had always wished for?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2003

    My favorite book.

    Mandy was my absolute favorite book when I was in grade school. I've probably read it 20 times. My dad was going through all of my old books that were up in the attic, and he found my copy of Mandy, well worn out! I'm definitely going to have to read it again! I remember falling in love with Jonathon every time I read it! LOL :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2003

    i loved this book

    when i was little my mom would read this book to me and it brings back a lot of memories i love this book!! i recomend it to anyone¡!¡

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2003

    The best

    This book is the cutest book ever, i read it 4 school cuz my friend read it and said that is was a great book, and that i should read it, adn i did, it is the cutest book ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2003

    Da best!

    I luv dis book! it is da best! this book has a sweet sense in it that warms your heart! U gotta read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2003

    A sweet book

    Mandy is a some what predictable book but that doesn't detract much from its charm. The imagery and descriptions are wonderful. It is good read for anyone wanting a break from life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2003

    This is the best!!

    This is one of the greatest books you could ever read. I am not a big fan of reading but i had to read a book in 7th grade and i pick "Mandy". I couldn't put down the book once i got started. I am in 9th grade now and still remember everything that happened in the book. If you like surprizes you should enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2002

    Good

    This book is really good but the end is really predictable. I thought it was unique and I liked it for that.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2002

    Mandy- a great book by a great actress!

    The book Mandy is a great book. It is a perfect mix of action and adventure. It is also a very sweet book. Mandy is written by Julie Edwards aka Julie Andrews aka Mary Poppins! yeah, The actress who plays Mary Poppins, Maria in the Sound of music, Queen Clairece in the princess dirays, and about 20 other charactors wrote this book! Its really cool and I think you will enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2002

    This was a really great book. I enjoyed reading it.

    I read this book Mandy by. Julie Edwards and it was a wonderful story. It really touches the heart of any young girl who is just wanting some independent time and for something to have and call thier own. It gets really sad when she finds the cottage and works so hard to make it pretty and then she starts to get sick. I really liked the ending when the two people that own the cottage adopt her and call her thier own child. I would recommend this book to everyone. ITS GREAT !!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2001

    Charming

    A friend told me this was her favorite book growing up. She loaned it to me, and I loved it! It's a charming story that captured my imagination. I was as excited as Mandy each time she went to the cottage. I liked it so much that I'm buying it for my nieces.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2001

    BEST EVER

    This is the best book that i have read in a long time. Its sort of like the secret garden, but has its on clever twists and turns. I loved it, and suggest it to everyone, all age types. its a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2001

    YOU HAVE TO READ THIS BOOK,IT IS GREAT!

    This is a very good book! It is probably for any age but I think that teenagers and up would probably enjoy it the best! The book is about a 10 year old girl named Mandy, that lives in a orphanage. The manger Matron Bridie had thridy other children to look after to besides Mandy. Then one day Mandy climb over the high orghanage wall and found a little cottage. Through the spring, summer, and fall Mandy work on it to make it hers. One night it was really stromy and nobody knew were to find Mandy. She became very sick, until some man came and found her. Read the story and find out what will happen to Mandy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2001

    LOOKING FOR A GOOD BOOK TO READ????

    I have read this book many times. The cover is what attracted me to it, it was so nice looking! This is my absolute favorite book, and I would recommend this book to anyone;kids or adults!! You've gotta read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2000

    Kind of like frosted flakes - good for parents and kids!

    This was one of my favorite books growing up - the kind that my parents liked too because it was a quality story with good lessons in it. I couldn't tell you how many times I read Mandy, and I plan on giving it to my daughter when I have one. Parents, if you want a good clean book to give your daughter, this is an excellent choice. Girls, if you want a fun and exciting book to read, this is a great choice for you, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4