Customer Reviews for

The Mane Event

Average Rating 4.5
( 502 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(287)

4 Star

(138)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 503 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great paranormal anthology

    ¿Christmas Pride¿. When NYPD cop Desiree ¿Dez¿ MacDermot sees her childhood friend Mace Llewellyn for the first time in years she thinks he is one muscular hunk. His stare could melt an iceberg as Mace makes it clear he wants Dez and she feels like heavenly ecstasy as he sniffs and tongues her neck even his purring puts her in the mood. However, even as she is FALLING Dez has doubts as Mace insists he is a shapeshifting man-lion.---------- 'Shaw's Tail'. New York City Hotel owner Brendan Shaw lies in his hospital bed battered from head to toe. However, in spite of the severity of his injuries, Brendan knows his nurse is his soul mate. The lion shapeshifter has to persuade the wolf from Tennessee Ronnie Lee Reed that he is the one for her.------------ These two linked paranormal novellas star shapeshifting lion-humans and their seemingly opposites in a cat vs. dog tales. Each story is amusing as the lions know who they want, but it is the feline who prove to be the tamers. Lighthearted in nature except in the boudoir, fans will enjoy the jocular romances of shapeshifters.------------ Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    The Mane Event

    I enjoyed both stories in this book. The way Mace never stopped loving Dez ..their story is one I've seen happen in real life. The story of Brendan Shaw & Ronnoe Lee is fun, carefree & also a great story. One thing I can say they both had in common is the sexual appetite these two lion shifters have. When the mood hits them they are ready to go & will take their mates any where it is convenient or not. I found the books a good read, a good story with action, humor & lots of sensual situations.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful author and GREAT book

    This was the first book in a new series by Shelly Laurenston, and it was GREAT!!!
    Though this was the first book in the series i unfortunately didnt read them in order, i read this one second so i knew what to expect from her writing and i was not disappointed. In this book she split the story between two characters, Mace and Brendon.

    In Maces story he just got back to NY after being gone for awhile, when he returns he runs into Dez, a cop who he knew 20 years back and who he had always said was going to be his.They have their ups and downs but inm the end the Lion always gets what he wants. Mace's story is kinda short but it's cute and entertaining.

    Brendon Shaw happens to be coming out of a tunnel and badly beaten when he sees the most beautiful women ever(RONNIE). And when he wakes up in the hospital with a fever cant seem to control himself. Ronnie was guilted into waiting for the lion to wake up in the hospital by her friend/alpha. Ronnie and Shaw go dont go through an adventure so much as having some fun. Lauenston brings in her hillbilly charm and creates an amazing story that keeps you captivated

    HIGHLY recommend the series to anyone that likes a fun book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Loved it

    I bought one of the pride series books on a sale rack and now am hooked. I've not read one yet that hasn't engaged my reading interests. I think you'll enjoy reading Mace & Dez' story. I know I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    Very Good

    Well written and funny. Characters are very real and make you want to find out what happens later.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    - 4 Mane Event Stars -  Humor, Romance, Great Characters The Ma

    - 4 Mane Event Stars -  Humor, Romance, Great Characters

    The Mane Event is book one in the Pride series by Shelly Laurenston. I love Ms. Laurenston’s work. She has a way with writing fabulously fun characters and the humor is over the top. We get two story’s in this book Christmas Pride and Shaw’s Tail. 


    Christmas Pride


    The first story is Christmas Pride about Mace Llewllyn who is a lion shifter and former Navy SEALs and Desireee “Dez” MacDermont who is an NYPD cop from the Bronx. During a murder investigation Dez runs back into her former best friend Mace. 


    The author has created an interesting world with Prides, Packs and more. Many things are like the wild animal world, but in a different way. Mace wants nothing to do with Pride life and everything to do with his dream girl. I loved this story. Mace is sexy as hell and Dez is no pushover. She takes everything in stride and the banter between all the characters is fantastically great. The couples are older and have life experiences, which I enjoy. 


    Shaw’s Tail


    In the second story, Shaw’s Tail, we have Brendon Shaw another lion male, but he has been a breeding male and Ronnie Lee Reed a wolf shifter and wild child with severe commitment phobia’s. Brendon goes looking for his brother and ended up getting beat up, when Dez and the wolves come to the rescue he is caught by a sent he can't let go.


    Brendon is a sexy lion with a face that makes women swoon. Once he gets a whiff of Ronnie he has no plans on letting her get away. As for Ronnie well she can’t seam to keep her mind off a silly male lion and may have just found the one thing she did not expect. I enjoyed this story. Like before we get a great cast of character, older couple, and a verity of shifters. The banter between everyone is great along with the friendships being built. These shifters and world are very different from a lot of the shifter books I’ve read in that they seam more like animals, but without losing their humanity.  


    If you have not picked up a Shelly Laurenston’s book. I highly recommend you do. She is one of my go to authors and I love reading her books over and over again. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2014

    A Great Read

    Strong characters and unpredictable twists. Humor, surprise, suspense, and a good romance to curl up with

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2014

    I bought this book because I was looking for a new author and I'

    I bought this book because I was looking for a new author and I'm so glad I did. It's the first 2 books in a series and I can't wait to start reading the rest of them. They're exciting, sexy and I just love the dialogue!! I laughed right out loud more than once. Talk about a feel good book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    2

    I attempted to read the second book of this series The Beast in Him and could not get past 50 pages. I found the writing style. Confusing and the main people juvinile. I wanted to be fair so feeling maybe it would be best if I went back to the start as it were I borrowed book 1. It was not much better.
    I'm sorry I just find this series hard to read and understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    love it

    fast and easy to read gets your attention

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Loved reading it

    Was a great book want to read more very fun and sexy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Great shifter fun.

    Great shifter fun with a little twist. I love anything my Ms. Laurenston and this series is going
    to be my favorite, I can just tell now. Not only is this novel an introduction to the characters, but,
    it's also the start up of a new business. Great read. Well thought out plots, and a great and fun
    family of characters. I can't wait to read the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Different

    Not my type of book. Some one else might enjoy but I didn't

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2014

    This really is good..I've read the Dragon series she wrote under

    This really is good..I've read the Dragon series she wrote under the name, G.A. Aiken and it had me rolling it was so funny..this series is just as entertaining and the emotional depth is just as riveting. A must read series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Great story - a little too much bad language for my taste!

    I really enjoy shifter stories! It's a fun idea and fun to read about. This story had too much bad language and too many raunchy scenes! It was just too much for me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Loved it!

    So funny! Loved Ronnie Lee & Shaw.

    Kitsune

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Christmas Pride, 3.5 stars! This story was good but I had just r

    Christmas Pride, 3.5 stars! This story was good but I had just recently finished a book and am still suffering from "book hangover" and that may be why I didn't get into this story as much as I wanted to. It was good and really funny. Ive never had this much humor in any of the books Ive read and actually pull it off well. Mace and Dez were great together and very, very hot. 

    Shaw's Tail, 4 stars! Wow! I just loved loved the 2nd story more than the first one. Ronnie and Brendon cracked me up the entire time. Then... the chemistry between these two is off the charts hot! Who knew having a fever, doing the mambo and grinding with all your clothes on and a sheet between you could be so damn hot!

    I highly recommend this book to everyone! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Love this series

    My son was named mason after this main man! I read this one atleast twice! Worth every penny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2014

    Christmas Pride Reread: Oh, I have no idea how many time

    Christmas Pride








    Reread: Oh, I have no idea how many times I have reread this. I love it. It is always a bit dirtier than I remember and funnier. 




    I love this lion shifter who know what he wants and goes after it. I love Dez. She is just awesome. 




    That is all. 




    Shaw's Tail A no holds bar sexy romp as a lion shifter goes after a wolf shifter female with is whole heart. The role playing sexy times are off the hook and these characters are so much fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 503 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26