Customer Reviews for

The Mane Squeeze (Pride Stories Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 369 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(270)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Up all night reading, couldn't put it down!

I absolutely adore this book and series. Actually I have loved each and every one of this author's books! Shelly has such a wonderful/quirky/strange/off-the-wall sense of humor, I laughed enough that it brought the adult kids their room to check on me! It is one of the...
I absolutely adore this book and series. Actually I have loved each and every one of this author's books! Shelly has such a wonderful/quirky/strange/off-the-wall sense of humor, I laughed enough that it brought the adult kids their room to check on me! It is one of the things I look forward to with her writing, the laughter (many times to the point of tears). Yes, they are all on my 'KEEP' shelf.
Mr. Mittens & Paddington are wonderful together. Her characters are always so real. I want to go to one of the Karoke parties to meet them all. I can hardly wait for the next installment.
How I wish you wonderful authors could write as fast as I read! But please please please don't stop writing.
I cannot recommend highly enough this book or any of Shelly Laurenston's titles. Oh yeah, and don't forget G.A. Aiken too!!!!!!!!! (It was almost an accident to forget they are the same.)

posted by AlaskaMaggie on October 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

DONT WASTE THE MONEY - BORROW FROM YOUR LOCAL LIBRARY

I have never returned a book to a bookstore ever in my entire life, until today. i bought the book today, I read it and it was good until about 60 pages in and then it went downhill from there. and it stayed there, and continued to stay. I read an average of 4 books ...
I have never returned a book to a bookstore ever in my entire life, until today. i bought the book today, I read it and it was good until about 60 pages in and then it went downhill from there. and it stayed there, and continued to stay. I read an average of 4 books a day, i work a full-time 40 hours a week when I read a book i expect a good plot. i love shelly laurenston books except for this one. It was one of the worst books i have ever read. I write this review for one place only so another reader does not get as disappointed as I did. Shelly Laurenston writes wonderfully but this plot - horror - i have seen "b" movies with better angles. I do not know if i will be able to read another book from her again. I have mostly all her books except two and this one went right back to the store shelf. Just read it from your library if you are that desperate. Gwen started out strong but then became weak as can be. I do not have time for weak female characters.

posted by 2331520 on December 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 375 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    DONT WASTE THE MONEY - BORROW FROM YOUR LOCAL LIBRARY

    I have never returned a book to a bookstore ever in my entire life, until today. i bought the book today, I read it and it was good until about 60 pages in and then it went downhill from there. and it stayed there, and continued to stay. I read an average of 4 books a day, i work a full-time 40 hours a week when I read a book i expect a good plot. i love shelly laurenston books except for this one. It was one of the worst books i have ever read. I write this review for one place only so another reader does not get as disappointed as I did. Shelly Laurenston writes wonderfully but this plot - horror - i have seen "b" movies with better angles. I do not know if i will be able to read another book from her again. I have mostly all her books except two and this one went right back to the store shelf. Just read it from your library if you are that desperate. Gwen started out strong but then became weak as can be. I do not have time for weak female characters.

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Up all night reading, couldn't put it down!

    I absolutely adore this book and series. Actually I have loved each and every one of this author's books! Shelly has such a wonderful/quirky/strange/off-the-wall sense of humor, I laughed enough that it brought the adult kids their room to check on me! It is one of the things I look forward to with her writing, the laughter (many times to the point of tears). Yes, they are all on my 'KEEP' shelf.
    Mr. Mittens & Paddington are wonderful together. Her characters are always so real. I want to go to one of the Karoke parties to meet them all. I can hardly wait for the next installment.
    How I wish you wonderful authors could write as fast as I read! But please please please don't stop writing.
    I cannot recommend highly enough this book or any of Shelly Laurenston's titles. Oh yeah, and don't forget G.A. Aiken too!!!!!!!!! (It was almost an accident to forget they are the same.)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    Don't waste your money

    The book was disjointed, poorly written, and a waste of money. I've ready others by this author, but this was a real disappointment. It had no flow & made no sense.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2010

    Reading is fun!

    Basically, again I love all of Shelly Laurenston's books because if you're in a funky mood, all you have to do is pick up her book and read. Her books always puts me in a better mood because of the humor. I love all her characters mainly for the name calling, bickering, their little quirkiness, silliness, humor which reminds me of many of my friends - minus the violence. This is one author that I can honestly say that I always look forward to her next books, because her books are chocked full of fun and surprises. Definitely escapism at its' best! Thanks Shelley for another fun read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Main Squeeze

    I totally love these books (Series name "The Pride") this series runs in tandum with "The Magnus Pack" - They are extremely funny, sexy and romantic. This one contains roller derby, all of series books contain some really funny situational stuff, I can't say enough about Shelly Laurenston and her sense of humor.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    TP

    This book was romantic, funny. I could not stop laughing. I must buy the entire series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    love this series

    great series, hot love scenes, hilarious relationships

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    Uniquely entertaining!

    Reading a Shelly Laurenston book is like watching a madcap comedy movie but with lions, wolves and bears, oh my! Not to mention the occasional cross-breed (tigons for example) and - my faves - the wild dogs. The characters are quirky, funny, irrelevant and sometimes even a little frightening. Unlike a lot of "shape shifter" books, Shelly manages to write characters that are true to their animal nature and yet still very human. In what other shape-shifter world would you find male lion shifters who are kept, and even traded around, by the females for breeding only and seen as basically useless for the most part otherwise? Or a bear shifter whose initial attraction to a woman is because she smells like honey?

    You can tell I love Shelly's books and highly recommend them for anyone who wants something a lot different from the other bears.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The latest Mane urban romantic fantasy is a fabulous entry in a wonderful series

    Philadelphia street smart Gwen O'Neill is a hybrid shapeshifter of the lion-tiger combo. Suburban Lachlin "Lock" McRyrie is a calm purebred bear who is almost seven feet of muscle. These two are from opposite walks of life, but opposites attract at least in this case.

    Gwen rejects their obvious desire for one another as she prefers the single life and also acts as protector to her loved ones. Besides which being inner city, she feels the burb is not strong enough for her. However, Lock shows his inner strength when someone commits hate-crimes trying to hurt his loved one Gwen apparently for being a hybrid.

    The latest Mane urban romantic fantasy (see The Mane Event and The Mane Attraction) is a fabulous entry in a wonderful series. The story line is fast paced from the first meeting when the ferocious female basically growls at the gentle giant to get out of her heart and never slows down especially going over a mountain. Character driven by the lead couple and a nasty racist, fans will enjoy this fine tale while wondering whether the couple should buy Venetian blinds.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2015

    Highly recommended- will make you laugh

    Very enjoyable characters, great writing and wonderful series.
    You will wont to read all of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2015

    Yummy

    I loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2015

    318 pages

    Great entertainment . Easy to read and so funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    My favorite. Highly highly recommend

    The stories covers mostly what problems families can be to a possible relationship and how even friends will get into the mix. This is my favorite this series. The story is awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    in love

    love the entire series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    I love this series

    Although I didn't love this book as well as the earlier ones, it still made me laugh out loud and fan myself at the love scenes. There were too many new characters popping out of nowhere (although it got straightened out at the end). Loved to be introduced to the world of roller derby! The main characters were great (loved all the bear traits - honey and salmon, yeah!) Looking forward to reading the rest of the series - the characters make me giggle!!! (And pant)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    haha

    must read Shelly must read Shelly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Outstanding!

    I really enjoyed this. Great humor!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    SUPERB AND THOUGHT PROVOKING !!!!!A MUST READ !!!!!

    As with all of Shelly Laurenston books, your funny bone will be tickled . The characters are believable with individual quirks that will make you laugh out loud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    High Recommend

    Waiting on the next in the series. I can't read them fast enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Not my favorite pride story but it's good to catch up on the series

    Definitely not the best pride story but entertaining. If your bored read this. Better than watching a rerun on television.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 375 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19