Customer Reviews for

The Manhattan Hunt Club

Average Rating 4.5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2003

    Powerful, suspence, hard to put down.

    This book is very good, ignore the losers comments above. Albeit, the looser did make some interesting points, even if misleading. If one truly reads for enjoyment, and you like a suspense thriller, this is a must read. The plot is very interesting and refreshing given the traditional plots that exist. I especially like the style, the way John teases his readers by segmenting the book into easily definable scenes. You actually know when the shift occurs thanks to the ALL CAPS FIRST LINE. And just when a scene reaches it climax, and you are left saying and¿AUGGG ¿ he switches scenes. This is what makes the book absolutely impossible to put down. You are always left¿ just have to know what happening next in each of the scenes. At times there are 4-5 all going at once, it¿s like having nested books in a book. The fact that this story tells about an environment so true, people often don¿t think about it. The book also touches on an element of humanity and really gives you something to think of. What if suddenly you lost everything and the people you looked down in society were actually the ones you counted on and depended on to get your next meal, get you out danger, or saves your life. ¿ bottom line never take anything for granted. Read the book and judge for yourself. If you are offended at homosexuality, gross anatomy, strong language and twisted disturbed people in general, or have a weak stomach easily ¿ read with caution, some parts are very graphic. But that¿s and even bigger compliment to the author, for writing such a clear picture, regardless of the subject at hand.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    Love it

    Nail biting thriller. Not usually a John Saul fan but couldn't put this down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Awesome Novel

    Own every book that John Saul has written...this is my favorite! Have read it twice and couldn't put it down either time. Patiently waiting for for the next novel. Keep them coming John!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Wow

    I'm not usually a John Saul reader, but this one is a real nail-biter!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Haunting

    Read this years ago & still remember it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Keeps you on the edge of your seat

    Could not put this down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    great book

    Especially living in NYC and taking the subway to Grand Central..this is an amazing view of the society living beneath the streets

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One of my favorites!

    This is a fantastic book that will keep you at the edge of your seat and turning pages rapidly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great book by an underrated author

    John Saul doesn't get enough praise, in my opinion. He always delivers thrills and chills and this is no exception. The idea of the homeless, and how they form thier own society underground, was refreshing and fun as can be to read. It's a great book to read on a rainy day. Highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2008

    A reviewer

    I am never disappointed in anything I read by John Saul, and this one is another page turner. Wrongly convicted of a subway attack, Jeff is sentenced to a year at Riker's. But the transport vehicle taking him to the prison ends up getting in an accident, and Jeff, presumed dead, is secreted away to the underground tunnels of the city where a large homeless population lives mostly unnoticed or ignored by society. Here, he and another prisoner, become unwilling participants in a game of survival, where hunters with hi-powered rifles hunt down their prey. It they make it out of the tunnel system they get to live--but the creators of the game are not going to let that happen. Meanwhile Jeff's father, Keith, and Jeff's society girlfriend Heather are the only ones convinced that Jeff is still alive, and what's more they are going in to find him. If I have any criticisms of Saul's work, it is that his characters are rarely very multi-dimensional. They are either exceptionally saint-like 'Jeff, Heather' or overwhelmingly evil. 'Although Saul usually throws in a character that leads you astray.' Saul also seems to carry a bit of baggage when it comes to Catholics 'in this novel's case, Keith's wife, Mary' as obsessive and rigid. But I digress. He more than makes up for any character weaknesses with strong and inventive plot lines that move the story quickly and keep the reader in suspense to the very end. I'd recommend this book for a fast, entertaining read. One teeny problem--why on earth would Heather and Jeff name their child after her horrific father???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2007

    Suspense Mastery in its Truest Form

    In this work, John Saul helped recreate the meaning of 'gripping' and 'cannot tear my eyes away'. It's one of those books that you dream about once you FINALLY decide to put down from your nightly reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2006

    bone chillingly amazing.

    This book is my favorite read. In this book a man is convicted of a murder that he didnt commit. He is in a transport on his way to prison when the van is in a car accident. But this accident wasnt accidental he is abducted and is now prey to the mysterious hunters of the manhattan hunt club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2005

    Outstanding

    This book will draw you in if you give a chance to read this masterpiece. Outstanding characters, plot is set perfectly and the suspence is in every corner. It will keep you on your heels till the last page is read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2005

    hard to put down

    i loved it I thought it was a good book, a lot of it could be true, it kept me thinking,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2004

    It Never Left My Hands!!

    I'm a John Saul fanatic, and I've read just about every book he's ever written. When I recieved this one, I expected another of his thrillers with those superb twists, and I got just what I wanted. I LOVED it! I'm ecstatic he went out on a limb to write this book. I was very impressed. It was new material, nothing like his other novels. Great book. I'd recommend to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2004

    Different from his other books

    I found this book much different than a lot of his other books. Its much more realistic. I think thats what makes it so different. I don't know its hard to explain but, I actually enjoyed this book a lot. Definitely check it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2003

    Must Read

    At first I was confused as to where Saul was leading me. Then all of a sudden I was hooked. I couldn't put the book down. If I ever go down into the subway I will be looking around at everyone wondering could this really happen. Would make a great movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2003

    Great Read

    This was an excellent story. Really makes you wonder and appreciate the luxuries we have in life. I thought this was one of John Saul's best books. I was captivated thoughout the entire story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2003

    Manhattan...

    A very easy-to-follow novel, Manhattan Hunt Club is the best book I've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2003

    Very Good Read

    The story is enjoyable, the characters are vivid...and NO there is nothing wrong with this five-star rating system as some might want you to think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3