Customer Reviews for

Manhunt: The 12-Day Chase for Lincoln's Killer

Average Rating 4.5
( 278 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(179)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 280 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2008

    An Extraordinary Achievement

    Live every minute of Booth's excape in this remarkable tale that's written with all the urgency of a modern novel and all of the accuracy of the most researched event in American history. Even though you know the ending, you won't want to put this book down.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2010

    an interesting take on the historic assasnination

    This book was centered around the plan action and chase for Lincons killer, Jhon Willkes Booth. The author James L. Swanson gave actual accounts from the witnesses and people involved in assasinations.
    I thought the book was an interesting and some what easy read. There was not a time throughout the book where i did not understand what the authour was trying to say. I also thought that the book had a virtual cornicopia of information and quotes from eyewitnesses, I found this help full in understanding the story in genaral. But the book was a tad long for my taste 496 pages, with a few pictures but that is my only complaint. The way the book was written was sufficent enough for me to get through it and understand all the information being laid before me. the author did a good job of putting the information together in a way for the book to make sense and flow perfectly. i would recomend this book if you like historical events, and a small ammount of action. overall this book was definetly worth the read.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book is truly amazing. It's historical content is magnificent and the story is told in such a magnificent, exciting manner, which made it so that I could not put the book down!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    Great Book Even If You Are Not In To History!

    When I first started "Manhunt," I was a little skeptical. I didn't think I would like it. I had to make myself read the first couple of chapters. Seeing as my husband, father-in-law, and mother-in-law had read it, I was determined to finish it. Before I knew it, I didn't want to put it down. I learned so much about John Wilkes Boothe that I never knew. All we learned in school was that he shot President Lincoln at Ford's Theatre, and that was it. Swanson's writing was more like fiction. It was absolutely enthralling. I never imagined such harrowing details of the hours after President Lincoln was shot. It was something that I had never even thought about. The twelve day chase for Boothe kept me on the edge of my seat, and I was astonished by the ending. I would definitely recommed this book to everyone. We all need to know more about Presdent Lincoln's assassination and the chase for his killer. I promise that even if you are not the slightest bit interested in history, this book will intrigue you!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Read After Team of Rivals

    I think this is a great book. I read it after reading Team of Rivals. I would recommend that sequence to anyone, although this book was not intended as a sequel, so there is some overlap. This book explores in depth a short period of time that is often passed over, but provides insights into what would follow.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This book reads like a fictional action movie, but it really happened!

    I read this book right after "Team of Rivals" by Doris Kearns Goodwin. I am very interested in President Lincoln, but I didn't know much about the subject of his assassination until I read this book. The action begins on page one and is continuous to the last page. The character of John Wilkes Booth is larger than life. His dramatic flair extends beyond the stage and into real life drama. He interacts with fellow conspirators and innocent bystanders. Some of his fellow conspirators are as committed to the cause as he is, and others falter under the pressure to follow through with the devious plans. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book... I couldn't put it down. I have since purchased a copy as a gift and recommended it to several people.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    Fast-Paced and So Much Information!

    This book was fast-paced and was packed with so much information! I believe this should be required reading in all high schools. The author writes in a vivid style that brings this 146 year old history-making event to life. This really is a must read because, trust me, you didn't learn what's in this book in any class you took!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2008

    Gripping

    This book was an excellent read on the last moments in Lincoln's life and that of John Wilkes Booth. The detail was such that it felt as if I was right there when it all happpened.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2008

    History comes alive.

    This book is for anyone who has even a slight interest in history. Immaculately written this book is suspenseful and exciting through and through.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2008

    Couldn't put it down....

    Since I was in middle school, I was very interested in President Lincoln and the unfortunate details of his assasination. After hearing James Swanson interviewed about his book 'Manhunt', last year on the Michael Medved Show, my interest was re-invigorated. I have read, maybe 2 books in their entirety in my lifetime before this book. Now I can add a third to that list. Very detailed, and compelling! I could not put it down, but when I did, I couldn't wait to get through my workday to get back to it. Great book!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    Captivating

    This is a detailed journey of one of the most famous manhunts ever. I'm the type of person who will cheat and skip to the end of a book by the sixth chapter and then go back and continue the book. No point here, we know the outcome. Instead I found myself rereading chapters to absorb as much of the detail as possible. My neighbor is a history buff. I gave him a copy for his birthday.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Just for History Lovers

    From the moment i picked this novel up i couldn't put it down. I am a history lover and love novels that are based on events that happened in history. This novel makes it feel like you were following right behind Wilkes Booth as he went about killing the president and the chase for him afterward. But this book can also be enjoyed by someone who is not a history lover. The way it is written is brilliant and i would recommend this novel to anyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    Fascinating Account of Historical Events

    There's not much I can add to the well deserved praise heaped on this re-telling of the Lincoln assasination.
    I was suprised by how much I didn't know about the events of that night, and the chase that followed
    There's plenty of historical background and detail. I was impressed by the thrilling way the narrative unfolds.
    Recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Modern Civil War Era Epic

    I did not originally intend on reading this book. In fact, this was just given to me by one of my teachers. And while in one of those between book crises, I picked this book up.

    Upon reading this, I was just mesmerized. I mean, how an author can make an event that occured over 100 years ago and make the reader feel like that they were reading one of John Grisham's or Tom Clancy's or Richard Preston's thrillers. Actually, come to think of it, he pulled a Preston on us as he could have made the account as boring as many of the history textbooks and made one drool during the first sentence, but no. He made very plausible, sharp dialogue and actually took the reader from their seats and placed them right there with the "characters". I loved the book for that reason. I hope that he does another just as good or even better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An easy read that helps you understand what really happened, and what you never learned in school.

    This book was a page-turner, one that let the reader get a sense of what life was like during the period, and how the hatred between the North and South led John Wilkes Booth to think that he was actually doing the country a service by asassinating President Lincoln. It also clears up the issue of whether Dr. Samuel Mudd was aware of his patient's identity when he set his broken leg.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2014

    Great read!

    Great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Very well written!

    Even though Booth was one of the worst people in American history, his story of running from DC is exciting. This book makes you almost root for him, but we all know how it ends... Great book for US history lovers because it is loaded with first-hand accounts of what happened.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    Grabbed me in the begining, totally worth it.

    Im not one to read books about history, but this enjoyable read put me right in the thick of it. I have never been so interested on the topic until reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    I didn't mean to get pulled in!

    I had heard about this book about a month and a half ago. I quickly forgot about it and when shopping for Christmas presents yesterday, I realized it would be a great book for my brother. I took a seat in the bookstore, had a cup of coffee and thought I'd read the first couple of pages to kill the time...

    70 pages later I realized I needed to move along! I'm not one for non-fiction and not a "huge" Lincoln fan (by that, I mean I don't go out of my way to read any historical books on him), but the first couple of chapters of this book were incredible. I bought one for my brother and one for me....and can't wait to finish it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    Two Thumbs Up!

    What a great read on this event. If you are even the least bit interested in the Lincloln assasination then you'll need to get all the facts. This book is very comprehensive and will tell the entire story after the fatal shot. I was intrigued by the detail which I was unaware of during the capture. I'm sure you will enjoy the hours spent reading it and I'm sure it will not dissapoint.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 280 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14