BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Manhunt: The Ten-Year Search for Bin Laden from 9/11 to Abbottabad

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    Changed my perception of President Obama for the better.

    Although about 100 pages of this e-book are dedicated to photos and reference notations, the book itself was very informational and easy to read. I don't normally agree with President Obama on much, but this book shows him to be a dedicated fighter in the war on terrorism, and I'm totally onboard with that.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Interesting details...

    If you are already familiar with the hunt for bin laden from other readings, the main events described here will not be news to you. Where this book differentiates itself is in some of the details it provides of the events that took place behind the scenes among the main players. That alone made it a worthwhile read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Great book

    Great research. Great writing. Great detail.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Excellent read by a well-known expert in the field.

    Very insightful and thoughtful description of the house where Bin Laden was found, the conditions, and other nuances not often known or reported in the media.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Manhunt

    A nice summation of the hunt for UBL. Sometimes I felt like I was reading the CNN condensed version, but it is well researched and competently written, if not quite politically unbiased. Good backstory on bin Laden. People who have read "No Easy Day" will find this interesting, as the author of this book disputes "Mark Owen's" firsthand account of the raid on the compound.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Thank you Mr. Peter Bergen.....your writing is SUPERB ;yes it is

    Thank you Mr. Peter Bergen.....your writing is SUPERB ;yes it is in my humble opinion in 3 D.!!!!! Fab -EXCELLENT-I devour it; could not lay THE BOOK DOWN; I have follow you and the interview with Osama Bin Laden !!! You as always take my BREATH AWAY . I am also from Europa and I study in London !!!! Thank you again, Good LUCK the best to you & Family Francesca Fiore P S I have NOT seen the movie....I love to read ; the MEDIA should take NOTE ....Words CUT DEEPER THEN A SWORD .....Francesca

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    A Great Read! Very Informative!

    The book provided a great deal of detail and information without the sensationalism of the movie Zero Dark Thirty.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Highly recommend.

    Very good book. I'd recommend it to anyone wanting to know more about one of the most hated men in history and the hunt to bring him to justice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    To below

    Damn thats alot of talk but can u walk the talk? And if you do incounter terriorist do u think that they will let u go or capture them.No!!! They will blow your bains out. Im not supporting the terriorist they just dont lay down and give up. And their is no way your gandfather had a shot at hitler, it would be more like your gandfather got shot by hitlers guards. So you are making up a lie to sound like a badass.-Drake

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    Its stupid! How long they took to find him! Im soo mad...

    Haven't read the book yet... but i know how it went down... i was ten when they found him... i saw the whole thing on the news for like 5 weeks after he was shot and killed... but his little "gang" is still out there... they are probably still K-I-L-L-I-N-G, (for the little ones out there...), innocent people who don't deserve to die! Getting rid of one doesnt get rid of all the evilness that made up his "gang" for at least ten years! If they can read... NOTE THIS... BIN LADENS "GANG"... I shall hunt you down and make you pay... for K-I-L-L-I-N-G innocent people before, during, and after the attack of 9/11/01 tht was a horrible year... and if i EVER make it into the army... then you'd better plead for mercy... and even if you do... i might say... its not good enough... yoy killed a bunch of people... death, or prison for the rest of your lives? If you dont answer in 2 minutes... it wil be the first choice for you! How would you guys react to that? If you were a terriorist... what would you want? Life in prison, or DEATH? type in 9/11/2001 to give me your decisions... i just want to know what the mojority of you guys would say... and do you think a girl that has no experience with guns could get into the army to avenge her Great-Grandfathers death? From WWII? He saw Adolf Hitler... and he must've been scared... would yoy guys have been scared? Or would you have killed Hitler and end the war? Cause my great-grandpa had that choice... but he chose to let the war go on... if you hate him... (my great-grandpa) he only saw Hitler for 2 seconds... so he didnt have much time to pull out his EMPTgun, reload his EMPTY gun, abd shoot Hitler to end WWII... So dont blame my great-grandfather... OR ELSE!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2014

    Well Informed!! Great Read!!

    Peter L. Bergen Nailed It!! This book is very well written.He gives you all the facts and honest analysts that is needed to write this kind of book. I was hook by his well informed and thrilling real-life account of nonfiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    Informative

    I am half way through the book as I write this. I had been curious as to how they went about finding Bin Laden and this book does answer all of my questions. There were times when I felt that it got off track, but overall it was good. As I said in my first sentence, I am half way through the book . . . . now my durn Nook broke!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Wrvgybjme

    C

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book from start to finish.  It really kept

    I really enjoyed this book from start to finish.  It really kept me interested like I was reading a whodunit thriller in which I had to keep reminding myself that it was real life.  Very well researched.  I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Shed some light on the long search for the terrorist "king-pin."

    Enjoyed the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    excellent

    amazing precise surgical strike

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Excellent!

    This book was a tremendous depiction of the rise and fall of bin Laden. Very well researched The writers style andthrill for the narrative kept my nose in the book unti I was finished with it. I recommend this book to anyone that is remotelyinterrested in the rise and fall of bin Laden

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Excellent book

    this is an easy to read book that answers some of the questions about Bin laden & what went on. Bin laden was cornored at Tora Bora in December 2001. of course we all know that he slipped away into Pakistan. After reading this book & having the benefit of hind sight I can't help but to wonder what America would have done with him if they had caught him at Tora Bora. Put him on tiral? What if he had been killed, what would the international reaction had been? If he had been killed but no body found? then what?

    it all comes to full circle when the american soldiers raided his compound in May 2011. Lots of people have said: "Bin Laden's last sight was an American soldier pointing a gun at him." probably true, but I tend to think of his last thoughts; the same as the people who died on 09/11/2001. Nothing but questions left unanswered: (Bin laden) who are these people? How did they find me? What is happening? How did I get in this position? etc.

    Do you see what I mean, the satisfaction of knowing Bin laden's last moments were filled with the exact same questions the 9/11 victims had & will never be answered. That is JUSTICE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Compelling thriller! Compelling!




    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    An excellent, fascinating book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2