Customer Reviews for

Manic

Average Rating 4
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Manic

Memoirs are always an easier way to undertand mental illness. It gives you someone's reality as opposed to text book labels and diagnoses. This is both helpful for those who suffer from bipolar but would also be very helpful for family and friends.

posted by 2705857 on January 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Erratic

Being bipolar type 2, I couldn't relate to such extreme behavior. My thoughts and prayers are with the author though.

posted by KLA44 on August 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    As a psychologist I can honestly say that Manic could be a text

    As a psychologist I can honestly say that Manic could be a text book for understanding Bipolar.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A stunning look into the mind of the mentally ill - here, specif

    A stunning look into the mind of the mentally ill - here, specifically dealing with manic depression. I was grabbed from the first page. A really good book.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Manic

    Memoirs are always an easier way to undertand mental illness. It gives you someone's reality as opposed to text book labels and diagnoses. This is both helpful for those who suffer from bipolar but would also be very helpful for family and friends.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2009

    Fantastic

    Terri Cheney writes brilliantly and with frank detail. Her intimate struggle with Manic Depression is enlightening and moving. If you truly want to know what this disorder is like, just read Manic. I definitely recommend it, even if it is not always for the faint-of-heart. Great descriptions, wonderful style, and charming personality. I can't wait for more from this author.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    A must read for anyone struggling with Bipolar Disorder!

    Cheney writes with illuminating prose that is lucid and riviting. I reccommend this book for anyone with Bipolar disorder or people close to those with the illness. I was refreshed to finally find a book with which I could identify unlike any before.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Such A Great Find!

    While walking into Barnes and Noble three days ago, author Terri Cheney's book The Dark Side of Innocence caught my eye. After sitting in the store reading intently for two days, I finished that one and quickly found Manic. Again, I spent the last part of that day and the next day reading Manic just as intently.

    Manic, unlike Dark Side which is written chronologically, is written episodically. It jumps around to different years, different episodes of depression, hypermania, and manic. But it was very easy for me to follow along.

    Terri Cheney's book is so heartbreaking, eye opening, and all around enlightening to the mental illness of bipolar. Having a ten year old sister who was recently diagnosed with bipolar, I have been trying to learn everything I can so I can help her when she needs me most.

    I recommend this book to anyone who is interested in bipolar for education reason, but especially for anyone who is bipolar or knows someone intimately who has bipolar.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    very interesting.

    I initially read this for a school project. I didnt really know much about mnic depression but this book really kept me interested. i would recommend this book to anyone but be prepared for an impacting story. This is an eye opening book and a pretty fast read for anyone who wants to learn something new while also enjoying a good read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    An Excellent Story

    Terri Cheney is a beautiful writer who talks about Bipolar like it is. I myself have Bipolar and I could not describe it better myself. Cheney does a remarkable job showing the reader, not just telling. She also has a way of making certain situations funny. I especially liked the part where she talks about giving her secretary a standing order to make sure there is nothing that would remind her of death- like dead flowers. I would definitely recommend this compelling memoir! I couldn't put it down!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    Very accurate portrayal of bipolar disorder.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Erratic

    Being bipolar type 2, I couldn't relate to such extreme behavior. My thoughts and prayers are with the author though.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Excellent

    Will help you understand more about bi polar and how your brain functions when you suffer from being bipolar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Manic

    An inside look into the life of some one who is manic depressive. A must read for patients, family, & friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    Ms

    Wow! How difficult it must be to have this problem!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2014

    Fab Book, eloquently written. Having studied the diagnostic cri

    Fab Book, eloquently written. Having studied the diagnostic criteria for bipolar disorder and written countless behavior support programs in attempts to assist folks, I still did not understand what it is like to walk in one's shoes. This book whisked me into the mind and world of a person who suffers with this condition. I now have a much deeper empathy and understanding. I highly recommend this book for anyone who works in the mental health field, has a friend or family member with bi-polar disorder, or for someone simply wanting a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    Heart warming and informative

    As an attorney who also has bi polar I could totally relate to this book. Impeccably written and styled it made me both cry and laugh and realize there is hope and i am not alone. Highly recommended to anyone who wants the down low on this horrible disease from the perspective of its sufferers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Helpful and insightful

    I loved this book even though emotionally it was difficult to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    i loved this book! There were parts where I died laughing! She w

    i loved this book! There were parts where I died laughing! She was so honest. I had a mother who was bipolar, so I get the whole mental illness thing from a family perspective. It helped me gain some insight into my mother also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Best book ever written about bipolars to date!

    This book is not for the week of heart. It is for bipolars that really need to understand that they are not alone out there and family members that are brave enough to step into the heads of their loved ones and briefly experience the disease of bipolar. Ms. Chenney is very descriptive and bluntly honest about the highs and lows, the thought processes behind the actions and the horrible isolation a bipolar suffers. If anyone think bipolar is simply an discipline issue...I challenge them to read this book. Being highly educated, a successful attorney, and a formitable author, Ms. Chenney takes the reader on a literary roller coaster ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2013

    Really well written.

    Really well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Waste of money

    Hard to read very fragmented unenjoyable i want my money back

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6