Customer Reviews for

Manic: A Memoir

Average Rating 4
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Manic

Memoirs are always an easier way to undertand mental illness. It gives you someone's reality as opposed to text book labels and diagnoses. This is both helpful for those who suffer from bipolar but would also be very helpful for family and friends.

posted by 2705857 on January 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Erratic

Being bipolar type 2, I couldn't relate to such extreme behavior. My thoughts and prayers are with the author though.

posted by KLA44 on August 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Manic

    Memoirs are always an easier way to undertand mental illness. It gives you someone's reality as opposed to text book labels and diagnoses. This is both helpful for those who suffer from bipolar but would also be very helpful for family and friends.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    very interesting.

    I initially read this for a school project. I didnt really know much about mnic depression but this book really kept me interested. i would recommend this book to anyone but be prepared for an impacting story. This is an eye opening book and a pretty fast read for anyone who wants to learn something new while also enjoying a good read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    Ms

    Wow! How difficult it must be to have this problem!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Very enlightening look into the world of a Bipolar

    This book will be especially insightful to those suffering with or acquainted with someone suffering with, bipolar disorder. Written in a diary like fashion you get to really understand the complexities of the misfiring brain as the author struggles with the chemical imbalance that keeps her life in constant upheaval. Bravo to Ms. Ceney for having the guts to put it all out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting book

    A well written memoir of a extreme case of mania. Bi-polar has a vast spectrum of levels, regarding depression and mania. I felt this was an extreme case and perhaps was a bit embellished on the part of the author. Being bi-polar myself, I know how it is to be manic. I have never had a lot of the extremes of this author, so perhaps it is true, perhaps not. Irregardless, it was an interesting and informative read for those who want to understand what it is like to live with this disorder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Grasping the darkness

    Right away when I saw the title I knew what the book was about. Author Terri Cheney describes her struggle with manic depression.
    She initially is severely depressed but swings to full blown mania. She tries to cope but eventually seeks professional help. Her journey is graphic.
    I would NOT suggest people who are bi-polar read this book. there are too many triggers! am b-polar & was hesitant to read this book. I would suggest family & friends of someone with BP read this book to get a glimpse of this terrible disease.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Very good

    A very good account of a life taken over by mental illness and then found and taken back by stability.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Whoa!

    This book was a roller coaster ride from start to finish. It's one thing to read about bi-polar disorder, but to learn about it from someone living with the "disease" is quite another. I was absorbed by this book and Terri's stories. She really helped me to understand what coping with bi-polar disorder is like, and I HIGHLY SUGGEST that anyone who has a friend, family-member, etc. that is bi-polar READ THIS IMMEDIATELY! Education is enlightenment, after all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    This book gives the reader a glimpse into the manic mind

    It helps you to understand some of the thought processes that lead to problems for the manic person and those around them. Very informative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    Very insightful

    This extremely honest memoir provides an inside look to those suffering with bi-polar disorder. It is very informational as well as a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Fascinating Read

    In MANIC, Terry Cheney grips readers by the elbow and drags them along on her wild, desperate journey. The book opens with a trip to Santa Fe where she's set on killing herself, set on jumping off the roller coaster of depression and mania. It's Christmas Eve, the first Christmas since her father's death. Her planned suicide is thwarted by a rape, of which she pieces together in disturbing broad strokes the morning after. From this opening scene, she's got the reader hooked.

    In part, what makes this a fascinating read is that Cheney is well-educated (Vassar); she's a successful attorney in Southern California and she knows the stigma of mental illness in the firm can greatly damage one's career. The book shows with brutal honesty that bi-polar disorder is non-discriminating, think of it like diabetes, one may be predisposed or simply find they've been given a "bad" hand. It paved the path, in Cheney's case, from successful lawyer to Federal disability.

    Each chapter finishes with an epiphany (sometimes too tidy) which gives the reader a hope (often false hope). Cheney, in places, writes with detachment--as though keeping some distance from the subject she's writing about is needed to keep from truly reliving it.

    Much of her behavior is so familiar that one, whether suffering from bi-polar, alcoholism, or an eating disorder, will truly relate to. For instance, she talks about when she's in a hypomanic stage on her way to mania, she will hide behind unanswered phones and declined invitations. She was unwilling to be seen, in one case by Alex, her boyfriend, as anything other than "perfect." Sadly, who among us can't understand that fear that if we're seen for who we truly are, then others will look for the quickest exit?

    Cheney describes her electroshock shock therapy experience with such detachment that it feels like she's reading off a list. A beating in jail will have the reader wincing and yet unable to look away.

    I applaud Terry Cheney for her honest portrayal of her struggles and triumphs in learning to accept and live with bi-polar.

    Marie Etienne
    CONFESSIONS OF A BI-POLAR MARDI GRAS QUEEN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    quick read...

    the time sequences of this book are jumbled up, so you have to KEEP UP!!<BR/>I love reading a MEMOIR.....this one is sad, but most likely a real description of her life as she remembers it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2008

    Terri Cheney's profound, shocking and insightful tale

    Manic takes its readers on a journey through the treacherous bouts of mania and the bleak depths of depression. Terri Cheney is a prime example of how mental illness and tragedy can afflict even the brightest, most educated, wealthy and above all pristine looking individuals. As a powerful and respected entertainment lawyer, she represented high profile clients and mingled with A-list celebrities, all while keeping up the illusion of normalcy. For most people, there is no such thing as too much happiness. However, for Cheney, surges of happiness tend to foreshadow danger because they signify a descent into mania. The manic episodes become charged by bursts of unlimited energy which spurn sexual impropriety and complete lack of self control. Her portrayal of her experience with depression reveals her vulnerability and loneliness, leading to a number of suicide attempts, both spontaneous and planned. There is no chronological order to the book, as Cheney explains, because ¿life for me is not defined by time, but by mood¿. While this disjointed style takes some getting used to, it is also effective in mirroring the chaotic nature of manic depression, just as Cheney had wanted. Cheney¿s writing style is personal and inviting, as though she is recounting her tragic tales to a close friend. Many events in her life are quite shocking and the vivid descriptions of her suffering are sometimes hard to digest. Nonetheless, these stories are an important part of her past and a reality of those who must cope with manic depression. They remind us of how fragile human beings can be and that appearances are not always as they seem. Cheney¿s pain is clearly manifested throughout the novel but the humor intertwined in her narration shows a sense of acceptance and maturity. Her ability to look back upon the most excruciating years in her life with insight and understanding is remarkable. Terri Cheney should be applauded for her courage to open up to the world about her struggle with bipolar disorder. I know I am grateful to her for letting me in.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2008

    Great point of view!

    I love this book! I work in Mental Health and this book is a great way for anyone who knows someone who is manic to better understand them. The way she write this book, how it does jump around a little. You could not get a look inside this life. Worth evey penny and then some!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2008

    Easy read and I enjoyed it

    I liked this book.It made me laugh and cry.I could relate because I know a few people that have this disease and they have similar stories. Thanks for writing your story Terri.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2008

    An Honest/Raw Acct. of Living With Manic Depression

    I really enjoyed this book. I personally found the writer's experiences were almost identical to some of the things that I've experienced as well. She gives a very HONEST account of her life. If you want a candy coated version of manic depression then you aren't going to enjoy this book. The writer also manages to add a bit of humor into some very dark times. I laughed so hard that I woke everyone in the house up when she spoke of 'Jesus'. The only thing that was on the verge of turning me off on this book was all the talk her wealth, nice cars, vacations, etc. For me it was mentioned one too many times. Otherwise I really enjoyed it and was glad that somebody took the time to sit down and dissect their life for others going thru the same thing to see that they aren't so alone. A very easy read.. read it in three nights.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2008

    Wow

    Found this book to be compelling and yet very hard to read as a person who suffers from bi-polar. Saw myself some many times, and not always favorably. I found myself not wanting it to end. It so validated what I have felt...which is helpful yet frigtening. Would recommend to anyone who is bi-polar and feeling strong at the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    insightful personal account

    Although difficult to read partly because of the topic and partly because Terri Cheney bounces her anecdotal memoir all over the place in a manner similar to how Bi-polar disorder works, MANIC is an insightful personal account of brain chemical imbalance disease. Ms. Cheney describes in vivid detail those times when she thought the big crunch was closing ion on her as depression seemed euphoric in comparisons she also in somewhat muted tones comparatively speaking those moments when the euphoria is higher than any man made drug can provide. Readers will get inside the author¿s head as she leaps poles exuberance risk seeking to paralysis in which the bathroom seems to far from her bedroom ¿cave¿. However, it is the memories that devastate the MANIAC as she knows every foolish step she has taken whenever she leaves either extreme state her extremes also drive away frustrated friends and lovers who wonder which Terri they will accompany. This is a terrific memoir by a gutsy author, but not easy to read due to the bouncing anecdotes that takes its toll on the audience expecting a more linear life history. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2