BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Manifold: Space (Manifold Series #2)

Average Rating 3.5
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    Space is one of my favorite science fiction novels and led me to

    Space is one of my favorite science fiction novels and led me to explore the other books in Baxter's Manifold series. The books are individual stories and they can be read in any order though i feel Space has the edge over the others. While Time is an equally epic story, i found the enormous distances covered in Space easier to comprehend than the vast eons outlined in Time.

    Baxter's characters, both human and robotic, are engaging. His story telling is compelling. On top of this Baxter has the ability to describe the complexities of science in a way that makes it both comprehensible and fascinating. 5 stars.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2003

    mind blowing ending!

    This story is one of the most vivid books I have read this year. It takes sci-fi to a whole new level, with Baxter's great imagination and writing skills.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2000

    MANIFOLD: TIME

    The end of the world, or, merely, the end of life as we know it, has been one of man's greatest fears. Author Stephen Baxter's MANIFOLD: TIME does not exploit nor hide behind such dire threats. Rather, Baxter uses this most human concern as a catalyst for his action-based novel, demonstrating that man's survival instinct is so great that it bears the potential to transcend time. Told in the near-distant future and centering around a diverse group of characters (the rogue space hero; the independent, yet dutiful ex-wife; the politician with a conscience; the seemingly mad mathematician; the genius child; and the brain-enhanced squid), MANIFOLD: TIME is a story spanning so many levels, you'll be thinking about it long after you've turned the last page!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2000

    WHAT AN ENDING!

    Stephen Baxter's intriguing book provides a new view to predicting Earth's end. His style of writing, although a bit slow at times, allows the characters to develop to bring the story to its irreversible end, and what an ending it is. I am impressed by Baxter's creativity. For an author with such an extensive technical background he goes beyond that call to incorporate simplicity to the scientific material and to explore the depth and interaction of his characters leading to earth's outcome without being humdrum! A most enjoyable book, well written and would recommend it to all sci-fi buffs who really want food for thought. Ceridwen 'C.J.' Johnson Toronto, Canada

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2014

    Very Imaginative

    In the beginning, this book was a bit confusing, but grew on me as I read on. After I read it the second time, things were much clearer to me. It is a very imaginative approach to answering the questions, "Are we alone in our Universe? How can it be that we have not seen signs of other intelligent beings beyond earth?" Stephen Baxter's treatment of this subject is on the dark side, but extremely well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Slow start but then....Wham!!!

    I am an lover of what feels like a dying art...well written and thought-out hard science fiction.

    I loved this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not the best of the series but a good read

    Enjoyed the other Manifold books immensely. Origin was good, but not the best. I enjoyed the other two better, but this is worth a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    What happens to the squid?!

    Right up until the end, I felt like I'd read this story before (A.C. Clarke, Rbt Heinlen), but then Baxter walloped me with the plot twist. I will probably read the rest of the series but mostly it's to find out what happens to the squid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2002

    Great book.

    This series is definitely worth reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2002

    Good Book, Great Ideas, Okay writing.

    'Manifold: Time' exposes its audience to an abundance of popular neo-science ideas such as space&time travel, genetics, and black holes. The story is original in it's exploration of these ideas but the plot has some similarities to Sir Clark's '...2001' saga that took away from my enjoyment of reading the book. Mr. Baxter is a mathematician and scientist first; his ideas are exciting, clear and manages to be very convincing for a fiction novel. However, Mr. Baxter as a writer is not a captivating storyteller and his book suffers from it. In between the fast paced, fun bits are a few slow moving trivial sub plots (that go NOWHERE). I'm also very concerned by the way 'Manifold: Time' concludes and what the other two Manifold books promise; The questions keep coming, without much answers. Overall; Recommended only to those who enjoy neo-science and expect to good spend time learning a few new things. 'Manifold: Time' is a good book that should be better, however Mr. Baxter still has two more Manifolds to get it perfect!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fascinating complex science fiction

    Reid Malenfant has wanted to be an astronaut since he was a little boy. When NASA accepted him into the space program as a pilot, he was ecstatic. He flew a few missions and was a great spokesperson for the agency until he was scrubbed from his latest assignment. <P>While flying with his wife Emma over Africa in a T-38, he saw a new red moon appear in the sky. Emma and Reid eject from the plane but while he floats back to Earth, Emma floats through a blue wheel that suddenly appears and lands her on the new moon. Not expecting help to arrive anytime soon Emma does her best to survive, learning many shocking facts about the human race along the way. Reid, in the meantime, mounts a public outcry to allow him to visit the red moon and get his wife back. <P> This final installment in the Manifold series is a fascinating tale that delves into multiple dimensions, the evolution of mankind and the true reality of the Red Moon. The emphasis in this science fiction novel is the science and Stephen Baxter does a fabulous job of keeping this work realistic within the framework of modern technologies and astrophysics. <P>Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2000

    A romp through space and time

    Manifold:Time is a well paced, well thought out adventure through some of the more esoteric conceptions found in the outskirts of modern physics. The characters, and in particular the main character, who is a entrepeneur in the best sense of the word, for such an idea driven plot, are well developed. The author extrapolates a near term future in which NASA is a strangled bureacracy and the world is beginning to collapse, and without space based material, the world will not be able to continue to expand. Then an artifact is discovered, and perceptions about the world change. In order not to give too much of the plot away, I won't mention each of the different technical devices used, but I particularly like the concept of (I think it was called) Feynman transfer, where messages from the future might be beamed to the present, if only we were able to detect them. I found less persuasive the use of, essentially, Bayesian statistics with relation to extrapolations of population growth and human survival, since such ad hoc assumptions are approximately as accurate as the 7 day outlook on the weather for the seventh day. As a final point, I liked the symetry, similiar to that found in 'The weapon shops of Isher', where events set in motion in the present can affect other parts of time and space, perhaps even in creative and wonderful ways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2000

    Earns the accolade of 'the next Clarke.'

    While the main character, Reid Malenfant, seems at time to be nothing more than a foil for other characters, the plot and ideas more than make up for this slight detraction. A facinating look that combines various ideas from as far back as twenty years ago. Very reminisicent of '2001' in its sense of wonder. But since it is a substantially larger book, the ideas are bigger and more numerous. Baxter's predictions of the future are disquieting because of how logical he has extrapolated his ideas. A near flawless science fiction novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6