Customer Reviews for

Man's Search for Meaning: An Introduction to Logotherapy

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2002

    Extremely Relevant

    This book about the author's discovery during the holocaust of not only the need of man to search for meaning but rather his obligation to do so, naturally remains relevant today and will continue to in the future. However, it is especially relevant in examinging the displacement of individuals in modern times and how man's subjection over the past century to mass movements that have more or less failed has doomed him to a state in which he believes in nothing. A culture of apathy has developed, and Frankl shows why that is morally reprehensible. If the suffering of the holocaust is not an excuse to give up on searching for life's meaning, then disenchatment ceratinly isn't.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2001

    One Helpful Book

    I found this book to be very helpful and interesting in a time of great need. If there is anyone out there looking for a meaning to their life...this is definitely the book for them!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    This IS the book.

    This is the book that I will continue to re-read/listen to for the rest of my life. It provides meaning to every environment - psychological, professional, social, political.
    This is a book you can fall asleep to, a book you can wake to, a book you can use to take a break from what you're doing, and return to.
    Incredible writing. Incredible insight. Incredible read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2000

    THE BEST BOOK ON THE HUMAN SOUL EVER

    In the history of the human spirit, no book has ever accomplished what Man's Search for Meaning has. This book is a true treasure. Any 'good' person should be required to read this book. If you read one book in your lifetime, make it this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2000

    Survival is emotional not physical

    In Man's Search for Meaning, Viktor Frankl uses important personal issues through a detachted voice to relay the mood of the Holocaust. The only strength important to survival is emotional not physical. Frankl shows through several instances that the will to survive is stronger. It is finding that will, that reason to survive, that saved lives and caused them to go on and not give up. This is a new aspect of the Holocaust, which doesn't focus on the pain and suffering but more of the hope that allows one to go on in these situations and never stop trying. Even in trying to survive, he shows that the group will suffer to spare one person and friends can be the difference between life and death. Although this is a very emotional issue, Frankl uses a calm, detached voice to describe these events, making them appear less horrifying than they were. This can be sad for some who wish to believe that one can never get used to these cruel acts, but the truth revealed by Frankl is that one has to forget about it and get used to it in order t survive themselves. It's sad and despressing but in the end, one can only think about what in one's own life can make them continue and be their own meaning to life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great book!

    This is an amazing book! based on his experiences as a concentration camp inmate, Viktor Frankl describes his psychotherapeutic method (called Logotherapy) of discovering a motive for living. Frankl will take you through the three stages of concentration camp imprisonment: Shock, Apathy, and depersonalization. Indeed an unforgetable journey. I highly recommend it. Angela...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2008

    More Powerful Than Ever

    Frankl very deftly draws you into the personal experience of the enormous difficulty and stress of Auschwitz, and the very powerful truths he found there - and which helped to him to survive. Do you know the one freedom that cannot be taken from you? This should be required reading for every American.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2005

    Have a Highlighter Handy

    For a long time, I'd heard about this book and seen it quoted by other authors. I finally realized that if so many great writers and speakers were familiar with it, I should be too. It is definitely a must read. It is in my personal top 10 list of all time. Frankl's revelations and wisdom from his horrifying experience will intrigue and amaze you. This book will be underlined, highlighted, and dog-earred. I promise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2005

    personal and intuitive

    For all of us who have 'enough to live by but nothing to live for;...the means but no meaning.' This book gives clear reason to why we all miss the mark when we seek the meaning of our idividual journeys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2004

    Both touching and helpful!

    This book was touching to the point that it was painful to read at times. Yet, the overall message of this book is wonderfully exhilarating. Whatever meaning you find in your life is your life. If that meaning gives you hope, you will have hope. If that meaning gives you despair, you will find despair. This is a fantastic piece of existential work! The whole idea in this book reminds me a bit of the concept of the self-system in Toru Sato's genuis book 'The Ever-Transcending Spirit'. Now 'The Ever-Transcending Spirit' is a much newer book but it is another truly excellent book that takes these things one step further by integrating these ideas with the psychology of relationships as well as transpersonal experiences. I recommend this Frankl and Sato's book very very much! They are both outstanding!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2003

    A book no one should be without.

    Viktor Frankl demonstrates that the void which we all try to fill with the things of this world is a vacuum that can only be filled with a transcendent, ultimate meaning. The only way he discovered this himself is having suffered brutally in a concentration camp. If you have any doubts, read pg. 131 and see if life doesn't provide second chances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2003

    Wow that's al I can say

    When reading this book you can not but wonder at times why you are. The horror that was experienced was terrible however, I felt compelled to see what kept him going. Viktor Frankl say's that you can choose your response to any given situation. I get to agree. Funny isn't it that's what Steven Covey says when he talks about the circle of influence and about being Pro-active. How many of us are though? WOW THAT IS ALL CAN SAY! I love this book, will gift it to many friends. Definatly food for thought. Easy read too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2002

    Warning: This book could change your life.

    Some books entertain and some inform, this one can really make a difference in your life. Definetely a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2002

    How man search for meaning changed my life

    I really enjoyed reading this book because I learned a lot from it because in this day in time people don't look at that situation tha is why I encourage everybody to read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2002

    This book can help

    When my husband's office was attacked and destroyed with many of his beloved and talented employees on September 11th, we had to wonder what is the meaning of this. This book was given to him by his therapist as a first step in the healing process. This book has brought us a little bit of peace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2000

    Overoptimistic but interesting perspective

    While it's interesting to read of the psychology of people in the German death camps, Frankl's 'will to meaning' is not backed nearly enough, and falls short of the master, Freud, and even of Adler and Fromm.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2