Customer Reviews for

Mansfield Park: (Classics hardcover)

Average Rating 4
( 196 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

A 16-year-old bookworm

Ever since I read Pride and Prejudice, I've been completely hooked on to Jane Austen! This is the second novel of hers I read, and I have to say, I liked it even more than Pride and Prejudice (which was awesome!). Fanny's sweet character and manners touched me, and to m...
Ever since I read Pride and Prejudice, I've been completely hooked on to Jane Austen! This is the second novel of hers I read, and I have to say, I liked it even more than Pride and Prejudice (which was awesome!). Fanny's sweet character and manners touched me, and to meet all of the characters and travel along with them in time is a very touching experience, which makes you miss them when you've finished the book, as if you'd let go of old friends. I recommend this book to anyone who likes Jane Austen, or who wants a comfy read.

posted by Anonymous on February 26, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

All mixed up

Do not download. The pages were all mixed up and in the wrong order.

posted by 4344995 on April 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good story except for one thing

    I really enjoyed reading this book. The characters and plot were well developed. I loved Fanny and Edmund. I wanted them to find true happiness so badly. My only issue is that I didn't want them to end up together because they were 1st cousins. I suppose it was more socially acceptable back then. Fanny was starting to have some admiration of Mr. Crawford, and things were looking hopeful for Edmund and Mary Crawford. It could have all turned out so well, but it just wasn't meant to be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    2 separate volumes

    The free Mansfield Park books are actually in 2 separate volumes. Check the tiny print on the covers. There ARE a lot of typos because it was transcribed electronically, but you get used to it. This is not my favorite Austen book, but it's still Austen!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    Awesome

    The plot was kinda hard to get into, but after a while, i really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2006

    Great Lit!!!!

    This book was soo amazing. i've been hooked on jane austen since Emma. I couldn't put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2003

    A must read

    If you are an Austen fan- this is a MUST read! This book is very overlooked among Austen's novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2002

    What happened to the ending??

    I found this book really great and it was interesting to have such a reserved and quiet heroine after the vivacious Elizabeth Bennet in Pride and Prejudice. Fanny, however, was a bit of a drip at times, and I found the ending terribly rushed - what should have been quite a few chapters was squeezed into a couple of pages. The rest of the book was fabulous, though. I really felt drawn into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2001

    Austen: The Gifted Psychologist

    One of Jane Austen's main strengths as a writer is her ability to portray her characters honestly, and I think she achieves her peak in this with Fanny Price. Austen furnishes Fanny with all the traits that would be attendant in a girl of Fanny's temperament and in her situation. This accuracy is surprising and pleasing. The one area where I feel the book lacks strength is in the relative underdevelopment of some of the key supporting characters, most notably the members of the Bertram family (including Edmund). Austen does relate enough of the Bertram family to enable us to understand their personalities, but I found that the limited amount of attention given to them in comparison with Fanny and the Crawfords left the book with somewhat of an unbalanced feel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2000

    A Lovely Book

    I loved it! I can't believe those people said Fanny had no personality! I found her interesting and truly lovable. The ending was a little rushed though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2000

    A beautiful book, and one that few appreciate.

    I know it has been said that it's impossible to like the heroine of Mansfield Park. People say she's a disappointment. I would like to know what in the world these people are thinking. How can you call purity, innocence, and modesty a disappointment? How can you scorn the beautiful sweetness of Fanny Price? How can she not become dearer and dearer with every word? I suppose only those who can appreciate true goodness can appreciate Fanny. The plot wasn't quite worthy of her. I wanted a whole new book of the last few pages; but I won't spoil the ending. Read it, and try to understand!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3