Customer Reviews for

Manuscript Found in Accra

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

A wise man sits in a square taking questions about life on the e

A wise man sits in a square taking questions about life on the eve of his town's massacre by an invading army. His wisdom, delivered in simple yet profound sentences, can alter the course of your life. A must-read for anyone interested in living a courageous, loving, me...
A wise man sits in a square taking questions about life on the eve of his town's massacre by an invading army. His wisdom, delivered in simple yet profound sentences, can alter the course of your life. A must-read for anyone interested in living a courageous, loving, meaningful life. My favorite quotes:

23. Defeat ends when we launch into another battle. Failure has no end; it is a lifetime choice.

30. The act of discovering who we are will force us to accept that we can go further than we think.

31. .. saying no does not always show a lack of generosity, and that saying yes is not always a virtue.

40. Ask a flower in the field: "Do you feel useful? After all you do nothing but produce the same flowers over and over." And the flower will answer: "I am beautiful, and beauty is my reason fro living." Ask the river: "Do you feel useful, given that all you do is keep flowing in the same direction?" And the river will answer: "I'm not trying to be useful; I'm trying to be a river." Nothing in this world is useless in the eyes of God.

41. Don't try to be useful. Try to be yourself; that is enough, and that makes all the difference. 

42. Do one thing: Live the life you always wanted to live. Avoid criticizing others and concentrate on fulfilling your dreams.

48. Dreaming carries no risks. The dangerous thing is trying to transform your dreams into reality.

53. "Difficulty" is the name of an ancient tool that was created purely to help us define who we are.

54. And to those who believe that adventures are dangerous, I say, try routine; that kills you far more quickly.

68. Because Enthusiasm is the Sacred Fire.

135. And may this lead us to behave impeccably, making use of the four cardinal virtues: boldness, elegance, love, and friendship.

146. Excessive caution destroys the soul and the heart, because living is an act of courage, and an act of courage is always an act of love."

151. Our soul is governed by four invisible forces: love, death, power, and time.

153. Therefore, what the future holds for you depends entirely on your capacity for love.

153. The greatest gift God gave us is the power to make decisions.

154. And precisely when everything seems to be going well and your dream is almost within your grasp, that is when you must be more alert than ever. Because when your dream is almost within your grasp, you will be assailed by terrible GUILT.

169: The wounded person should ask himself: "Is it worth filling my heart with hatred and dragging the weight of it around with me?"

177. On loyalty: And beware of the pain you can cause yourself by allowing a vile and cowardly heart to be part of your world. ONce the evil has been done, there is no point in blaming anyone: the owner of the house was the one who opened the door.

178. The most important of wars is not waged with a lofty spirit or a soul accepting of its fate. It is the war that is going on now, as we speak, and whose battlefield is the Spirit, where Good and Evil, Courage and Cowardice, Love and Fear face one another.

Surprisingly, I loved this book as much as I loved THE ALCHEMIST.

Brendon Burchard - #1 New York Times bestselling author of THE CHARGE and THE MILLIONAIRE MESSENGER.

posted by The_Real_Brendon_Burchard on April 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I gave this book 3 stars because the life lessons are suitable f

I gave this book 3 stars because the life lessons are suitable for 15-19 year olds, perhaps young adults but it is too juvenile for adults.

posted by ebooks18 on April 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    A wise man sits in a square taking questions about life on the e

    A wise man sits in a square taking questions about life on the eve of his town's massacre by an invading army. His wisdom, delivered in simple yet profound sentences, can alter the course of your life. A must-read for anyone interested in living a courageous, loving, meaningful life. My favorite quotes:

    23. Defeat ends when we launch into another battle. Failure has no end; it is a lifetime choice.

    30. The act of discovering who we are will force us to accept that we can go further than we think.

    31. .. saying no does not always show a lack of generosity, and that saying yes is not always a virtue.

    40. Ask a flower in the field: "Do you feel useful? After all you do nothing but produce the same flowers over and over." And the flower will answer: "I am beautiful, and beauty is my reason fro living." Ask the river: "Do you feel useful, given that all you do is keep flowing in the same direction?" And the river will answer: "I'm not trying to be useful; I'm trying to be a river." Nothing in this world is useless in the eyes of God.

    41. Don't try to be useful. Try to be yourself; that is enough, and that makes all the difference. 

    42. Do one thing: Live the life you always wanted to live. Avoid criticizing others and concentrate on fulfilling your dreams.

    48. Dreaming carries no risks. The dangerous thing is trying to transform your dreams into reality.

    53. "Difficulty" is the name of an ancient tool that was created purely to help us define who we are.

    54. And to those who believe that adventures are dangerous, I say, try routine; that kills you far more quickly.

    68. Because Enthusiasm is the Sacred Fire.

    135. And may this lead us to behave impeccably, making use of the four cardinal virtues: boldness, elegance, love, and friendship.

    146. Excessive caution destroys the soul and the heart, because living is an act of courage, and an act of courage is always an act of love."

    151. Our soul is governed by four invisible forces: love, death, power, and time.

    153. Therefore, what the future holds for you depends entirely on your capacity for love.

    153. The greatest gift God gave us is the power to make decisions.

    154. And precisely when everything seems to be going well and your dream is almost within your grasp, that is when you must be more alert than ever. Because when your dream is almost within your grasp, you will be assailed by terrible GUILT.

    169: The wounded person should ask himself: "Is it worth filling my heart with hatred and dragging the weight of it around with me?"

    177. On loyalty: And beware of the pain you can cause yourself by allowing a vile and cowardly heart to be part of your world. ONce the evil has been done, there is no point in blaming anyone: the owner of the house was the one who opened the door.

    178. The most important of wars is not waged with a lofty spirit or a soul accepting of its fate. It is the war that is going on now, as we speak, and whose battlefield is the Spirit, where Good and Evil, Courage and Cowardice, Love and Fear face one another.

    Surprisingly, I loved this book as much as I loved THE ALCHEMIST.

    Brendon Burchard - #1 New York Times bestselling author of THE CHARGE and THE MILLIONAIRE MESSENGER.

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    Just perfect! Paulo Coelho is one of my favorite authors. He al

    Just perfect!

    Paulo Coelho is one of my favorite authors. He always writes such amazing books! And the best thing is that all his books are short, but at the same time intense and beautiful. I’ve always thought that he is simple but profound, and his histories make you rethink your whole world. I remember reading The Alchemist when I was 16… in a very specific way, it just changed me. And because of that, I wanted to read “Manuscript found in Accra” as soon as I got the chance. It is just… great. As other Coelho’s books, it takes you to another world and the story just surrounds you. You can’t stop reading and you see yourself immersed in a charming but deep history. “Manuscript found in Accra” just goes back to the beginning. I really appreciated that while I was reading, and I felt again that magic, like when I read “The Alchemist”. That magic is exactly what makes books great. And this new book makes you think about some of the most basic things of your life and your world. It is original but structured, easy to read and inspiring. Just perfect… as always.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    "Magnificent" Paulo Coelho always surprises me! When

    "Magnificent"

    Paulo Coelho always surprises me! When I thought everything was done, he comes up with a new idea and releases this incredible new book.
    Structured through questions, the book is magnificent.
    As other Coelho’s books, it takes you to another world and the story surrounds you in a beautiful way.
    You can’t stop reading and you see yourself immersed in a charming but deep history. I couldn’t stop reading!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    There is always a book, or an author, that changes your life. Ev

    There is always a book, or an author, that changes your life. Even though sometimes it might be just a little bit, it just changes you.
     That happened to me a long time ago with The Alchemist, and since then, I’ve been a huge fan of Paulo Coelho’s books. I have been
    expected his new book for a long time, and I have to say that it didn’t disappointed me. “Manuscript found in Accra” is brilliant,
    because it exposes in a simple but yet deep way some of the most interesting questions ever. Indeed, the book is structured
     through questions, and that makes it simple but great. It is so basic, but so profound at the same time, that I think that I will
    read it again! As usual, Paulo Coelho writes (with majesty) about some of the most important values, such as love, change or faith.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Book Review - Manuscript Found in Accra by Paulo Coelho Manuscri

    Book Review - Manuscript Found in Accra by Paulo Coelho
    Manuscript Found in Accra 
    Paulo Coelho 
    Hardcover 
    Publisher: Knopf 
    Publication Date: April 2, 2013 
    ISBN-13: 978-0385349833 
    208 pages

         Paulo Coelho’s Manuscript Found in Accra overflows with platitudes, beatitudes, and parables seemingly written for the 20th Century but found in the 11th in the holiest city on the planet. It is the eve of the First Crusade, July 14th, 1099 and Jerusalem lies in siege awaiting the invasion of Christian forces under the command of Godfrey of Bouillon, Robert II of Flanders, and Raymond IV of Toulouse. Forces of thousands of white-mantled soldiers surround the city’s gates. There, inside that holy city’s walls, on the eve of destruction, men, women, and children of every age and faith gather at a cistern to listen to the wisdom of a mysterious teacher known only as the Copt. He has summoned the panicked townspeople so that he can address their fears with truth; truths that resonate through the ages, truths that transform the audience into better human beings just for having heard them.

         Coelho records the last days of a terrified people using platitudes and parables as a wise teacher instructs the crowd on how to live better lives, even in the midst of sure death for many of them. Using the voice of the mysterious Copt, Coelho addresses the human condition in adverse times and how harmony, joy, and peace bookended with discord, grief, and war define our lives. He speaks of daily life and difficulties overcome and how to live rather than the coming war and what is about to happen to the people of Jerusalem. He speaks of what matters – love, beauty, knowledge, art, poetry, sex, grace, and the future – and of finding your own way or “Personal Legend” even in the middle of war and of “being able to go to bed each night with your soul at peace.” 

         In the end, what Paulo Coelho teaches us in all of his recent works is that there is a “correct” way to live our lives. Forget color, race, money, religion, or position – there is a right way to conduct your life. Be decent and respect each other, love one another, and be at peace. One would hope that we could honor that philosophy by one day becoming apt students of this school of thought…

    4 ½ stars out of 5

    The Alternative One 
    Southeast Wisconsin

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautifully written. It is short but intense and deep. I am re-r

    Beautifully written. It is short but intense and deep. I am re-reading it and I think I will buy it as a gift for a lot of people...it's like 'The Alchemist', great and simple.  The English edition I bought is just amazing, and I think that it would be perfect for a lot of people I know! HIghly recomended!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    This was an initially quick read, but a book I am sure to read a

    This was an initially quick read, but a book I am sure to read again and again and ponder. I always enjoy Paulo Coehlo's writing and philosophy, and this book was no disappointment. I like the different style of this book but I also prefer more or a story that unfolds.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    I have always loved Paulo Coelho¿s books; they are so concise in

    I have always loved Paulo Coelho’s books; they are so concise in a great way, so beautiful but challenging. He is simple but profound and his histories will make you rethink your whole world. Because all of that, I expected “Manuscript found in Accra” to be great. And it just… is. As other Coelho’s books, it takes you to another world and the story surrounds you in a beautiful way. You can’t stop reading and you see yourself immersed in a charming but deep history.
    We live in a very changing world, and “Manuscript found in Accra” just goes back to the beginning. I really appreciated that while I was reading, and I felt again that magic, like when I was 16 and I read “The Alchemist”. That magic is exactly what makes books great. And this new book makes you think about some of the most basic things of your life and your world. It is original but structured, easy to read and inspiring. As Paulo Coelho usually does, the new book is not very long, but it’s precise and intense, and it just gets to the point. Because it’s easy to read, I would recommend read it even twice! Some quotes and some sentences are so thoughtful that I would say that the whole book requires re-reading.
    Indeed, the plot, the quotes, the philosophy behind it… everything makes it just simple but at the same time magnificent. I couldn’t stop reading. It was just pure wisdom. Highly recommended.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Amazing book

    Its short but it has a lot to say. This is perhaps my new favorite book from coelho

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    Wonderful lessons for the young....awesome reminders for the old

    Wonderful lessons for the young....awesome reminders for the older. Making an effort to see the world differently today. So far...so good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Awesome guide to spiritual truth

    A must read for all of us looking for the walls to tear down to discover our passion and true love devine energy within
    Finding the courage to step beyond our comfort to an adventure of discovering and living our soul purpose
    Truely Inspired me to jump in deeper than I felt comfortable

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    "And to those who believe that adventures are dangerous, I

    "And to those who believe that adventures are dangerous, I say, try routine; that kills you far more quickly." ~ pg. 54

    Manuscript Found in Accra is the latest novel from internationally known best-selling author Paulo Coelho. It is set in Jerusalem on July 14, 1099. A community of Christians, Arabs and Jews assemble to seek guidance of a Greek philosopher named Copt. He summoned the people of Jerusalem to ask questions as they await the invasion of crusaders. The townspeople have questions about fear, defeat, love, loyalty, success, faith and many more topics we experience as humans. The Copt answers the questions in a precise, beautiful way. Simple wisdom at its finest.

    Manuscript Found in Accra follows the tradition of The Alchemist and of Paulo Coelho's tweets. The parables are brief lessons full of wisdom and spiritual themes that will inspire readers and maybe spur a moment of reflection. It may be a short novel at less than 200 pages but it is meaningful and guaranteed to impact readers' lives.

    "Therefore, Lord, give us this day our daily miracle. And forgive us if we are not always capable of recognizing it." ~ pg. 137

    Manuscript Found in Accra has certainly made my Best Books of the year list. It is a book I will definitely re-read because the knowledge within applies to my everyday life and actually changed my perspective on a couple things. I'm glad I did not hesitate adding this book to my personal library for reading pleasure and as a life reference. If you thought The Alchemist was a life-changing book, then you will appreciate this profound read.

    "Solitude is not the absence of Love, but its complement. If you are never alone, you cannot know yourself." ~ pgs. 29-30 Literary Marie of Precision Reviews

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    awsome

    This was so close to my philosophy on life i have named it "My Bible".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Great book!

    I enjoy it very much!
    Speedy delivery in excellent condition!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2013

    Amazing book!

    Paulo Coelho never disappoints! Love the message and the concept.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    I gave this book 3 stars because the life lessons are suitable f

    I gave this book 3 stars because the life lessons are suitable for 15-19 year olds, perhaps young adults but it is too juvenile for adults.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    My daughter’s friend listed this as one of the 10 best books she had ever read. I had some doubt but I must say after reading this book I completely agree. I am now on my fourth book by Paulo Coelho. I find his writing inspiring and uplifting. I would recommend if you have not already read this book that you do soon as soon as possible. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    highly recommended

    I originally borrowed the book from the library and after reading it I decided I wanted to own it. It really had me reflect on life's challenges and how to face them. It gave me a new perspective on different issues that all people go through at some point in their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Great book; very thought provoking without being a 'heavy' read

    Well written; provacative; a fascinating story that delivers meaningful messages; almost felt as if it were non-fiction; extremely readable and great for discussion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    The Prophet Revisited

    First I have read about five of PC's books and so I was expecting this to be a novel. I didn't quite get why his name was on the book if it was a translation of the manuscripts. It would normally say edited by or translated by. As I have read "The Prophet," by Kahlil Gibran, years ago and found it much more poetic, I didn't see this as much different. It was more basic and less sarcastic then Krishnamurti but basically the same. I think this is more of a beginners book for someone who is new to self-awareness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2