BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Many Bloody Returns: Tales of Birthdays with Bite

Average Rating 3.5
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Love the take on undead birthdays!

My favorites were Dracula Night by Charlaine Harris which is a Sookie Stackhouse story, It's My Birthday, Too by Jim Butcher which has a story about Harry Dresden (liked the tv series hadn't read his work before), The Wish by Carolyn Haines as it has to do with death an...
My favorites were Dracula Night by Charlaine Harris which is a Sookie Stackhouse story, It's My Birthday, Too by Jim Butcher which has a story about Harry Dresden (liked the tv series hadn't read his work before), The Wish by Carolyn Haines as it has to do with death and when is it your time to die. The stories in this book go from romantic aspects to humor and back again in no time at all - if you like vampires or the undead in general you should like this book.

posted by -Katerina- on April 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ok

I guess after targeting into one series of books based on a certain storyline I had a little trouble getting into this particular book. Not to say it was bad, but I guess when the mood hits me, I will again pick up this copulation of short stories. I've always been a pi...
I guess after targeting into one series of books based on a certain storyline I had a little trouble getting into this particular book. Not to say it was bad, but I guess when the mood hits me, I will again pick up this copulation of short stories. I've always been a picky reader. Some Authors book quickly catch my attention right away, and sometimes I guess like most people, others never do. YET there are those few suprising times when one ( book & Author )that didn't really appeal to me will catch my attention... I am holding onto the hope that I will find my way through this book.

posted by One_Picky_Reader on August 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ok

    I guess after targeting into one series of books based on a certain storyline I had a little trouble getting into this particular book. Not to say it was bad, but I guess when the mood hits me, I will again pick up this copulation of short stories. I've always been a picky reader. Some Authors book quickly catch my attention right away, and sometimes I guess like most people, others never do. YET there are those few suprising times when one ( book & Author )that didn't really appeal to me will catch my attention... I am holding onto the hope that I will find my way through this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Love the take on undead birthdays!

    My favorites were Dracula Night by Charlaine Harris which is a Sookie Stackhouse story, It's My Birthday, Too by Jim Butcher which has a story about Harry Dresden (liked the tv series hadn't read his work before), The Wish by Carolyn Haines as it has to do with death and when is it your time to die. The stories in this book go from romantic aspects to humor and back again in no time at all - if you like vampires or the undead in general you should like this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    Many Bloody Returns is a blast!

    It's a collage of funny short stories that will keep you entertained until each one ends

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    its a collection of shorter stories

    I bought ths collection because of Ms Harris's name being on the cover (I'm a big fan of the Sookie stories) and this grouping contains a tale of Sookie's - I had also hoped to find a new author to read by perusing their short stories - and I'm not saying I did not - but as I write this and the book is in another room no authors name jumps up in memory - there are very good stories in the book but nothing jumps out in my mind as "I have to buy more of this writer" even Ms Harris's offering is a reprint because halfway through the first page I was recalling the story.

    Mind now I read because I like an author's style of writing and the general topics they follow
    I'd recommend this a great going to bed book the stories are all reasonably brief and unless you are an insomniac its not too difficult to put down after finishing one story - but you will want to pick it up the next night to see the next offering

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Many Bloody Returns, Tales of Birthdays With Bite

    The idea of vampires celebrating their birthdays is an entertaining one. "Dracula Night" was a bit of a spoiler for me. I've only read the first two Sookie Stackhouse books. Compared to the other two stories in this anthology, it wasn't that great.
    "It's My Birthday, Too" delivers! It has everything a Dresden fan wants and expects! "Blood Wrapped" was good too. It was great to re-visit the world of Tony and Henry, as they rescue a child and try to figure out what to give Vicki for her birthday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    vampires and other night creatures in short stories

    this is a collection of a good vampire and werewolf short stories. if you are looking for a bloody bite to cheer up your cold or rainy days or just a gift to give for someone who loves reading of vampires and other creatures of the night, then this is it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Fun Read

    This was a fun collection of stories to read by a nice variety of authors. Some of whom I had heard of and others who were new to me. More and more I find myself picking up these collections because it seems to be the best way to find new series to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Don't miss!

    This contains some of the best vampire stories around by some of the best vampire/paranormal writers there are. It's a must, must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2009

    Great book

    Lots of fun to read...love Sookie!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2009

    it was already but i wished it had more sookie stackhouse in it

    ican't wait until the rest of true blood comes out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Death and Birthdays!

    How ironic! This book was put together quite well! The concept of combining death and birthdays, I have to say, is very original.


    Charlaine Harris' Dracula Night was a scream. I love it when a story can makes me laugh out loud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Very Disapointing

    Some of the stories were okay, but not enough to carry the book. I think this we be the last time a buy a book that is a collection of stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic anthology

    These thirteen new vampire tales focus on the theme of birthdays (and many happy returns). Although the theme is incredibly narrow and restrictive, the contributors provide fresh interesting tales with no losers and star some of the more famous series characters this the collection serves as a great introduction (albeit limited) to heroes of the supernatural. The most innovative entry is 'Twilight¿ by Kelley Armstrong in which she insists a vampire¿s birthday is the day they convert as that is a rebirthing. The rest of the stories make for a fun compilation with the lively authors being superstars in the undead realm such as Jim Butcher (with Harry), P.N. Elrod (with Fleming), and Charlaine Harris (with Sookie), etc. Still singing happy birthday thirteen times even too many series favorites can become a bit long in the tooth and difficult to blow out the zillion candles for some of the recipients this reviewer suggests leisurely enjoying the anthology over a few weeks.----------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6