Customer Reviews for

Many Lives, Many Masters (Cassettes)

Average Rating 4.5
( 148 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(103)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

eye opener

Many Lives, Many Masters clearly explains, for open-minded, life learners, why we are all inter-connected. Why we are placed in this plane of existence. To learn life lessons, painful or not. and to reduce, or eliminate karmic debt.
It gives clear and comprehensive rea...
Many Lives, Many Masters clearly explains, for open-minded, life learners, why we are all inter-connected. Why we are placed in this plane of existence. To learn life lessons, painful or not. and to reduce, or eliminate karmic debt.
It gives clear and comprehensive reasons why our actions, or inactions, MATTER!
Dr. Brian Weiss, MD's writing style is impressive! As a prominent psychiatrist, he does not use psychiatric psycho-babble, but clear, down-to-earth, comprehensive,
lovely to read, synopsis' of hyponotic regression of a patient.
She starts therapy in distress, and when conventional therapy doesn't produce results, she is cured by discovering her connectedness to life, and others, via Past Lives. The patient enriches her own life, and produces tremendous learning capacity, insight, into the psychiatrist's life, as well.
LOVED this book! I do recommend it to ALL.

posted by Maria_of_amor on August 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

a good book for a non-believer or new-believer in past life

If you know nothing about past life regression, reincarnation, etc, then this is a good place to start. Dr. Weiss spends a great deal of time explaining (over and over again) that he is a scientist and wants PROOF. He shows that he gets the proof that he is looking fo...
If you know nothing about past life regression, reincarnation, etc, then this is a good place to start. Dr. Weiss spends a great deal of time explaining (over and over again) that he is a scientist and wants PROOF. He shows that he gets the proof that he is looking for and is surprised by this. However, if you already know anything about past lives, then this book will be a tad unilluminating. I felt the Dr. Weiss spent too much time trying to protect his career instead of giving the message that the 'masters' sent to him. I suppose that is understandable, but it was easy to skip several pages in each chapter that were devoted to this topic. Overall, a good book to start with - an easy introduction to past life regression.

posted by Anonymous on February 9, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    eye opener

    Many Lives, Many Masters clearly explains, for open-minded, life learners, why we are all inter-connected. Why we are placed in this plane of existence. To learn life lessons, painful or not. and to reduce, or eliminate karmic debt.
    It gives clear and comprehensive reasons why our actions, or inactions, MATTER!
    Dr. Brian Weiss, MD's writing style is impressive! As a prominent psychiatrist, he does not use psychiatric psycho-babble, but clear, down-to-earth, comprehensive,
    lovely to read, synopsis' of hyponotic regression of a patient.
    She starts therapy in distress, and when conventional therapy doesn't produce results, she is cured by discovering her connectedness to life, and others, via Past Lives. The patient enriches her own life, and produces tremendous learning capacity, insight, into the psychiatrist's life, as well.
    LOVED this book! I do recommend it to ALL.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Book! Well Worth the Read!

    I read this book when it first came out, long before I knew where my life would take me. I'd had a Near Death Experience at 19, (which I kept to myself) and I'd always had "inklings" of a direct past life as a doctor. But like many people, it wasn't something I thought much about. It wasn't until my husband died in my arms and "came back" to me that I re-read Brian's wonderfully helpful book, and it allowed me makes sense of what was happening to me. Because I'm a hypnotherapist, I took his professional training, and have done so many past life regressions over the past four years, that it seems strange that anyone could doubt the validity of this kind of therapy. But I realize that's my own specific "perception." If you, too, are a therapist or just interested in this work, you might want to take his week-long training. Brian is charming, funny, accessible and both he and his wife Carole teach with kindness. I recommend "Many Masters, Many Lives," to all my clients, because it helps to ground them in the multi-dimensional nature of their souls, and I recommend it to you, too!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2002

    Life Saving

    My son of 21 years, 2 months and 22 days was murdered in Miami, Florida on October 15th, 1988. I raised my 3 sons as a single father from ages 9 years, 7 years and 4 years. When my name sake was taken from me, and I do realize that it is a selfish emotion, I was devastated. Brought him home in a pine box on my birthday. LET ME TELL YOU, this book SAVED MY LIFE! Believe it or not it changed my whole outlook. I highly recommend it for anyone who has lost a loved one; especially a child. God speed Dr. Weiss.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2001

    A discussion on reincarnation

    The book is good because it opens up a discussion on a critical subject, reincarnation, which is long denied in our rational science. The author himself is a medical practitioner also gives extra credit as well as argument to this book. The concept of reincarnation has long been existed in the history of many civilizations. The argument of its truthness is still an open-debate. What is the difference between a living body and a corpse? Does our hearts just happen to beat by themselves? If we reduce all forms (body and objects) to their very molecular level, we may find our bodies a mere combination of various chemical substances. So where does the life energy come from? Scientists told us that the energy of our universe does not diminish or increase, but it takes place in different forms. When the body deceases, the energy goes into another body and continues to exist. Some people may raise the question that the world population is increasing, if the quantity of energy is consistent, where does the extra energy come from? Let me explain, there is no extra energy. The energy is always out there but takes place in different forms. Human form is not the only living forms exist on earth. However, this is another level of discussion that i may not go further here. Yet, people still ask, 'Is there really reincarnation?' It is a difficult and dangerous question, just as the question, 'Does God exist?' After all, truth is truth, whether we believe it or not. Nobody in history ever witness soul, memory, love and other metaphysical things. Do they exist? Another point I would like to make is the BC argument by another reader of this book is reasonable, the author may distort his story for commercial purpose is also reasonable (it is a common practice in many publications anyway.) However, it would be unreasonable to overrule the whole concept of reincarnation simply because of a flaw found in a book. It is very important to have an open mind while our modern science is still searching for explanations of our world. I recommend this book to anyone who interest in Before/After life path. Further discussion/opinion welcome.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Soul Opener

    What a wonderful book. I recommend this book to anyone struggling in life and with the people in (or not in) your life. If you get anything out of this book it will be an understanding of the human soul.

    I also recommend Same Soul, Many bodies by Brian Weiss as well.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2008

    Great Read!

    I truly cannot put Brian's books down! Past life regression seemed so flaky to me before reading these real life regressions and progressions. It makes me more at peace with the energies that I am surrounded by every day.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2006

    Many Lives, Many Masters

    One of my students gave me this book to read, and I was surprised when Dr. Brian Weiss talked about past lives as well as explained how understanding one's past life could cure any disease in the present life. Thus, I attended a medical conference in Virginia Beach where I heard him discuss these very aspects with other professionals. During the conference, I was able to bring forth past memories from another life time. Also, I was able to check out these facts and verified that they were true. Therefore, this book became even more meaningful to me.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    Dr. Brian Weiss, a well established psychiatrist, placed a high-

    Dr. Brian Weiss, a well established psychiatrist, placed a high-anxiety patient under hypnosis. While in this state, she revealed details of a number of previous lives. So far, this sounds like an old film, “On a Clear Day You Can See Forever”, but the story goes further. While in the hypnotic state, the patient communicates the words of “Masters” from this other worldly plane. These supervisors of the reincarnation process provide Dr. Weiss with insights into why our lives are recycled and where the afterlife actually leads.

    Technically, this is a fairly well written book. It does flow quickly, although some of the patient’s other life experiences are very general and a bit of a bore. Likewise, the Masters do not really provide major breakthroughs, yet one cannot deny that their comments are of interest.

    The question that is often asked is whether Dr. Weiss’s account is factually true. He makes it clear that his patient could not possibly have fabricated the stories which she communicates over a number of sessions, so the question concerns Dr. Weiss’s veracity.

    For what it is worth, this reader was not totally convinced. (Not totally unconvinced, either!) However, is it really necessary for the story to be a factual retelling of Dr. Weiss’s experience? Fiction, as well as non-fiction, can provide us with truth. Taken from that perspective, this can be a pleasant reading experience.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2008

    You HAVE to read this book!

    Absolutely amazing. Well written, easy read...it has so much to teach us. Or, according to this book, we have so much to teach ourselves. Enlightening...a feel-good book. I never before felt my time was put to good use with a book, but this blew me away. I'm not a reader and hardly ever read, but I read it in one day. Couldn't put it down. Highly recommended!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2008

    Very Good

    I read this a while ago but it is a book I will never forget. And if you do believe in past lives it is something to read. I am sure that you too, will enjoy it like I did.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2007

    LIFE TRANSFORMING

    I was extremely moved when I read this book as although what Dr. Brian experiences and discovers after regressing Catherine the values may be consistent with most religions, it also highlights that under the face of science, we learn to be cynics and view everything with scepticism. This book shows that life is indeed a full circle with no beginning and no end. It teaches how spirituality has a higher standing universally than religion. it teaches importance of patience and understanding and the importance of being a better being.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2006

    Amazing book

    This book was amazing. Dr. Weiss has such great credentials that it helped me to see his work as very creditable. This was very helpful since I was skeptical. I was a believer in past lives, yet I wasn't. This book made me a believer and made me feel comfortable with that belief. I was initially pretty freaked out. But now I feel pretty OK about it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2002

    Great book - I hope Brian Weiss is telling the truth

    I loved this book and read the entire thing in a day and a half. I want to believe it is true and not just a hokey money-making scheme. My inclination is to believe that Weiss is telling the truth and that he really has had these experiences with patients. But I am a skeptic and admit that I go back and forth between thinking it is fact and fiction. Nevertheless, the principles it teaches are valuable and if we adopt them, the world will be a better place.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Must read

    Ive purchased countless copies as gifts over the years. It feeds the soul + gives a sense of peace + hope. Finally got for my nook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Silvermoon

    Yay! I won!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Definitely will read again

    This book has so much for us to learn from, I know that I was so drawn to the teachings offered and couldn't wait to read the whole book that I just read it in a matter of a few hours. I definitely plan to read and meditate on the teachings.

    It has given me a lot to think about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    Fascinating Book

    If things seem familiar to you, or you're drawn to certain periods in history, you may have lived during that time in that place. This book relays is a professional psychatrist's shock and surprise at one of his patient's revelation of detailed past lives she led. In fact, she led 86 past lives as a woman or a man, child or adult, and the things she described could only be known by someone that lived in a certain place at a given time - unless she researched and memorized intimate details of each, which is impossible. It's a fascinating account of how souls journey through time to live life after life to achieve the true purpose of life: faith, hope and love. Basically, you keep coming back until you get it right, and most people are going to come back a lot- just look around you at the materialism, prejudice, grudges, greed, hatred and intolerance of others and you'll see who'll come back to Earth as another person to learn more lessons. Bottom line, we all need to love and respect each other, and you've been here before.
    - Just read about the young boy who turned out to have all the memories of a WWII fighter pilot that died during the war. Now as a teen, his memories of this life have wiped out the memories of his past life, but not before his mother recorded the details, and researched - which led her to find out who her son was in a past life. They even met the dead man's sister who is still alive, and she confirmed other details! Life is a lot more interesting than we think.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An Eye Awakening Story

    Before reading this book, I was reluctant about a story with the caption that said, "The True Story of a Prominent Psychiatrist, His Young Patient, and the Past-Life Therapy That Changed Both Their Lives." I was skeptical on these sorts of ideas yet I tried the book out anyway and was so thankful I did. The story depicts the idea of past lives through a Psychiatrist and his patient. While trying to discover what is causing all of his patients fears and phobias, the Psychiatrist learns that she has lived previous life's before these, as she vividly describes in her subconscious state of mind, pieces of facts from parts of the world that ended up to be incredibly true. Although the idea of this book may seem skeptical to some as it first was for me, it is truly an eye awakening story that makes you think deeply on the concept, "what if". Anyone with any belief should read this book. It is a truly remarkable and interesting piece that grasps the idea that anything is possible.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2008

    'Fantastic Eye Opening Journey'

    I cried when I started to read this book, couldn't put it down. This has said what I have been saying from when I was a teen, I dream and see things, but after I read this book I knew that It will be ok to let It flow, not to be afraid.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2004

    a good book for a non-believer or new-believer in past life

    If you know nothing about past life regression, reincarnation, etc, then this is a good place to start. Dr. Weiss spends a great deal of time explaining (over and over again) that he is a scientist and wants PROOF. He shows that he gets the proof that he is looking for and is surprised by this. However, if you already know anything about past lives, then this book will be a tad unilluminating. I felt the Dr. Weiss spent too much time trying to protect his career instead of giving the message that the 'masters' sent to him. I suppose that is understandable, but it was easy to skip several pages in each chapter that were devoted to this topic. Overall, a good book to start with - an easy introduction to past life regression.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8