BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Many Lives, Many Masters: The True Story of a Prominent Psychiatrist, His Young Patient, And The Past-Life Therapy That Changed Both Their Lives

Average Rating 4.5
( 150 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(105)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

eye opener

Many Lives, Many Masters clearly explains, for open-minded, life learners, why we are all inter-connected. Why we are placed in this plane of existence. To learn life lessons, painful or not. and to reduce, or eliminate karmic debt.
It gives clear and comprehensive rea...
Many Lives, Many Masters clearly explains, for open-minded, life learners, why we are all inter-connected. Why we are placed in this plane of existence. To learn life lessons, painful or not. and to reduce, or eliminate karmic debt.
It gives clear and comprehensive reasons why our actions, or inactions, MATTER!
Dr. Brian Weiss, MD's writing style is impressive! As a prominent psychiatrist, he does not use psychiatric psycho-babble, but clear, down-to-earth, comprehensive,
lovely to read, synopsis' of hyponotic regression of a patient.
She starts therapy in distress, and when conventional therapy doesn't produce results, she is cured by discovering her connectedness to life, and others, via Past Lives. The patient enriches her own life, and produces tremendous learning capacity, insight, into the psychiatrist's life, as well.
LOVED this book! I do recommend it to ALL.

posted by Maria_of_amor on August 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

a good book for a non-believer or new-believer in past life

If you know nothing about past life regression, reincarnation, etc, then this is a good place to start. Dr. Weiss spends a great deal of time explaining (over and over again) that he is a scientist and wants PROOF. He shows that he gets the proof that he is looking fo...
If you know nothing about past life regression, reincarnation, etc, then this is a good place to start. Dr. Weiss spends a great deal of time explaining (over and over again) that he is a scientist and wants PROOF. He shows that he gets the proof that he is looking for and is surprised by this. However, if you already know anything about past lives, then this book will be a tad unilluminating. I felt the Dr. Weiss spent too much time trying to protect his career instead of giving the message that the 'masters' sent to him. I suppose that is understandable, but it was easy to skip several pages in each chapter that were devoted to this topic. Overall, a good book to start with - an easy introduction to past life regression.

posted by Anonymous on February 9, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2001

    A discussion on reincarnation

    The book is good because it opens up a discussion on a critical subject, reincarnation, which is long denied in our rational science. The author himself is a medical practitioner also gives extra credit as well as argument to this book. The concept of reincarnation has long been existed in the history of many civilizations. The argument of its truthness is still an open-debate. What is the difference between a living body and a corpse? Does our hearts just happen to beat by themselves? If we reduce all forms (body and objects) to their very molecular level, we may find our bodies a mere combination of various chemical substances. So where does the life energy come from? Scientists told us that the energy of our universe does not diminish or increase, but it takes place in different forms. When the body deceases, the energy goes into another body and continues to exist. Some people may raise the question that the world population is increasing, if the quantity of energy is consistent, where does the extra energy come from? Let me explain, there is no extra energy. The energy is always out there but takes place in different forms. Human form is not the only living forms exist on earth. However, this is another level of discussion that i may not go further here. Yet, people still ask, 'Is there really reincarnation?' It is a difficult and dangerous question, just as the question, 'Does God exist?' After all, truth is truth, whether we believe it or not. Nobody in history ever witness soul, memory, love and other metaphysical things. Do they exist? Another point I would like to make is the BC argument by another reader of this book is reasonable, the author may distort his story for commercial purpose is also reasonable (it is a common practice in many publications anyway.) However, it would be unreasonable to overrule the whole concept of reincarnation simply because of a flaw found in a book. It is very important to have an open mind while our modern science is still searching for explanations of our world. I recommend this book to anyone who interest in Before/After life path. Further discussion/opinion welcome.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    Dr. Brian Weiss, a well established psychiatrist, placed a high-

    Dr. Brian Weiss, a well established psychiatrist, placed a high-anxiety patient under hypnosis. While in this state, she revealed details of a number of previous lives. So far, this sounds like an old film, “On a Clear Day You Can See Forever”, but the story goes further. While in the hypnotic state, the patient communicates the words of “Masters” from this other worldly plane. These supervisors of the reincarnation process provide Dr. Weiss with insights into why our lives are recycled and where the afterlife actually leads.

    Technically, this is a fairly well written book. It does flow quickly, although some of the patient’s other life experiences are very general and a bit of a bore. Likewise, the Masters do not really provide major breakthroughs, yet one cannot deny that their comments are of interest.

    The question that is often asked is whether Dr. Weiss’s account is factually true. He makes it clear that his patient could not possibly have fabricated the stories which she communicates over a number of sessions, so the question concerns Dr. Weiss’s veracity.

    For what it is worth, this reader was not totally convinced. (Not totally unconvinced, either!) However, is it really necessary for the story to be a factual retelling of Dr. Weiss’s experience? Fiction, as well as non-fiction, can provide us with truth. Taken from that perspective, this can be a pleasant reading experience.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2002

    Great book - I hope Brian Weiss is telling the truth

    I loved this book and read the entire thing in a day and a half. I want to believe it is true and not just a hokey money-making scheme. My inclination is to believe that Weiss is telling the truth and that he really has had these experiences with patients. But I am a skeptic and admit that I go back and forth between thinking it is fact and fiction. Nevertheless, the principles it teaches are valuable and if we adopt them, the world will be a better place.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Definitely will read again

    This book has so much for us to learn from, I know that I was so drawn to the teachings offered and couldn't wait to read the whole book that I just read it in a matter of a few hours. I definitely plan to read and meditate on the teachings.

    It has given me a lot to think about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An Eye Awakening Story

    Before reading this book, I was reluctant about a story with the caption that said, "The True Story of a Prominent Psychiatrist, His Young Patient, and the Past-Life Therapy That Changed Both Their Lives." I was skeptical on these sorts of ideas yet I tried the book out anyway and was so thankful I did. The story depicts the idea of past lives through a Psychiatrist and his patient. While trying to discover what is causing all of his patients fears and phobias, the Psychiatrist learns that she has lived previous life's before these, as she vividly describes in her subconscious state of mind, pieces of facts from parts of the world that ended up to be incredibly true. Although the idea of this book may seem skeptical to some as it first was for me, it is truly an eye awakening story that makes you think deeply on the concept, "what if". Anyone with any belief should read this book. It is a truly remarkable and interesting piece that grasps the idea that anything is possible.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Very positive effect.

    A book of this content, I'm so glad to have listened to the voices. Thanks for the production.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Fascinating!

    I found this book to be fascinating. Makes me want to read more about this subject. I passed the book on to my family and friends.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting Read

    I found this book to be intriguing. The possibility of having lived in the past has always interested me due to certain experiences I've had. I only wish this author had tried to verify some of the information his patient was giving him regarding the people and places she relayed to him. It would have provided more proof that her subconscious brain wasn't just bringing forth merely recollections from books, movies, or stories she had been exposed to. The mind is a powerful, little understood machine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2008

    thought provoking

    being a hindu we do believe in rebirths but this book really amazed me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2004

    It gets you thinking....

    This book was quite deep for me, but I was fascinated with this story and the power of karma in our l ives. It got me thinking and wondering about my own past lives and dive into my own personal awareness of my current life. Definitely a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2001

    Mind-Expanding

    Before reading this book, I was very skeptical about the concept of reincarnation. Though I continue to remain a skeptic, my faith in this subject is growing as this book offers very convincing and reassuring evidence of reincarnation and has sparked my interest to further investigate this subject. Overall, it was an excellent book for a person like myself, who is just beginning to explore the possibility of the process of reincarnation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2001

    Great introduction to reincarnation

    Dr. Weiss as a psychiatrist, was reluctant to believe his patients were actually being regressed into a past experience. But when messages from beyond are directed toward him, he has to put away his scientific mind and listen with his heart. For those skeptical about reincarnation, this is a great book. Dr. Weiss finds the reasons for current life phobias locked deep within the soul's experience in a different time. Once the orginal incident is uncovered, the patient is able to overcome their fears, problems with relationships and many other common problems. This in itself should be seen as proof of reincarnation. If you are interested in a fictional story of karma, love, and soulmates, check out 'The Destiny of Miro'. Oh, and as for those that were upset at the time period of one of the lifetimes being described as a time B.C., this is possibly a translation by Dr. Weiss and not the actual words used by the patient.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2000

    Glad that part of the TRUTH is revealed

    I had a near death experience when I was a kid. A friend of mine also remembers part of his previous life. For me, reincarnation is not a unformilar concept, it's not hard to accept at all. But still, Dr. Weiss provided vivid stories that are very creditable and convincing. But I still had many questions till I read Zhuan Falun online. It seems to me that Dr. Weiss revealed only part of the real story. Now I understand why the western religions have been 'hiding' the truth of reincarnation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2