Customer Reviews for

Many Lives, Many Masters: The True Story of a Prominent Psychiatrist, His Young Patient, And The Past-Life Therapy That Changed Both Their Lives

Average Rating 4.5
( 150 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(105)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

eye opener

Many Lives, Many Masters clearly explains, for open-minded, life learners, why we are all inter-connected. Why we are placed in this plane of existence. To learn life lessons, painful or not. and to reduce, or eliminate karmic debt.
It gives clear and comprehensive rea...
Many Lives, Many Masters clearly explains, for open-minded, life learners, why we are all inter-connected. Why we are placed in this plane of existence. To learn life lessons, painful or not. and to reduce, or eliminate karmic debt.
It gives clear and comprehensive reasons why our actions, or inactions, MATTER!
Dr. Brian Weiss, MD's writing style is impressive! As a prominent psychiatrist, he does not use psychiatric psycho-babble, but clear, down-to-earth, comprehensive,
lovely to read, synopsis' of hyponotic regression of a patient.
She starts therapy in distress, and when conventional therapy doesn't produce results, she is cured by discovering her connectedness to life, and others, via Past Lives. The patient enriches her own life, and produces tremendous learning capacity, insight, into the psychiatrist's life, as well.
LOVED this book! I do recommend it to ALL.

posted by Maria_of_amor on August 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

a good book for a non-believer or new-believer in past life

If you know nothing about past life regression, reincarnation, etc, then this is a good place to start. Dr. Weiss spends a great deal of time explaining (over and over again) that he is a scientist and wants PROOF. He shows that he gets the proof that he is looking fo...
If you know nothing about past life regression, reincarnation, etc, then this is a good place to start. Dr. Weiss spends a great deal of time explaining (over and over again) that he is a scientist and wants PROOF. He shows that he gets the proof that he is looking for and is surprised by this. However, if you already know anything about past lives, then this book will be a tad unilluminating. I felt the Dr. Weiss spent too much time trying to protect his career instead of giving the message that the 'masters' sent to him. I suppose that is understandable, but it was easy to skip several pages in each chapter that were devoted to this topic. Overall, a good book to start with - an easy introduction to past life regression.

posted by Anonymous on February 9, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 105 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Many lives many masters

    I have been reading many books on the afterlife and reincarnation recently. Some are very difficult to understand while others go way out in left field. This book was an easy to read book and made me think beyond just reincarnation but to help answer questions of why I am here and what am I here to learn. It is the perfect book to read when you know there is more to you than just this life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the very best books on this subject. A fast fascinating

    One of the very best books on this subject. A fast fascinating read. The whole family loved it. Yes, it is a new concept for us but after reading 15 or 16 books on the subject all by credible authors it's hard not to believe and very comforting to believe. It will change your life for the better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Ryley

    Wooooohooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I'M BACK!!!!!

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Wing

    She moved her bad wing and winced

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Cody to leafeon and glaceon

    I made my move in our battle a bamboo so lets continue itthere then move here.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Starwhip

    Fine......*he helps Wind get there*

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Zorua

    (Finally! I was locked out of "bamboo"... i couldn't post at all!)

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Creeksplash

    Yeah! I won too!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Kiyanleap

    Wow!!!!!! I iz epic at thiz!!!!!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Asheley

    Cool. A Clefairy.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    I'm so glad i read this book, it's so interesting and it made me

    I'm so glad i read this book, it's so interesting and it made me feel...like everythign's going to be okay, that who we are today is for a reason, and we must learn to work on ourselves,. I Love this book so much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    A Great Read!

    I read the book and have also listened to the mp3 audio version. A great read overall. Plan on reading or listening to more from this author. The author uses a different type of treatment than you see most Psychologists take with their patients which I find very refreshing. It's a very interesting book. I definitely recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Life changing.

    This book changed my life. I have never looked back. My life is on a new and ever changing , thrilling , and full of gratitude daily kind of life. Thank you Dr. Weiss for sharing your experience with the world. I have loaned out my books so many times that they are getting ragged. Most people are in the same state of mind as I. Those that are not, have at least something to think about. Some times its hard for people to think out of the box. Thanks again...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    My Favorite Book of All Time

    I read this book about 6 years ago and it is one of my favorite books I have ever read! You don't want to put it down. I have recommended it to a lot of people and the weird thing is some people are scared to read it because of their beliefs/church..very strange to me..but there is nothing to be afraid of..it is such a beautiful book and Brian is one of my favorite authors. Open your minds!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    Highly Enlightening

    The author's compelling research validates a theory I have had for years. It explains many things about why some young people are so-called born with exceptional talents. It reminds me of a book I read about 40 years ago, "The Search for Bridey Murphy." Very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    Makes Sense

    This book is another that affirms the soul doesn't die..and is compelling due to the credentials of the author. He deserves credit for the professional risks he took in authoring books on this subject. This gives me hope, and also insight into our purpose in life. A very timely read at my life stage, and one that has affected my outlook on life for the better. Should be required reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    Many Lives, Many Masters

    Intriguing book, keeps you reading as often as time permits. It is difficult to deny the reincarnation theory when you read what happened to this doctor and patient over the years. I found it hard to disbelieve, and facinating thought to ponder. You must give this book a read. It's not too long and can be read in 3 - 7 days. I loved it. It gave me a new outlook on life.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    Outstanding

    Read the whole book in one sitting. Couldn't put it down. It was outstanding and informative. I will recommend it to everyone I know. Hihgly recommmend it to everyone. I plan on ordering all Brian Weiss' books. Outstanding writer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    What a Life Changing Book!

    I have always believed in God, but I've often wondered about past lives, and have often thought about who I may have been in a past life. However, thinking about it was about all I did. I never researched or put much effort into trying to figure out anything more about past lives. After reading 'Many Lives Many Masters', I am intrigued and excited about past lives, past life regression and all that past lives can teach us. It's so hard to fathom that we all may have been someone else at another point in time....yet so fascinating and exciting, that this book has definitely made me want to research this phenomenon.

    Not only did reading this book push me to research and find out more....it made me think about the relationships in my current life. The people I have met whom I feel like I've known forever, the deep emotional bonds to others, and the not so easy relationships I have with people that I feel I should be close to. The relationships I have with my parents, my children, my husband, and my best friend. It's amazing to think about all these people have to teach us, and what our relationships may have been in the past.

    Even if you're skeptical about past lives and past life regression, I recommend you read this book, as it puts many things from this life in perspective and will leave you wanting to find out more. I absolutely loved the book and it's powerful message. I am amazed at all of the examples Dr. Weiss was able to give that can truely make a believer out of a skeptic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Other-Dimensional Relationships Are Real

    I have had experiences with other-dimensional contact since the age of 18 months. Because I'm greatly interested in hypnotherapy, especially regarding past lives, I have had past-life regression therapy that has cleared my head and answered many questions unanswerable to me by traditional therapists who ¿won¿t go there.¿ It seems ignorant to me that anyone could doubt the validity of this kind of therapy. If you are a therapist or interested in past-life regression, you might want to take his week-long training. Brian Weiss is charming, funny, and accessible; both he and his wife Carole teach with clarity and kindness. "Many Masters, Many Lives" helps to focus the reader in the multi-dimensional nature of the soul and its will to achieve its purpose through the various planes of reality. Relationships may continue beyond the veil. Check out Stephanie Riseley's LOVE FROM BOTH SIDES as well.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 105 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6