Customer Reviews for

Mao's Last Dancer

Average Rating 4
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Lacy

    HOW THE FWK COULD YOU LI! HES IN THE DAMN HOSPITAL BECAUSE OF YOU!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Maos last dancer is amazing

    I couldnt put my nook down i just love it so much.!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Great book

    Helps you undrstand the hard life of china

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Highly recommended

    This is an excellent read. It is hard for Americans to realize what the Chinese people went through with Mao as their leader. I enjoyed the entire story and the writing was superb. I watched the movie after reading the book and would recommend reading the book even if you saw the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    Good book

    The book was well written and gave a great insight into how families honor and respect each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Amazing

    This is a wonderful book. I really enjoyed reading it. As a dancer i could connect to what he was feeling. Ballet is one of the hardest dance forms there is but it is one of the most beautiful dance forms too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    An easy read that gives insight into a Chinese peasant family's life under Mao.

    Mao's Last Dancer gives the reader a chance to see the details of what the ordinary people of China lived with and through. It lets us see why the drive for a better life is there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    I can not put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    Highly recommended!

    It was very interesting and presented the life struggles of the people living during the Mao era. It was insightful from the perspective of the peasants during that era. It would make a great book discussion book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    An outstanding story!

    We heard the author speak on a cruise. It is a mustbread.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Moving autobiography

    This is the true story of Li Cunxin, a young boy growing up poor in China. He was selected to attend the Beijing Dance Academy and study ballet, eventually becoming a great dancer. Given the opportunity to train in Houston, Li Cunxin realized that much of the information he had been taught about the United States was false and that U.S. government officials weren't out to convert him to Western ways. Li defects to the U.S. by marrying another dancer. There is quite a bit of interesting information about the Cold War in the story, as well as heartfelt family snippets about Li love for his parents and brothers. A moving autobiography.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Awesome

    Great read and it kept me engaged throughout. The story was inspiring and very touching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2010

    LOVE. .AT ITS BEST

    i cant recall ever reading a more moving story, The fact that it is a true one is icing on the cakeThis fa.mily deserves allthat is good iife. They have earned. Reading this story will stay a part of me for a long time to come. I will encourage all my friends to read this amazing adventure through life. It shows us that if we do our best in our lifetime,i life will rewards us somehow.d

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Powerful!

    This autobiography of a poor Chinese boy who became a world famous ballet dancer is a wonderful read! With determination & persistence, Li Cunxin used his innate ability to transcend political barriers & courageously became the man he was destined to be. Throughout this struggle, he never lost sight of his family values or love of country, but tried to make sense out of the differences between communism & a free society. And very important, how all this affects his talent as well as personal life. An insightful look into Chinese history, especially Mao's Cultural Revolution. A beautiful story, simply written but told with honesty & emotion. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Historical, intriguing

    An excellent look at growing up in Mao Tse Tung's China--a boy's transition from accepting the brainwashing to defecting to America as a young almost-adult. An in-depth look at the hardships he endured, and the triumphs he achieved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    An inspiring journey!

    I really enjoyed this true account of the life of Li Cunxin and his journey from hopeless poverty and state-controlled servitude to a life of freedom and artistic fulfillment. Leaving his beloved parents and brothers to study in Beijing is the first sacrifice he must make. Ultimately, the price of freedom is to leave his native country and make a new life in America, which he is shocked to find is not the hell-hole described in Chairman Mao's propaganda. Through hard work, strong new friendships, and faith in himself, Li overcomes one obstacle after another to fulfill his dream of becoming a great dancer. You do not need to be a ballet enthusiast to feel inspired by this wonderful memoir.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2007

    Mao's Last Dancer

    Born in 1961 to a dirt-poor but proud family in a village near the northeastern Chinease city of Qingdao, Li Cunxin was chosen by fate at the age of 11. He was busy momorizing Chairman Mao's saying when the school headmaster entered the classroom with four 'dignified-looking people'-talent scouts from the Beijing arts academy that came under the authority of Mao's very scared wife. They were seeking likely candidates to study ballet, a performing art they hoped would further the cultural wanting of the revolution. After selecting a girl 'with big eyes, straight teeth and a pretty face,' they were about to leave when a teacher tapped one of them on the shoulder, pointed at Li and asked, ' What about that one?' Eight years later, by which time Li had become a leading ballet dancer and staged a Nuryev-like defection to the west , furious officials seeking an explanation for his wish to live in 'filthy America' visited his family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2004

    Dreaming a Dream and Making it a Reality

    Mao's Last dancer by, Li Cunxin 'I adored making kites with my Dia (my Dad). This was one of the few playful times I could have with him. He would take us up to the fields on the Northern Hill and he'd sit next to me and tell me stories from his childhood. I never wanted these special moments to end.' The book, Mao's Last Dancer, is about a man named Li Cunxin. This autobiography tells about his life and how he grew up. It also shows how you should not give up on your dreams. He succeeded in his efforts and his dreams came true. He wanted to become an excellent ballet dancer, and he did. He was a principal dancer for the Houston Ballet, a world class company. If his dreams can become a reality, ours can too! I loved this book. I think that it is very interesting how Li grew up. Even though he lived in poverty, he was given an opportunity to make something of his life. He worked very hard to be a success. You will enjoy, as I did, understanding what the fulfillment of his dream was. If I were to grade this book, I would give it a 100. I really enjoyed it and encourage you to read this incredible story of human achievement. Sadie Park, 6th grade

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2004

    Wonderful

    This was an inspiring, touching book that provides a glimpse into life behind the red curtain. Reading this book made me realize how appreciative we need to be of the freedom and prosperity we sometimes take for granted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4