Customer Reviews for

Map of Bones (Sigma Force Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 376 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(203)

4 Star

(110)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

A thriller of Mediterranean history, religion, and modern technology...at breakneck speed!

Excellent book! Rollins comes at you with a dizzying pace and almost overwhelming information. After 20 pages you adjust to his speed and data ... and you enjoy the ride! This is a modern thriller with obvious comparisons to The DaVinci Code. Three American intelligence...
Excellent book! Rollins comes at you with a dizzying pace and almost overwhelming information. After 20 pages you adjust to his speed and data ... and you enjoy the ride! This is a modern thriller with obvious comparisons to The DaVinci Code. Three American intelligence operatives and two Italians (priest and niece) form an unlikely and tight partnership to thwart an ancient religious order from gaining an ultimate prize. Perhaps this is a perceptive view of our 21st century, a harmonious blend of science and spirituality, history and technology, religion and government agents across borders. A high point is Rollins' use of a loyal team of five very diverse people devoted to one another and their mission. This is a fine read!

posted by Anonymous on August 8, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Good, Not Great

James Rollins has always been one of my favorite action/thriller writers, but he seems to have drifted in his last two books, gravitating toward the Matt Reilly-type thriller with lots of shootouts and narrow escapes, and less of the creative bent that characterized suc...
James Rollins has always been one of my favorite action/thriller writers, but he seems to have drifted in his last two books, gravitating toward the Matt Reilly-type thriller with lots of shootouts and narrow escapes, and less of the creative bent that characterized such efforts as Amazonia and Subterranean. The plot of 'Map of Bones' has a touch of 'Da-Vinci Code', with Biblical relics pivotal to the plot. Overall, it's a fun, fast-paced read, but wait for the paperback or get it from the library.

posted by Anonymous on July 12, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 16, 2014

    Good Book

    Enjoyed reading. Wished it didn't have as much romance to it. Wanted to read only the action parts, and the romance just distracted from the flow. If I wanted romance, guess what, I would have bought a romance novel. Hope the future books are without.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Eaglejal

    Good read lots of historical facts a little dragged out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    If you like Sigma Force, you'll love this!!

    I loved the adventure! A lot of detailed facts about the Catholic Church & Vatican. I love stories like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    Good read

    Great series with interesting characters, plot, twists, and turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2014

    Recommended, check it ot

    Although somewhat predictable, the historical research done and in the book makes the book worth reading. If you are interested in Christian and Agnostic religions read this book a fun way to get some of the facts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Love these books! James Rollins is one of my favorite writers

    Exciting story that keeps moving along. A tiny bit predictable, but that can be said for most books and movies. The detail in his writing is what makes it so great. I love the "sci if but believable" aspect of his stories. The characters are likable and feel real. I find that his writing flows smoothly, making his books easy to read and hard to put down. I'm working my way through all the Sigma Series books. Can't wait to start the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Very good read.

    Very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Good read

    First part,was alittle slow but was good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Good - but not my favorite Rollins Book

    I love James Rollins Sigma Force series. Somehow I skipped this book and so read out of order. A real slow start and even though it picked up, I wouldn't call it spellbinding like Rollins stories normally are. However, I would recommend if you are reading Sandstorm or just finished it and are considering going on in the series because it helps with background on charaters and Sigma. I couldn't decide if it was 3 or 4 stars, but gave it 4 because the entire series to me is an amazing 5+. Maybe it was the subject of the mission, because the Italian culture (eg food, geography)holds no interest for me, and vataican, relic/artifact business was just meh again for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    More Twists than a Boa Constrictor

    Great read which keeps you on the edge of your seat wanting more. Gnosticism is a bit over done but otherwise the story is a thriller in every sense of the word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Biblical fiction

    But its based on historical truths. This is the first ive read if him, and i will read more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2012

    Exciting read!!

    A must read for Sigma fans! Exciting and spell-bounding!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    FANTASTIC CHIC

    Hi there, this book is good. Great writer. If you read it you will know why i rated it four out of five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    If you liked the Da Vinci Code & Angel & Demon books by

    If you liked the Da Vinci Code & Angel & Demon books by Dan
    Brown, then you will like this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Fun, fast paced action

    Fun and exciting, maybe not great literature. I never had a problem picking this back up and getting right back into it. Just a plain old fasten your seat belt and hold tight adventure. Good fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    highly recommend - Great bits of history woven into the story line!

    book was recommended by a friend now I am hooked on reading other James Rollins books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Good read but ....

    This book would make a great movie. It has a lot of action and a great blend of fiction and non fiction. What i didnt like was the over emphasized detail esp between the two main characters. This made the book too long and boring in a number of sections. Rollins detailed descriptions are great for the imagination. I just feel he wwent overboard so much so i almost shelved the book before finishing it on a number of occasions. I am glad that i finished the book. The ending was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    A very entertaining novel

    A very enjoyable page-turner. Rollins created a believable Sigma Force team that does a great job of racing to keep ahead of the bad guys only to find the bad guys are smart too. Fun reading. Looking forward to more of Rollins yarns. LadyB

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    Heart-Pounding

    this book was definitely a thriller that I couldn't put down. I absolutely loved the plot, setting, characters, and everything else. However, at some points I felt like I was getting a history lesson instead of reading a thriller. The author (or character I could say) dragged on sometimes about the history of stuff and I just wanted to get to the action. Other than that, this book was superb and I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Adventure into the hidden origins of current religions

    Yes it's still in the fiction section for a reason. I don't know the history of the Vatican or of modern Christianity but this book has some awesome fictional history with struggle and war. It delves into the worlds beneath modern Rome and Alexandria and rides like a roller coaster.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6