Customer Reviews for

Map of Bones (Sigma Force Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 377 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(204)

4 Star

(110)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

A thriller of Mediterranean history, religion, and modern technology...at breakneck speed!

Excellent book! Rollins comes at you with a dizzying pace and almost overwhelming information. After 20 pages you adjust to his speed and data ... and you enjoy the ride! This is a modern thriller with obvious comparisons to The DaVinci Code. Three American intelligence...
Excellent book! Rollins comes at you with a dizzying pace and almost overwhelming information. After 20 pages you adjust to his speed and data ... and you enjoy the ride! This is a modern thriller with obvious comparisons to The DaVinci Code. Three American intelligence operatives and two Italians (priest and niece) form an unlikely and tight partnership to thwart an ancient religious order from gaining an ultimate prize. Perhaps this is a perceptive view of our 21st century, a harmonious blend of science and spirituality, history and technology, religion and government agents across borders. A high point is Rollins' use of a loyal team of five very diverse people devoted to one another and their mission. This is a fine read!

posted by Anonymous on August 8, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Good, Not Great

James Rollins has always been one of my favorite action/thriller writers, but he seems to have drifted in his last two books, gravitating toward the Matt Reilly-type thriller with lots of shootouts and narrow escapes, and less of the creative bent that characterized suc...
James Rollins has always been one of my favorite action/thriller writers, but he seems to have drifted in his last two books, gravitating toward the Matt Reilly-type thriller with lots of shootouts and narrow escapes, and less of the creative bent that characterized such efforts as Amazonia and Subterranean. The plot of 'Map of Bones' has a touch of 'Da-Vinci Code', with Biblical relics pivotal to the plot. Overall, it's a fun, fast-paced read, but wait for the paperback or get it from the library.

posted by Anonymous on July 12, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 204 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2005

    A thriller of Mediterranean history, religion, and modern technology...at breakneck speed!

    Excellent book! Rollins comes at you with a dizzying pace and almost overwhelming information. After 20 pages you adjust to his speed and data ... and you enjoy the ride! This is a modern thriller with obvious comparisons to The DaVinci Code. Three American intelligence operatives and two Italians (priest and niece) form an unlikely and tight partnership to thwart an ancient religious order from gaining an ultimate prize. Perhaps this is a perceptive view of our 21st century, a harmonious blend of science and spirituality, history and technology, religion and government agents across borders. A high point is Rollins' use of a loyal team of five very diverse people devoted to one another and their mission. This is a fine read!

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    James Rollins: Map of Bones

    James Rollins is one of my new favorite thriller authors, among the ranks of Michael Crichton, Dan Brown, Douglas Preston, and Lincoln Child. His plots are thrilling and incredibly unique leaving you in suspense and utterly surprised by the twists and turns. The first of his "Sigma Force" series, Map of Bones, is by far one of his best works yet and definitely one of my favorites from this series. Grayson Pierce is an interesting James Bond-esq lead character with whom you instantly fall in love and wish you were more like. His historical references as well as theological and mythological foundation are incredibly intriguing, making outside research on the topics fun and useful. Map of Bones is easily comparable to The Davinci Code, as the setting and religious elements are very similar. However, Rollins' writing style as well as the more thrilling theme makes it, in my opinion, a superior novel. Possibly one of my top ten favorite thrillers, Map of Bones is a must read for any action lover or someone looking for a new interesting author.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thrilling Adventure from Beginning to End

    Within the first couple chapters I was hooked! Map of Bones is an archeological thriller that beautifully weaves real life history, mysteries, religious and historical artifacts and secret societies into a thrilling adventure. The characters are developed in a way that you either love them or despise them. Their victories become yours and you can't help but feel a little thrill when the bad guys have difficulty. As a warning, this book is nearly impossible to put down. Rollins has truly mastered the art of keeping the reader engaged. It's one of those "just one more chapter and then I'm going to bed" books that keep you up late into the night.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read!

    Map of Bones was a thrilling novel by James Rollins. If anyone enjoyed reading The DaVinci Code by Dan Brown, they will enjoy this book. It is arguably better than the bestselling DaVinci Code. Definitely a must read!!!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Trail to Adventure

    This is the first book I have read by James Rollins. I am sorry I haven't run across his books sooner. The book is full of nonstop action. I loved the tie ins with historical facts and his conjectures on the possible ways these facts might work together to further the plot of the novel. The characters are pretty standard fare, but the action is what we came for and Mr. Rollins does not disappoint.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    Exceptional Read!

    Very, VERY well written! This is the first, (and only, so far), book I've read by this author and I couldn't put it down! Full of adventure, suspense and thrills, not to mention all the details relative to a wealth of historical details woven in to make this book a fantastic thriller!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    Very Good Story

    I Love the Sigma Force Series. I look forward to the next book in the series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Always Exciting

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    great read!

    This is one of those books you just can not put down. Good and believable plot. Great characters with a fantastic ending.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Review

    I rate this highly if you like action and details.I love these guys .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    great

    One of my favorite books ever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Still going strong

    I bought the Sigma Force Series book for my husband who really doesn't like to read. I started him on the first one, Sandstorm and he loved it so I got him the Map of Bones as the second in the series. He loved it and he said that the action in the book kept him reading. He can't wait to start the next one in the series, Black Order. so if you have a guy in your house and they need something to read my husband says you can't go wrong with anything by James Rollins.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    Bios here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Another Great One

    I just love his Sigma Force books. They are alway very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Great

    Great read. As always mr.Rollins never lets the reader down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    An excellent novel, well written and loaded with intriguing concepts. The story keeps you turning the pages as fast as you can. You want to know what happens next but you can't help but feel a little sad when the story comes to an end.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    EMILY TO SPIKE GO TO MAP RES 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    res five and six are the same thing

    So they bothare warriors fens

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    STREAMCLAN MAP STREAMCLAN MAP

    1rst res- entrance clearing.
    2. Biographies.
    3. Stream
    4. Leader den
    5 . Medicine cat den
    6. Wartior den
    7. Apprentice den
    8. Nursery
    9. Highrock
    10. Elders den
    11. Thunder den (strong, protective den)
    12. Freshkill pile

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 204 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11