Customer Reviews for

A Map of the World

Average Rating 3.5
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    TERRIBLE!

    This book was horrible. The main character seems braindead and annoying throughout. Reminds me of one of those people who would be texting and tailgating all the while putting on lipstick...as if they are looking for something bad to happen. I could barely make it through this one because I found the main character to be so annoying on top of a lame duck storyline.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Google earth

    Google earth

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Interesting

    Characters quite nuanced, giving it lots of potential for discussion and reconsideration..some reviewers say that this is a depressing read but i think this is only so at a reading of the events and not of the character development. The change of pov is also thought provoking. I will definitely pursue more of jane hamilton.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Trevorcornuet@yahoo.com Phone #: (904)-504-1013

    Email me.
    Or call/text me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2013

    Great Start that Sputters at the end I would have liked to give

    Great Start that Sputters at the end
    I would have liked to give this book 3-1/2 stars, but that's not an option. This is a good story that grabs you from the start and moves you along, but about three quarters of the way in, it seems the book begins to drag, and continues to do so until its inevitable conclusion. No great revelations or twists at the end. It left me a little disapponted. I also couldn't help but think that had these horrible events not happened to this couple, they would have lost their farm anyway. Two people with small childen tryng to operate a 400 acre farm isn't going to work. The first accident or $100,000 ruptured appendix hospital bill and it's all over. No health insurance in this day equals guaranteed disaster. Ah, but I digress.....I just have a hard time separating fiction from reality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it

    Love the inner conflict withvthe main character. Really great character depth. Not a page turnrer but worth the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    Best book ever!

    I have read alot of books but i have to say this is one of the best i have ever read! You have to read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dark and depressing

    I was thrilled after the first pages, but to be honest (I am not yet
    half through the book) it is so gloomy and depressing, that I lost the
    interest to read further. I force myself to read further really to know how the outcome will be, but if I f. e. lost this book in the subway I wouldn't buy another one, I would rather forget about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2009

    An excellent story

    This was an awesome read. I saw that it was made into a movie with Sigourney Weaver and Julianne Moore, but I never tried to watch it. You could never capture the emotions of the characters and the story to do this book justice. If you liked "The Deep End of the Ocean", you will like this as well.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2008

    Who talks like that?

    Loved the first few chapters but i think sticking w/ the plot of grief after the incident w/ Lizzy would have been a better choice. After that, it was like suddenly i was reading a different book. The prose got bogged down quickly, making the story seem improbable, i mean, who talks like that?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2006

    Thoroughly Good Summer Read

    I couldn't put this book down. Read it over a the course of a relaxing vacation. Jane Hamilton has the ability to draw you into the life of a woman who is struggling with what life tends to throw at a person. She does it with grace and conviction. I recommend this book to anyone who would enjoy reading words that paint vivid pictures of the life of an individual who thrives despite obstacles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2005

    Great Read

    As with all Hamilton, a great read. Kept my attention easily, moved me, and altered my perspective

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2004

    great book

    the beginning really hooked me to the book, but after I was at the end of the book it became less, interesting. but most of all i would say that the whole book is really good, and i would recommend to anyone.(adult)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2003

    Book of the year

    stunning cast of characters that go through struggle after stuggle. Gaining little ground in the way of recovery. Gripping story line that makes each turning of a page something to look forward to. I would recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2003

    Mystifyingly Mediocre

    This was the first Oprah's Book Club novel that I've read, and the book did not exactly live up to my expectations. The writer uses an abstract, almost poetic style of prose throughout the book which may seem charming at first but quickly becomes mundane. Perhaps the effort taken to describe the setting should have been transferred to the characters who were stoic and without much appeal. I am not dismissing this book outright, however. All the necessary elements are there and the reader does feel some emotion from the story. A Map of the World is not a bad work, it's just not a spellbinding one. As for the message this book is trying to convey, I'd say it's open to interpretation- I'm mystyfied on that one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2003

    A great story

    I enjoyed this book very much. I read it for the first time when I was 18. I think it is a real story... it shows life how it really is sometimes. It shows the importance of family, friendship and love, and how it can all change in a moments time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2002

    Ok book to read

    I personally liked this book up until midway through it. The beginning came out strong but then with the whole sexual abuse thing and Alice being in the hospital, I started to loose intrest and it felt like the meaning of the book was fading. Reading the book made you feel like you were being built up to something in the last chapter and then when you got there, the story just dropped. It almost seemed like the author didn't finish the book out....The beginning was so strong and had so much detail and then the ending was just blah.......although I did love Howards view point! It was easy to read and was short and to the point. I also loved the description of the setting around the family and all the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2001

    Page-Turner

    This was a great read! Very human and flawed main character, thought-provoking events. This book really made me think, and kept my interest throughout the entire story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2001

    Hoped for something better....

    Maybe my expectations were too high. Currently I am reading this book, but I am having a hard time finishing it. The plot seems to drag and I don't feel like I can relate to the characters very well. I heard this was a wonderful book and I have to say that I am a bit disappointed. I would not recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2001

    Couldn't Even Finish It

    I've had bad experiences with Oprah book club books before, so I was cautious when I began this one. Rightfully so, I suppose, because this book was so poorly written and failed to hold my attention past the first third of it. I think it is a book that perhaps middle aged women could relate to (hence it belonging to Oprah's book club), but I wouldn't recommend it to anyone else. It was bland and unsaturated and it didn't have any of the components a good novel should have, including theme, plot and intriguing characters. Considering how one-dimensional these characters are, it would be thought that a less-bland storyline would bring added depth to the novel, but it had the opposite effect. It resulted in boring characters in a more boring situation. It got me asking the question, 'Who cares?' throughout the entire thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5