Customer Reviews for

A Map of the World

Average Rating 3.5
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Google earth

    Google earth

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Trevorcornuet@yahoo.com Phone #: (904)-504-1013

    Email me.
    Or call/text me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    Best book ever!

    I have read alot of books but i have to say this is one of the best i have ever read! You have to read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2009

    An excellent story

    This was an awesome read. I saw that it was made into a movie with Sigourney Weaver and Julianne Moore, but I never tried to watch it. You could never capture the emotions of the characters and the story to do this book justice. If you liked "The Deep End of the Ocean", you will like this as well.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2006

    Thoroughly Good Summer Read

    I couldn't put this book down. Read it over a the course of a relaxing vacation. Jane Hamilton has the ability to draw you into the life of a woman who is struggling with what life tends to throw at a person. She does it with grace and conviction. I recommend this book to anyone who would enjoy reading words that paint vivid pictures of the life of an individual who thrives despite obstacles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2001

    I am surprised

    I just scrolled down through the other reader's reviews, and I am surprised at how many didn't care for this novel. I enjoyed it very much, and particularly enjoyed Hamilton's writing style, the way the story came from Alice's point of view, then Howard's. What I found to interesting was how little Alice thought of herself, and how much she thought of Howard; and how at the same time, Howard thought she was this amazing person. I also loved Theresa's character. I liked it very much, and would recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2001

    I loved this book!

    I have been on a great journey and am slowly coming back to real life. This book is exquisitely written. The characters are so deep and Hamilton writes their thoughts and feelings so beautifully. I'm in awe of her writing ability. I highly recommend it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2000

    One of the best, and I've read millions!!

    I thought that this was and is an excellent book. I have not finished it yet, but I am looking forward to it. I bought it because it was recommended in the Oprah Book Club, it was an excellent choice. Some say it is slow and boring, but I think you must immerse yourself in the world of Alice and Howard to fully understand and grasp what they are going through. I recommend this book to serious readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2000

    An Inside View

    One of the joys of reading fiction is the sense of experiencing another person¿s life from the inside. From our external vantage point, we observe other people but can only guess at what they are thinking and feeling. Jane Hamilton takes us inside two characters who share telling this compelling, page turning story. You are there, feeling their insecurities, understanding their weaknesses, forgiving their mistakes, seeing their 'map of the world.' This book has too much substance to be dubbed a 'quick read,' yet I couldn¿t put it down once I started reading. When I finished, I thought, 'Wow! I just walked a mile in someone else¿s shoes.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2000

    I loved A MAP OF THE WORLD!

    I found the reality as well as artificial meaning in this book! You'll love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2000

    book of the year

    I took this book with me on a trip to Dubai, i had to give this extensive computer course for 2 full weeks, from 8 am till 8 pm daily, a 3-hour break in the middle!! I couldn't wait running to my hotel room after 8.30 to read the book..I thought of Alice ALL day, she was inside my head!! I really loved the book..If Howard was a real character, I would have definitely contacted him..his quietness and patience are out of this world!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2000

    Didn't want it to end

    A Map of the World is one of the best books that i have ever read. The pain and and guilt that Alice suffered through cut striaght to my heart. I don't know what I would do if something happened to a child in my care. Alice turned her suffering into strength that she didn't believe that she had. Read this book. You will see your life in many new ways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2000

    there's something about wisconsin

    maybe it has nothing to do with the story of ed gein, but wisconsin seems to have about it a touch of the homely and perverse that comes across in very different ways in the books of the two best wisconsin authors, jane hamilton and rick harsch. both are fond of topographic metaphors, and both convey a sense of spirituality through very different means, hamilton through the complexities beneath bland surfaces, and harsch through the verities constant within the whirlwind of explosive prose and the eerie pull of absurd action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2000

    A Map of the 'Heart'

    Jane Hamilton's 'A Map of the World' is a wonderful read--a poignant tale about a woman lost in her own imaginings and wishes, trying to find steady ground for her ever-wobbly feet. The protagonist, Alice, is a woman we grow to empathize with, a woman we like and can identify with. She is wise and strong, even in the most difficult of situations. She enjoys an ordinary life in many ways, until one day her life becomes anything but ordinary. And through her trials, we wonder if the same tragedy could ever befall us, any one of us...we see her evolve as she struggles to deal with the circumstances that have changed her life, and her heart, forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2000

    DESTINED TO BECOME A CLASSIC

    Oprah knows how to pick 'em. Like a solid meal sticks to your ribs. A MAP of the WORLD is a solid tale that sticks to your mind. You'll find yourself introducing it when chatting with friends in real time and even in your REM sleep. A MAP of the WORLD is a form of art reflecting life. For instance, as you read along you discover there's a bit of Alice in many of us. There are times when we, like Alice¿ 1. don't know how to handle children and simple everyday problems; 2. get so engrossed in silly imaginings that we don't notice that the house is burning down around us or worse, our only friends' two year old daughter is drowning in our pond while we're lost in our idyllic map of the world; 3. have to slip away into lalaland and dance up a sweat or die from pent up frustrations and disappointments; 4. feel we don't seem to fit in this world; that maybe we've gotten birthed onto the wrong planet or into the wrong universe or the wrong era or wrong gender or race. 5. Not all of us are constructed to live the multitasked life of doing many things for many people. We're the types who can barely do the right things for ourselves. Taking care of those connected to us through blood, matrimony and genes takes all we're capable of giving to humanity. A MAP of the WORLD stirs the imagination and teaches some valuable lessons, like never take life and circumstances for granted, for in a blink disaster can strike and change your map of the world forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2000

    Heart breaking and poignant

    If you're curious about the psychology of 'motherhood', read this book! The angst, guilt and love that 'Map' so beautifully conveys is real and deeply sensed. This is one of the best books we will read this decade. Supposedly, Sigourney Weaver will play the main character in the movie...Sorry to hear that...I think anyone who reads this one will be glad they did if or before they see the movie! I would have cast Renee Zellweger instead... The most impressive part of this novel to me was that terror of heart when you find a child missing..the complicated losses and changes associated with that tumble out like a house of cards. Our lives are fragile and can change any moment. This novel makes us aware of that...It's one of the greats in my humble opinon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2000

    One of the best Oprah Picks!

    This book is captivating, it is one of the better Oprah picks that I have read in a while. I wish the book could have gone on and on, I would have continued to read about Alice's life forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2000

    great book

    Map of the world broke my heart. How a women could go threw so much a continue on. I recommended this book highly , I could not put it down. I wish the book never ended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 1999

    Utterly Simplistic & Compelling!

    A Map Of The World. is truly an amazing story. Amazing because it can happen to anyone of us! The characters are so real! I felt as if I were to go into town, I would see them at the A&W! This is one of most beautifully written books I've read in a long time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 1999

    I found it before Oprah did :)

    I found this on a prospecting trip to the bookstore last spring. Truly an excellent novel, and one I've recommended to several friends. Definitely a must-read for anyone who has a few days off during the holidays, or one to keep in your carry-on for the plane ride home!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2