Customer Reviews for

The Mapping of Love and Death (Maisie Dobbs Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I Love This Series -- This Book Was the Best

    I finished this book in one day, even getting up in the middle of the night so I could find out how it ended. Very well crafted, interesting mystery and all of the characters I've grown familiar with and care about. Loaned it to my mother, as I have loaned the rest of the series, and she too finished it in one day because she couldn't put it down! We both agreed that this is the best Maisie Dobbs book so far.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a terrific Depression Era whodunit

    In 1932, Maisie Dobbs receives a note from Dr. Hayden of Massachusetts General Hospital who volunteered as a combat physician during the Great War; and of whom Maisie worked with. He asks her to meet with an elderly American couple whose son went missing during the 1916 Battle of the Somme. The Clintons inform her that farmers in France have uncovered a series of rooms that were part of the trenches. Inside are bodies of the British Cartography Section including their son who joined as a teen in 1914. They want to know who killed him as the autopsy revealed he died from a blow to his face.

    Maisie, with Billy supporting her agrees, to investigate. She looks at the other information like letters and a dairy to help her. As she digs deep into what happened in this trench room in 1916, Maisie also copes with personal issues starting with Billy's wife leaving the psychiatric ward, Dr. Maurice's illness, Stratton's replacement at the Yard and her feelings for Canadian expatriate James Compton.

    This is a terrific Depression Era whodunit as Maisie knows she has achieved her prime goal and is now entering her middle years so feels a bit adrift as she is undecided what next. The case is superb as the inquiry provides the reader a deep look at trench warfare during WWI. As entertaining as the military mystery are the goings-on in the heroine's personal life. The mapping of Love and death is a great historical investigation thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    I love Maisie Dobbs!

    The author never disappoints. Maisie Dobbs is a woman that we can relate to. She's strong, smart, and very intuitive. The story unfolds with twists and turns, and leads us to late, sleepless nights!
    I always feel sad when the book ends, and I have to say goodbye to Maisie until the next book comes along.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Winspear's best thus far!

    Maisie Dobbs is one of my favorite series, and Jacqueline Winspear does not disappoint in the latest novel. In previous books, I occasionally felt the case overshadowed Maisie's own journey, the real story in these books. However, The Mapping of Love and Death provides a great balance between the two and deepens Maisie's character even further. A great read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    I absolutely love these books!  As a child I loved mystery stori

    I absolutely love these books!  As a child I loved mystery stories and read books by Enid Blyton.  Later, I discovered Agatha Christie.  Now Maisie Dobbs is my favorite series.  I hope Ms. Winspear keeps it up for a long time. I love her attention to historical details and look forward to each new book.  

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    Excellent book and author!

    I enjoyed this book immensely. It is well-written, well-researched with interesting history woven into the story. All the characters have well-definied personalities, traits, habits, etc. You become engaged in the story from the beginning. Maisie Dobbs' is a devoted, thoughtful, respectful, and intelligent detective and she is dedicated to a fair and thorough final conclusion. Ms. Winspear's books are a delight to read...calming and interesting for a summer read. Enjoy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    Terrific

    This is the latest in a terrific (and my favorite) mystery series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    A wonderful series

    The latest Maisie Dobbs is a wonderful cap to a fabulous series. I hope Jacqueline Winspear keeps writing. Maisie is like a wise friend. I will read and reread these books. i also reommencd the Charles Todd Ian Rutledge books, which are set between WWI and WWII as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Maisie Dobbs is a real person and you can feel her life and the lives of all the characters in the story. I can't wait to see where life and love will take Maisie next.

    This is the kind of story to take you away to another time and place but keeps you in the here and now as far a the relivince of the story goes. I can relate to war and what it must have been like for those who lived through the first world war. We are going through it again and Maisie has helped me to understand many of the problems and feeling left behind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Tigerfang

    Helllo im tigerfang and i need a friend! -tosses a mouse in her direction-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Shade

    Shade:*looks at him closely* i do not need food to be tempted. But thank you anyway. *she acted confident even though she was smaller then normal*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Absorbing mystery

    Beautifully written, excellent plot - holds the reader's interest!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Maisie Dobbs is Addictive

    I have only recently found Jacqueline Winspear's wonderful Maisie Dobbs series, and I have now devoured all of them. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Great sense of time and place(s)

    This author excels at time and place. As a Geography major and cartography aficionado, I loved how she uses mapping both literally and figuratively, as do all the best cartographers. Love this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    I recommend this title.

    Maise continues to have many different problems or crimes to solve. It has been a while since I've read one of these and each case has many turns with finding the English Nurse and who killed Michael Clifton. The book is well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend. I have enjoyed all of her Maisie Dobb mysteries.

    It is another great mystery from Winspear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    highly recommended

    I have read the whole series and enjoyed everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    Maisie Dobbs

    This is a wonderful series. Can't wait for the next book. When you get one you hesitate to start it as you know when you finish that you will have to wait a year for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3