Customer Reviews for

Maps of Fate: Book Two

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The sweeping saga continues! Reid Lance Rosenthal has done it a

The sweeping saga continues!

Reid Lance Rosenthal has done it again in Maps of Fate, the second book in the Threads West series. This well-written and rich, sweeping saga is packed with adventure, romance, history, conflict, and emotion. It's as riveting as the first b...
The sweeping saga continues!

Reid Lance Rosenthal has done it again in Maps of Fate, the second book in the Threads West series. This well-written and rich, sweeping saga is packed with adventure, romance, history, conflict, and emotion. It's as riveting as the first book of the series and continues the journey of memorable characters who seek their destiny, fight for what they believe in, and work as hard as they love. This book is a page-turner by an author with a deep love and respect for the unvarnished and rarely written-about history of the American West, including Jewish cowboys/settlers from Europe. The many riveting threads of the characters in the saga unveil the struggles of settlers, cowboys, mountain men, Native Americans and slaves from about 1855-1875. The Native American threads of the story ring true and poignant, as authentic and moving as Dances with Wolves. Far more romantic/sexy than McMurtry ever wrote, Maps of Fate reveals the dark underbelly of the development of the West as well as its shining triumphs. The women are not just eye candy in a costume historical. Maps of Fate is the real thing, the West coming alive and growing, and this story has a real feel of how the West was won, by men AND women. Well-researched, recommended read, five stars! -- Eve Paludan, author of The Man Who Fell from the Sky and Taking Back Tara

posted by evepaludan on April 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Threads West, An American Saga is a refreshingly different look

Threads West, An American Saga is a refreshingly different look at the personalities and events that shaped America. It is not the tidy, well behaved mid-1800's tale... it is about human nature, real emotional and psychological machinations amidst an incredible journey ...
Threads West, An American Saga is a refreshingly different look at the personalities and events that shaped America. It is not the tidy, well behaved mid-1800's tale... it is about human nature, real emotional and psychological machinations amidst an incredible journey into a wilderness. It could be said, that unlike other historic westerns, this is the unedited version of America's history.

Rosenthal has a refreshingly different spin on the presentation of humanity in this series and a moving sensitivity to the plight of slaves and native Americans. I will not sit here and say this is like "Lonesome Dove" or "Dances with Wolves", because Threads has its own style, its own very unique and poignant message. There is an amazingly just treatment of all groups represented, with the exception perhaps of the cheeky under-current of venom directed at government,,,, whoops I digress. What i did note is the equitable audience given to all peoples, across the board. All are represented and all are unequivocally, undeniably human in their dreams, their fears, their lives and their loves. There is an undeniable thread connecting each to the other and them to us.

My favorite part --- the character development of a most cruel outlaw, and how he is juxtaposed with the most noble hero. Rosenthal's treatment of the psychological development of that (outlaw) character and the spirit of healing brought forth by an unlikely relationship is astounding, surprising, heartwarming and completely believable and consuming...my god i can't wait for Book III: Uncompahgre.

But don't let this talk of emotionally moving tenderness fool you. Maps of Fate is literally chock full of gut-wrenching action....be it the chase scene, Indian raid, or renegade assault, Rosenthal pulls no punches. It's raw, uncut, unedited and in your face! Thanks to Maps, i now have a visual and audio of the grotesque feel of a scal......

Aha!! but wait... this review would not be complete without a snippet of the sensual side of humanity... and yes, every angle of this is explored and presented,,, some delicate, and the other kind. No, this is not the syrupy romance of romance novels... rather, Rosenthal explores the primal raw drive which most of us are trained to pretend does not exist, yet below the surface, again, simmers undeniable. I think perhaps this is one of Rosenthal's real talents,,, to cut through the pretty charades, the masks and pretenses and expose our very human humanity.

posted by tami0 on April 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    Threads West, An American Saga is a refreshingly different look

    Threads West, An American Saga is a refreshingly different look at the personalities and events that shaped America. It is not the tidy, well behaved mid-1800's tale... it is about human nature, real emotional and psychological machinations amidst an incredible journey into a wilderness. It could be said, that unlike other historic westerns, this is the unedited version of America's history.

    Rosenthal has a refreshingly different spin on the presentation of humanity in this series and a moving sensitivity to the plight of slaves and native Americans. I will not sit here and say this is like "Lonesome Dove" or "Dances with Wolves", because Threads has its own style, its own very unique and poignant message. There is an amazingly just treatment of all groups represented, with the exception perhaps of the cheeky under-current of venom directed at government,,,, whoops I digress. What i did note is the equitable audience given to all peoples, across the board. All are represented and all are unequivocally, undeniably human in their dreams, their fears, their lives and their loves. There is an undeniable thread connecting each to the other and them to us.

    My favorite part --- the character development of a most cruel outlaw, and how he is juxtaposed with the most noble hero. Rosenthal's treatment of the psychological development of that (outlaw) character and the spirit of healing brought forth by an unlikely relationship is astounding, surprising, heartwarming and completely believable and consuming...my god i can't wait for Book III: Uncompahgre.

    But don't let this talk of emotionally moving tenderness fool you. Maps of Fate is literally chock full of gut-wrenching action....be it the chase scene, Indian raid, or renegade assault, Rosenthal pulls no punches. It's raw, uncut, unedited and in your face! Thanks to Maps, i now have a visual and audio of the grotesque feel of a scal......

    Aha!! but wait... this review would not be complete without a snippet of the sensual side of humanity... and yes, every angle of this is explored and presented,,, some delicate, and the other kind. No, this is not the syrupy romance of romance novels... rather, Rosenthal explores the primal raw drive which most of us are trained to pretend does not exist, yet below the surface, again, simmers undeniable. I think perhaps this is one of Rosenthal's real talents,,, to cut through the pretty charades, the masks and pretenses and expose our very human humanity.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    The sweeping saga continues! Reid Lance Rosenthal has done it a

    The sweeping saga continues!

    Reid Lance Rosenthal has done it again in Maps of Fate, the second book in the Threads West series. This well-written and rich, sweeping saga is packed with adventure, romance, history, conflict, and emotion. It's as riveting as the first book of the series and continues the journey of memorable characters who seek their destiny, fight for what they believe in, and work as hard as they love. This book is a page-turner by an author with a deep love and respect for the unvarnished and rarely written-about history of the American West, including Jewish cowboys/settlers from Europe. The many riveting threads of the characters in the saga unveil the struggles of settlers, cowboys, mountain men, Native Americans and slaves from about 1855-1875. The Native American threads of the story ring true and poignant, as authentic and moving as Dances with Wolves. Far more romantic/sexy than McMurtry ever wrote, Maps of Fate reveals the dark underbelly of the development of the West as well as its shining triumphs. The women are not just eye candy in a costume historical. Maps of Fate is the real thing, the West coming alive and growing, and this story has a real feel of how the West was won, by men AND women. Well-researched, recommended read, five stars! -- Eve Paludan, author of The Man Who Fell from the Sky and Taking Back Tara

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    I read Threads West and was pulled into the story and Reid had y

    I read Threads West and was pulled into the story and Reid had you feeling like you were part of his characters journey from the very beginning. I got Maps of Fate yesterday morning and i just finished reading it this afternoon. Once again Reid took you on another adventure with his characters as they travel west, another page turner and a feeling that you were on that journey with them. I'm a subsitute teacher at a school with alot of students are native american and imgrant workers and I introduce them to the first book for I was teaching a reading class but the history teacher thought lets combine the 2 classes so now were doing it together and I have 13 students so excited and they are so eager to come to class. Reid has a way that draws people in his stories and you just want more and his writing is so memorizing and has a poetic feeling, its just beautful the way he writes, you fall in love with his characters and I love the way he puts in alittle romance! Another winner on your hands Reid and you sure out did yourself!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Worth the Wait It is said, the story chooses the writer. If th

    Worth the Wait

    It is said, the story chooses the writer. If that is true, then this epic saga and gifted writer were inevitably destined to come together, and so they did.

    The author with his narrative magic, made a very impressive entrance on to the literary scene with the introduction of Threads West: An American Saga. The story captured our attention, ignited our imagination and left us waiting impatiently for the next chapters to be written. Because of this and other essential information contained in book one, it is highly recommended that this series be read from the beginning.

    In book two, Maps of Fate, the story continues to unfold into an absorbing tale about a group of brave individuals and their arduous and dangerous journey as they migrate west, intent on claiming lands and settling their families. Through superb dialogue, meticulously detailed description, provocative subplots and a diverse cast of characters, the author takes us on an amazing journey that stimulates our emotions, stirs our imagination and excites our spirit.

    After reading Maps of Fate, I believe you will agree with me that this incredible story and remarkably talented author were clearly fated for one another, and book two was definitely worth the wait.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    A friend recommended that I read this series. I love that frien

    A friend recommended that I read this series. I love that friend!! I began to read more slowly as I was nearing the last page because I didn't want it to end. I can't wait for the next book to come out.. I love reading about American History and this series has certainly not disappointed me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    This book is a true page turner! Maps of Fate continues the epi

    This book is a true page turner! Maps of Fate continues the epic tale of immigrants heading west in late 1850’s America. The main characters are as colorful as the historical and geographic context and include among others aristocratic, working class, and military immigrants from Denmark, Germany, England, and Ireland, southern slaves, trappers, and Native Americans. If you have ever left your home and had to recreate your life in an unfamiliar place, you will appreciate the challenges, tenacity, resourcefulness, strength, bravery, optimism, and spirit of adventure that shapes these immigrants as they head west across America. The romantic yet realistic description of characters and setting is so vivid it feels like you are making the journey with them. I can’t wait for the next one! Kira

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    somewhat recommend

    The book has a good story but not a lot of substance in detail. Too many pages of detailed passion. I will probably read book 3 to see what happens to all.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Bought book one, threads west a few days ago after hearing about

    Bought book one, threads west a few days ago after hearing about it.Read it the same day. It was GREAT! Bought book 2, maps of fate, and to my surprise it is even better. Terrific! Highly reccomend this series. When is book 3?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    A portal to another era and place is this literary work of art!

    A portal to another era and place is this literary work of art!

    From the first page, you feel an indescribable energy effortlessly transporting you with each written word to another era of life filled with excitement and wonder. The power of the words envelop you, allowing you to become one with each character experiencing their frustrations, fears and...their passions! Your senses over come with the sounds of the horse and oxen drawn wagons moving in rhythm with the energy of the land and the people who drive them…. truly this is the American spirit.
    E.S. Wolf

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    I just finished Maps of Fate and was given the distinct privile

    I just finished Maps of Fate and was given the distinct privilege of reading an advanced copy. All I can say is “Amazing”. This is the second book in a series called, Threads West, An American Saga. After reading the first book I was impressed with the author’s style and ease at telling the tale and introducing the characters to the readers. The descriptive writing style flowed beautifully and you found yourself lost in the book not realizing how long you had actually been reading. As I began reading Maps I found myself swept back in time and fully immersed into the story. The characters are real....I felt like I was there with them..Never have I been so moved by the written word of another.. I wept so many tears for loves lost, battles fought and hearts broken. You could feel the emotion that they felt. Not to spill the beans, but...I felt much satisfaction from a little revenge!!

    One thing that struck me is the way this author could so easily pull you in...by the way, the author is a guy...not only a guy but, a guy’s guy. Reading his words, I must say..I had to keep reminding myself of that..hahaha...I have never met a man that can express so much emotion, be it the male or female characters. Not only is there a clear message of courage and strength in these characters but, also the undertones of love of country, respect of our great land and what it means to be a citizen of this great nation of ours. In the trouble times of today, it is such a gift to be able to step back and feel what we all should be feeling now.

    I come from a very long line of pioneers and being of Native American descent on one side, my father’s and Italian immigrants on my mom’s, I have lived and breathed much of what is in this book. Finding ones place in this world...and by place, I mean your spot on this earth that truly calls you and speaks to you and gives you that sense of HOME and something that stirs your soul is well expressed in this book. . I’ve lived in the east, in fact was raised there and lived on the west coast having had something call to me and am now settled deep in the heart of Texas. I’ve traveled across this amazing land and it never gets old. The expanse of the beautiful country and how it speaks to you and will call to you was truly felt while reading how the characters grew from the experience of crossing our great land.

    This is a must read!!!! and one of my daughters will be starting to read Threads West, the first book in this series and continue on. She is 16 and I feel it is quite appropriate for her age and very educational.

    Bravo, Mr. Rosenthal and bring on book 3.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    Reid Lance Rosenthal has done it again!! His second book of the

    Reid Lance Rosenthal has done it again!! His second book of the Threads West, an American Saga series, Maps of Fate, brings all the excitement, adventure, romance and passion of the first book and more. I was drawn back into the lives of his cast of wonderful book one characters from the first page and thrilled to the new personalities I met in book two.

    My idea of a really great historical novel is one that will take me back in time and invite me to stay amongst its characters, feeling what they feel, seeing what they see and experiencing everything they experience. Maps of Fate is such a novel! Rich in its locations and atmospheres, I could picture myself riding along on one of the wagons as the group of characters introduced in book one travels West into adventures they could not have dreamed. Once you begin reading this book, you will not want to put it down! Forget the activities of everyday life because you will want to stay totally immersed in this book to the end!

    I will recommend this book to everyone I know and anxiously await book three! If you love novels rich in American history, long on nail biting action, and spiced with romantic sizzle, you will definitely love Maps of Fate! Hunker down with a good cup of coffee, a warm blanket and savor every page of this book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    great book

    great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting characters, evocative scenery and thought provoking

    Interesting characters, evocative scenery and thought provoking American
    history An enjoyable Western adventure story, Reid Lance Rosenthal’s
    Maps of Fate takes the mixed cast of characters from book one of Threads
    West on a wagon train across America in the late 1850s. Readers really
    don’t need to have read the first book to enjoy this story, and I never
    found myself referring back to it. While there are lots of characters,
    the structure of the wagon train keeps them well-defined—who lives in
    which wagon, who rides with whom etc. Nicely drawn details of everyday
    living bring the world to life, from how to circle wagons to the
    problems of crossing a river, from jerky fires to women’s laced boots,
    Kentucky long rifles and the feel of a horse’s “warm, moist muzzle”
    brushing a character’s cheek. I liked the sense of North America about
    to contract as railroads promise development. Slavery’s becoming a
    national issue. Immigrant Jews are moving West. And Indians struggle
    with broken treaties as wrong-doers on both sides erode their sense of
    trust. The novel follows the wagon train to journey’s end in a small
    town, with miles yet to be traveled, maps to be studied and claims to be
    set, but the story still has a pleasing sense of completion, even as
    characters come to the fore. Book three will, I'm sure, be just as
    interesting. I enjoyed book two more than book one in this series. The
    history, while not completely accurate, was pleasingly evocative. The
    writing, while occasionally wordy, felt appropriate and kept me turning
    pages. The characters became deeper, making me really care about them.
    And the dialog felt true to life. An enjoyable Western, sufficiently
    complete to satisfy, complex enough to build genuine mystery and
    character, and sufficiently incomplete to leave the reader wanting more,
    this one’s a good solid read, evoking a life long gone in a world of
    possibilities. Disclosure: I received a free ecopy of this novel in
    exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Beware

    Beware of reviews written by anonymous reviewers....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    Maps of fate Wow! action, heat, surprises, suspense, good, ev

    Maps of fate

    Wow! action, heat, surprises, suspense, good, evil and descriptive passages. After reading Book One, Threads West, I was already hooked on this author, the series and the book, but the writer has outdone himself with this second novel. Loved the new Indian and black characters, and that intriguing remegade. laughed, I cried, had a few hot flashes. Delicious! Wonderful attention to detail, character development. Bring on Book three!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    I was disappoionted

    Harlequin Romance on a wagon train. The first book was so much better

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    MAPS OF FATE: THREADS WEST, AN AMERICAN SAGA by Reid Lance Rosen

    MAPS OF FATE: THREADS WEST, AN AMERICAN SAGA by Reid Lance Rosenthal is an American Saga set in the spring of 1855. It is continues the story of generations through the wilds of the west. While, “Maps of Fate” is book #2 in the “Threads West an American Saga” series, it can be read as a stand alone. See, “Threads West”. A complex saga of family,Indians,tragedy,lost,grief,honor,sacrifice,innocence and love. An epic tale of love,struggle,passion of our forefathers of the West.A fast paced,action packed adventure. If you enjoy the T.V. series,”Lonesome Dove” and the stories of L’Amour you will want to pick up your copy of ”Maps Of Fate”. A heart rendering tale with an explosive conclusion which will stay with the reader long after the last page and leave the reader looking forward to Book 3 in the series. A must read for Western,historical,Old West,Americana,and romance readers. Written with vivid descriptions and rich details of the era. Received for an honest review from the publisher/author. Details can be found at Rocking’SR Publishing,the author’s website, and My Book Addiction and More.
    *Coming next, Book Three of the “Threads West,An Americal Saga Series*
    RATING: 4.5
    HEAT RATING:Sweet: No sex or scenes of physical intimacy except some kissing. No graphic violence or profanity.
    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Enthralling

    The characters and experiences are so vivid. They capture the heart and mind of the reader and carry them on a journey fraught with action, adventure, relationships, tragedy, and romance. Hard to put this one down from beginning to end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    Where do I begin? "Maps of Fate"--WOW! I truly enjo


    Where do I begin? "Maps of Fate"--WOW!

    I truly enjoy your writing and descriptive style--your characters come alive on the pages. I am familiar with the clothing of the time; very accurate attention to detail, Reid. The history and the timeline is "spot on." And the scenery...yep, it is the West that I know and love that it jumps out at me. I've been in Wyoming and Montana storms. I've out camped, for three weeks at a stretch, on the Little Big Horn river, just below the battlefield. I truly know the heat, the cold and the incessant, howling wind...and, I truly felt it when I was reading "Maps of Fate." You have a "sixth" sense about what a man feels and what a woman feels, in their heart of hearts, when one throws all caution to the wind in that moment of time when two people form that perfect union and become one with the universe. I feel a strong connection with the character "Rebecca," too. (No laughing here, now, ya hear?) I've always love the West, the land and its people. I feel Rebecca's view point changing about America. And, the fight--OH. MY. GOODNESS. I want you to know that I put off a trail ride to Ancient Lakes (here in Washington State) so that I could sit in camp and just about finish your book. (Somebody's got be the camp look out, right?) I enjoy reading about "manly men" and women who KNOW they are women. In other words, men are MEN and women are WOMEN; there are just naturally things that men DO and that women DO. You have, literally, done a breathtaking job on the ALL the characters' development in this series, Reid! Their personas are so very real and, most importantly, believable...I am so looking forward to the next book, "Umcompahgre."

    Bravo, Reid, bravo!

    I sincerely thank you for bringing this project to print...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2