Customer Reviews for

Mara, Daughter of the Nile

Average Rating 4.5
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(102)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book rules!!!!!!!! We had to read it for English class this year and i absolutley loved it!!!!! the first few pages may seem a bit 'hoo-hum' but then the action really picks up. i strongly suggest reading this book. look at all the other reviwews--- have they not rated it well??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2007

    favorite book ever!!!!!!!!!

    i didnt like reading until i read this book!! it has a little bit of everything in it. i just couldnt put it down!!!!! enjoy!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2006

    once in a lifetime

    Mara, daughter of the Nile is a book beyond anything that any of my freinds and I have ever seen before. It will always be a favorite in my mind, because the romance, intrigue, and witty dialoge is enough to keep anyone up reading it. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2006

    Wonderful Book!!!

    This book was fantastic! I first read it 9 years ago in 8th grade when my history teacher introduced it to our class. It has been one of my all time favorites ever since. I just placed an order for it and cannot wait to re-read this beautiful book again. If you like history, adventure, and romance, then you'll love this story! Highly recommended!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2006

    This book was the best!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I think that there should be a sequel to this book. There should definatly be a sequel about what happened after Thutmose became pharoh and what happened to Mara and Sheftu.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2006

    Greatest Book I have ever read

    This is the greatest book that I have ever read, if you like adventure, romance, trechery, cleverness and danger... read this book! The perfect book for me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2005

    a very good book!

    This was a great book!!! I liked it a lot! It was nice and exciting, not too slow moving but not too fast either. The characters were great, and I liked how it was written-with one chapter from princess Inannai's point of view, and another from Mara's or lord Sheftu's.Again,a great book.I would definitely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2005

    SO GOOD!

    This wasn't the type of book that I woul usually read, but by the middle of the story I could not put it down! I wish there was a sequel to it or something!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2005

    i LOVE THIS BOOK!

    This book is my absolute favorite. It starts us out by capturing our attention by adding a little mystique but then the plot thickens with Mara's two masters.It is really good and how can you resist a historical romance,action,and just amazing book.I mean a guy would like the action and I ,a girl, personally enjoyed it all includong the romance.It is just like you read it then because it is so good you want to read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2005

    egyptian lover

    mara is a great book. i mainly liked it becaunse it was about egyptians. though i did notice some faults. like mara's hair egyptian's had kinky hair not long locks. but i still loved the book it was kinda sad at some point like when the had to kill hotshepsut. but it was a life win loose cas so what choice did they have my favorite charecters are inannie and mara of course. i've also been writing a book about egyptian's of my own and books like this inspire me. p.s. barnes and noble needs to add more stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2005

    Long Lost Friend!

    I read this book when I was 8 years old and lost it when we moved. I am now 13 and have been searching for it ever since and just found it! I love this book and hope that everyone else will give this a chance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2005

    Wooo

    I really liked this book even though it took me a while to read. lol my name is Marah and that is why i picked up the book! and the names are both pronounced the same. I really loved the end of the book i thought that was the best part. Maybe i was her in my past life? :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2005

    The Story Never Gets Old

    This is/was an excellent book! (and a great love story) I read it 3-4 times over the course of my life. I am now 46 and went on a search to read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2005

    THIS IS A MUST-READ!!!

    I first read this book in my 6th grade core class, and since then, i have read it many times, wrote a play on it, and done so much with this book. It includes history, action, love, joy, sorrow, adventure, and so much more all in one! I never thought that I would be able to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2005

    Best book ever

    THis book is really great. it tells about history, and so much more. It is a great book, that everyone will love to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2004

    I loveee it

    This is the best book i have ever read, i borrowed this book from my teacher and i wish i could keep it forever

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2004

    Excelent Book!

    The best book I've ever read! If I could, I would give it a hundred stars! A must read! The kind of book you want to curl up with. I couldn't stop reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2004

    I have loved this book for 45 years!

    The cover of my original copy of Mara is tattered. I must have read the book 30 times after receiving it as a gift when I was in high school. The last time I read it I was 60 and I still love the story. Truly a classic in my library!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2004

    Truly a masterpiece!

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. The romance and action both played a huge part in bringing the plot together to make a truly beautiful story. This book is definately a must read for people of all ages!! I loved it and greatly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2004

    I have fallen in love with this book

    Oh my gosh- this book is AMAZING! It's an awesome romance/mystery/historical novel, and I totally recommend it. I read it in, like, an hour. (I'm a fast reader, but even that's really quick for me) The book is really descriptive, too, which makes things much more interesting. You can feel the emotions all the characters are feeling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6