BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Mara, Daughter of the Nile

Average Rating 4.5
( 122 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(103)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best book ever!!!!!

I am in 9th grade and an avid reader. I have read many books but this is definitely one of the best. It is very simply written and easy to understand, but the plot is exciting, the writing is vivid, and provides a movie-like experience. It has romance, adventure, and su...
I am in 9th grade and an avid reader. I have read many books but this is definitely one of the best. It is very simply written and easy to understand, but the plot is exciting, the writing is vivid, and provides a movie-like experience. It has romance, adventure, and suspense. You feel like you are standing there with the characters. There are inward struggles, and outward battles. There is drama, but not so much that it is inappropriate for younger readers. Definitely a must read.

posted by Cross_Rider on September 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

MARA--WORST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I am in sixth grade and my class is reading it. Everyone wants to murder Eloise Jarvis McGraw. This is the worst book ever and I definitely don't recommend reading it. I've fallen asleep while reading it, and one time in class we were reading it silently to ourselves...
I am in sixth grade and my class is reading it. Everyone wants to murder Eloise Jarvis McGraw. This is the worst book ever and I definitely don't recommend reading it. I've fallen asleep while reading it, and one time in class we were reading it silently to ourselves and I got so bored I did nothing while I pretended to read. Do not read this book.

posted by Anonymous on January 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    Best book ever!!!!!

    I am in 9th grade and an avid reader. I have read many books but this is definitely one of the best. It is very simply written and easy to understand, but the plot is exciting, the writing is vivid, and provides a movie-like experience. It has romance, adventure, and suspense. You feel like you are standing there with the characters. There are inward struggles, and outward battles. There is drama, but not so much that it is inappropriate for younger readers. Definitely a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book as a kid & read it probably 4 or 5 times.

    I loved this book as a kid & read it probably 4 or 5 times. It's a really good story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A classic romance in romantic Egypt

    I read this book when I was 15 and thought it was the most romantic book ever. Sheftu is a great hero and Mara is a stirring heroine. She risks everything for love and freedom. Can't ask for more than that. The fact that I am now 60 years old and vividly remember this book should say a lot. The publish date must mean the republish date because it is a lot older than that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    Best book!

    "Mara" is one of the best books I've ever read! I've always been a sucker for adventure-romance, and this DEFINITELY hits the mark. Definitely a page turner, with vivid, alive descriptions and deep characters. Great book, must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A BEAUTIFULLY WRITTEN NOVEL OF ANCIENT EGYPT

    I love Egyptology, and Archaeology and this is one of my favorite books I read about the time of my heightened interests in them. It is beautifully written, a novel that touches the soul`s need for adventure. In this book you are taken on a wonderful journey to Ancient Egypt in the days of an undecided future where the fate of a kingdom is unbalanced between Queen Hatshepset and her stepson Thutmose III. In a fiction tale we are introduced to the stubborn, fiery Mara, a slave fighting for freedom, and in her story we are taken into the lives of Ancient Egyptians, and the mysterious workings of a dangerous court. Fun, thrilling, and imaginative, Mara: Daughter of the Nile is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2008

    THE BEST BOOK!!!!!

    This is one of the best books I have ever read! I've got two, and this is defidently one of them! Mara is so funny and she has helped me so much you wouldn't believe it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    Eternally Wonderful

    I read this book as a kid, 40 years ago, and it still stays with me today. I've had a lifelong interest in egyptology and archaeology, and this book probably helped fuel it. As an adult it is interesting to me to look back and see how she wove history so well with the fiction narrative. As for the kids who have reviewed this book and not liked it, well, it just reminds us that not everyone likes the same books. But the former kid in me wants to say 'GREAT BOOK!'

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2008

    OH MY GOD!!

    That person is crazy! I loved this book so much! trust me i've read boring books and this is not boring! It gets slow some times but is really sweet. And in the end you are out of your seat you are so into it. GREAT ROMANCE! as long as your not that super physical disgusting type. I LOVED IT! Outstanding job. Two thumbs up for Eloise Jarvis Mcgraw.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2007

    The Ultimate Story

    This story not only has clever and original characters, but it is very well written and has a thrilling plot. The end has an ironic twist that will have you biting your fingernails. It has been my favorite book for about five years, and I have yet to read its match. If you like history, romance, conspiracies, irony, and witty characters you'll love this book. Mara is a hilarious, real character that I'm sure you'll fall in love with just as I have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book is the best. I highly recommend it! you get drawn into the book with every page! they should make a second book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    Love this book

    This is a great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2007

    Meg

    Very Authentic. You could read this book for hours! It has the right amount of everything you would want in a book, action, romance, deceit. It couldn't get any better! You really see the characters change throughout the story. Emotional highs and lows, and realizing who the characters truly are. I have read it countless times, and I discover something new about it every time, and each time I see the story line differently! A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book rules!!!!!!!! We had to read it for English class this year and i absolutley loved it!!!!! the first few pages may seem a bit 'hoo-hum' but then the action really picks up. i strongly suggest reading this book. look at all the other reviwews--- have they not rated it well??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2007

    favorite book ever!!!!!!!!!

    i didnt like reading until i read this book!! it has a little bit of everything in it. i just couldnt put it down!!!!! enjoy!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2006

    once in a lifetime

    Mara, daughter of the Nile is a book beyond anything that any of my freinds and I have ever seen before. It will always be a favorite in my mind, because the romance, intrigue, and witty dialoge is enough to keep anyone up reading it. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2006

    Wonderful Book!!!

    This book was fantastic! I first read it 9 years ago in 8th grade when my history teacher introduced it to our class. It has been one of my all time favorites ever since. I just placed an order for it and cannot wait to re-read this beautiful book again. If you like history, adventure, and romance, then you'll love this story! Highly recommended!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2006

    This book was the best!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I think that there should be a sequel to this book. There should definatly be a sequel about what happened after Thutmose became pharoh and what happened to Mara and Sheftu.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2006

    Greatest Book I have ever read

    This is the greatest book that I have ever read, if you like adventure, romance, trechery, cleverness and danger... read this book! The perfect book for me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2005

    a very good book!

    This was a great book!!! I liked it a lot! It was nice and exciting, not too slow moving but not too fast either. The characters were great, and I liked how it was written-with one chapter from princess Inannai's point of view, and another from Mara's or lord Sheftu's.Again,a great book.I would definitely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2005

    SO GOOD!

    This wasn't the type of book that I woul usually read, but by the middle of the story I could not put it down! I wish there was a sequel to it or something!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6