Customer Reviews for

March

Average Rating 4
( 129 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

What Ever Happened with Mr. March, Father and Husband of the Little Women?

I loved reading this book, the key word here being "reading". It has been a long time since I have thoroughly enjoyed the process of reading, per se. I approached March with some trepidation, having previously read Geraldine Brooks' book, People of the Book, which I bou...
I loved reading this book, the key word here being "reading". It has been a long time since I have thoroughly enjoyed the process of reading, per se. I approached March with some trepidation, having previously read Geraldine Brooks' book, People of the Book, which I bought in hard cover, thus spending a chunk of change on it, and in the end was somewhat disappointed. March does not disappoint. It is the story of what happened to the father in Louisa May Alcott's classic Little Women. To enjoy this book, you don't need to have read Little Women, however, I've heard it said that in March, one can find echoes of Little Women. It is written in language, styled from its day, early 1860's, and at times it reads as poetry. The book is about the father's experiences in his position as a Chaplain in the Union army, positioned below the Mason-Dixon line. It moves between New England, where the family lives, and the places of war. There is no lack of demonstrating the savagery of war and the savagery of Slavery and racism. War is neither idealized, nor demonized in the book.

The author uses two techniques that I love to find in fiction. The first is mixing in real historical characters among her fictional ones (reminiscent of E.L. Doctorow's Ragtime and The Book of Daniel) so you feel you are getting to personally know them, in this case... Henry David Thoreau and Ralph Waldo Emerson are neighbors of the March family. You get to see John Brown, the famous abolitionist who advocated insurrection as his means of ridding the country of slavery, as basically having tricked Dr. March into lending him a huge sum of money and consequently losing it all, which proved to be the financial downfall of March and his family. It is a very interesting interplay of fact and fiction. The other device, that I have always loved, is the use of letter writing as a means of moving the story along ( this for me is reminiscent of one of my all time favorite novels, A Woman of Independent Means, by Elizabeth Forsyth Hailey). It is in March's letters that some of the most beautiful descriptions and eloquent use of language can be found. Here is but one example...

"There was a little barge-ferry then, that would stop on request, at a jetty on the island's northern tip. I had alighted there on a whim and walked the mile and a half to the house whistling the song of the boatman who had poled the crossing. The white dogwoods were in flower all the way up the drive, and the air seemed viscous and honey-fragrant, unlike the mud-scent of a chill May morning on Spindle Hill."

I highly recommend this book.

posted by Sherril on July 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Astoundingly disappointing.

When I heard about the premise of this book--a novel about the father of the March Sisters from that perennial favorite 'Little Women'--I was tremendously excited. When that novel shortly thereafter received the Pulitzer, I rushed right out to get it from the library, ...
When I heard about the premise of this book--a novel about the father of the March Sisters from that perennial favorite 'Little Women'--I was tremendously excited. When that novel shortly thereafter received the Pulitzer, I rushed right out to get it from the library, even though I thought I would probably end up buying it. I'm so glad I didn't. I've been interested in Bronson Alcott and his community for some time, and was rabid to know how Brooks based Mr. March on him. My first problem with the book was this: in elementary school, I was a historical novel fan, and read a great many civil war books, and as I read I realized to my disappointment that there was nothing new in 'March.' I felt like I had read such similar happenings, such similar moral dilemmas before that I was left bewildered. My second problem was this: Brooks, apparently unable to write the character of Marmee as Louisa May Alcott created her, chose instead to make her into a completely different person, and one who I strongly disliked. I was left feeling like Brooks hadn't taken 'Little Women' itself very seriously, but had rather used it as a gimmick. All in all, I think there are many better books available, and urge you to read those.

posted by Anonymous on November 5, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Impacting Poetic Writing Style

    Geraldine Brooks has written such a full and rich story in so small a book. I almost put it down after reading the first few pages because the writing was so descriptive that I felt as if I was amongst the wounded soldiers in the civil war (and I am very squeamish). I am glad that I pressed on though because the book was unique and enlightening. It tells the imagined story of Mr March of Alcott's Little Women. It is by no means an imitation of Alcott's style or content though. Brooks story is tragic, intense and 'real' in it's portrayal of the human condition. "March" examines the morality of the intellect alongside the passions and failings of human nature.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Louisa May Alcott would be pleased!

    Well researched historical novel. Loved this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Loved it!

    Ms Brooks never disappoints. As good as "People of the BooK". I love novels with historic content.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2014

    Clever combination of back drops

    Brooks never disappoints. Extensively researched. Clever combination of beloved novel and civil war. Somewhat of a prequel to Little Women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    For history lovers like me, those who want to be transported in

    For history lovers like me, those who want to be transported in time to truly sense the intensity and dynamics of the U.S. civil war, this is a brilliant book, one of Brooks' very best, similar in heartbreaking detail to 'A Year of Wonders'.

    High points for me are the detail around the actual treatment of slaves, a rich inter-racial love story that effectively re-interprets the deepest meaning of freedom, and the condition of early hospitals/medicine at the time, all combined to make this a great, riveting and educational read. Five shining bright stars and a big thank you, as always, to Geraldine Brooks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    Calling all Louisa May Alcott fans! Introducing Mr. March!

    I always wanted to know more about the father in "Little Women" and what happened to him during his time as a civil war chaplain! Did not know that this is the book I was dreaming about, but mighty pleased to accidentally 'find' it as I looked for books by author Geraldine Brooks... Very imaginative and gives tremendous depth to an old childhood staple of mine. It's like having a party with your favorites again, on an adult scale. Perhaps I'll reread "Little Women" with an eye to fresh insight into Marmee, Amy, Beth, Jo, Meg and (even!) Aunt March. Well-researched re Civil War era, medicine and probable battlefield experiences. Recommend all Geraldine Brooks' books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    The best

    !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Great read!

    I read one of her books last year and she quickly became one of my favorite authors. I love her characters, because despite being overall good people they are usually greatly flawed in some way, and they struggle to accept the mistakes they have made in their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Deserves another Pulitzer.....Excellent

    Beautifully written historical story of a familiar American family during and preceding the Civil War. Geraldine Brooks creates a wonderful window looking backward onto this time period and presents it like a beautiful poem. Very believable. I love the way she writes. I also thoroughly enjoyed reading "People of the Book" that she wrote later. Great author and great story teller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another Wonderful Book by Geraldine Brooks

    Geraldine Brooks writes prose that is a delight to read. Her historical research in thorough, and she makes the characters come alive. This book is enjoyable even if the reader has read extensive material about the Civil War. The viewpoint of Mr. March as an abolitionist participating in the war with Union troops is quite unique. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2007

    A reviewer

    This was a fabulous take on some literary characters who were based on real folks! I loved that they weren't all sugary and sweet, patriotic but ignorant! They saw their situations and the situations of others in the harsh light of reality. Mr. March found that his high aspirations were unrealistic and had to adjust! Mrs. March was a strong woman and mother/wife who did the best she could with her situation. These were real people and not the unreal goody-goody characters of the children's classic. They grew older and wiser as they matured - just as, hopefully, we all will do!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is written as if the main characters are animals, and they would be surprised. Read it and see what I mean,.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2006

    A Wonderful Surprise

    I had no idea what to expect when I was given this book, but by the end I was amazed. Brooks makes Mr. March into a realistic, remarkable character. The book reminds readers of the atrocity of war and the heartbreak it brings. Another unexpected delight was the presence of historical characters like Thoreau and Emerson. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2006

    Read it before it won

    Okay, so I know how to pick them. I read this book before it won and I was telling everyone the MUST read it. Those who didn't listen are now diving in--head first. I've read everything this guy has written, starting with RAGTIME and working my way up. It's all good, but MARCH is his best so far.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2006

    Post Pulitzer Prize

    As I was watching McNeil's News on Monday, I happened to realize that the book I had finished 2 days earlier had just received the Pulitzer Prize for Literature! Ms. Brooks created a lovely story with a flowing pace. The dominant character deserves much of his self-criticism, but in all, he was loyal to his crumbling ideals. The landscape was easy to picture for me, and I have never been to the East Coast. The author has given us a real gem, and like many pieces of great literature, it will need several reeds to fully grasp the depth and breadth of its scope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2005

    Excellent Character Study

    I have never read 'Little Women',but I think that Louisa May Alcott would approve of this companion book. I found this book to be a wonderful depiction of a man whose idealism has to deal with the harsh realities of war and human suffering that is no longer abstract but real. Drawing on the writings of Ms. Alcott's father as her inspiration, Ms. Brooks has given us a flawed hero who determines to stay true to his ideals, thereby winning our admiration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2005

    History comes alive!

    Well researched and historically sound book. Really brings history alive and completes a story about the whole March family. This is an adult story with some very emotional issues of communication, fidelity, trust and faith brought to the forefront. Many of the same issues that we in military families continue to face today with our loved ones in an unpopular war. I loved the way the author was able to give a heartbeat to the characters and it made me feelm I was in the middle of the Civil War Battlefield. (I wanted to jump into the pages and help the soldiers with the knowledge and advances we have in nursing today and spare the men in those 1861-63 battles!!) I love to read abnout the women , doctors, slaves and unerground railroad but I do not care for dry facts, this was not dry nor boring. I did not want to put the bookdown and I did not want the book to end. I hope the author with write a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2005

    A realistic story about the Civil War

    March is an incredible story. The horrors of the Civil War as seen through the eyes of a chaplain are graphic and memorable. The letters written by Rev. March to his family portray the poverty of the South and the horrors of the War. The lives of the slaves as they grow cotton in the fields during the conflict of the War makes you relive the dangers of that historic period. The author does not preach the issues of both sides. The victims of the Civil War are the Country, the North, the South, and the blacks. I read the book in three days and learned a lot. I look forward to reading others stories by Geraldine Brooks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2005

    THIS IS A GREAT BOOK!

    I loved this book! I savored the pages day by day trying to read it as long as I could.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3