Customer Reviews for

March Upcountry (Empire of Man Series #1)

Average Rating 5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Great

    I've always loved this series, even though I really don't kknow why. It's not particularly well written (seriously, how many times can you call someone a fop without it just being ridiculous), the military characters all are self-righteous jerks with sticks up their behinds, and O'Casey is a raging imbecile whose so-called "expertise" is little short of a joke. But I like Roger, Kostas, and the Mardukans, so I guess somehow that outweighs rhe woodenness of the writing for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    David and John have done it again!

    Great book. I cannot put it down. The authours never leave you bored. Every chapter is brimmimg with excitement!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2004

    More Please!

    This was an ensnaring read, once I started it I could do little else before it was done. There is fantastic character development, and it is written so you can see what they characters see, and feel their emotions likewise. In addition, the technology was well thought-out and quite belivable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2003

    I WANT MORE!!!!

    I so wanted to reach into the book & slap Prince Roger until he saw double. I'm looking forward to watching Prince Roger become a man and develop the talents that are hinted. As an avid SF reader and combat vet, I could FEEL this story. The importance of mission & the dedication of the marines. I mourned the loss of every life. I WAS THERE.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2002

    Never a dull moment 'Marching' wih Prince Roger

    When I opend this book I became hooked in the first 2 pages and now after a marathon reading session I have to read it again. Prince Roger is a spoiled brat and it is enthralling to 'watch' him become a leader as the story progresses. The supporting cast of characters are also very dimensional,you can see and hear them as your read each word, page, paragraph and chapter. I hope this does indeed become a series as is the 'Honor Harrington' books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2001

    Already waiting for the next installment

    The Prince is a pain will be your first reaction. Keep reading. This is good military fiction. Good humor. Add these authors to your 'if they are writing it I'm buying it list.'

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    exciting science fiction coming of age tale

    The Empress of Man Alexandra VII sends her spoiled youngest son Prince Roger MacClintock to waive the flag at the planet Leviathan¿s Net-Hauling event. Roger protests about having to visit a backwater orb that smells for light years around. Roger remains unhappy with the assignment, but knows he must carry it out wondering why his father is persona non grata at court and why nobody trusts him to support his mother once he learns the truth. <P> On the trek through space, terrorists disable the ship forcing an emergency landing on the dangerous planet Marduk that makes Leviathan look like the center of civilization. Accompanied by marines, Roger needs to grow up rather quickly if he is to survive the hostile planet whose low-tech natives are as deadly as any species in the universe. <P> MARCH UPCOUNTRY is an exciting science fiction coming of age tale that never slows down for even a paragraph. Roger makes the plot work because readers believe in his transition from spoiled brat to responsible adult team member. The ¿good guys¿ including Roger are fully developed, but the villains lack substance. Military science fiction experts David Weber and John Ringo prove that the total sometimes is greater than the sum and that is saying a lot since these two writers are among the best today. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2