Customer Reviews for

March to the Stars (Empire of Man Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Teaborl

    Baddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    Not the best

    Mostly good, but I really wish Weber and Ringo (individually AND together) would refrain from introducing love interests into their stories, since they both really suck at it. There is ZERO chemistry between Roger and Despreaux. They should stick to military action, where they excel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    Read the whole series, and worth every penny!

    I hardly write reviews, even on books I hate. Much less about books I love.

    This whole series is filled with emotional twists, military analysies, and altering viewpoints to illustrate each characters point of view, rather than just running through the story in a single frame of mind.

    This series, along with the finale "We Few", is a brilliantly written series. You start off understanding why exactly everyone lothes the Prince, and in the end, understanding the burden that's put on him, and witness him mature to a point that few people can acheive, even when they aren't spoon fed everything in the universe...

    This series will tie you in, and even when the series is finished in "We Few", you'll keep wondering: "Then what happened!?!?!"

    They will not only hold your attention, they'll take your imagination and send it to new heights, while still giving you the feeling that maybe.... JUST maybe... this could potentially happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great book for few, OK book for others

    This is a Sci-Fi book, but in essence it is about warfare. It goes over all things military: from weapon design to strategy to sail navy battles to the tactics of close combat to intelligence to emotions of a soldier. It's best audience is probably the readers who studied, are interested, or have been in the military. For the rest of us civilian schpaks the book is a fine, but somewhat limited and unidimentional reading.I grade the books as Buy and Keep (BK), Read Library book and Return ( RLR) and Once I Put it Down I Couldn't Pick it Up ( OIPD-ICPU). This one is RLR - to try if you like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    The long journey realized

    an odyssey that mixes in captains courageous where coming into manhood and valuing people and oneself in extreme combat. weber lets people who have never been in the military understand both the grunts and the officers. The extrapolated political ideology correlates the application of green socialism where faith in good ideas leads to a broken repressive government

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2007

    A reviewer

    These two authors make a GREAT team! Loved this whole set of 4!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2005

    Heck Yeah!!!!

    I read the first one in the trilogy, and now I am hooked.The only thing is , I don't think the story is finished, and I hope the authors create a fourth title.David Weber is one of the best sci-fi authors out there. I also highly recommend the Honor Harrington series!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2003

    Yee Haa

    This book is one of the very best i have ever read. I WANT A SEQUEL!!!! If they are writing one, of course. This Series, this book, is great for anyone who wants a great read. I for one, loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    powerful military science fiction

    The diplomatic mission assigned to Prince Roger was more to get rid of him for awhile than any real need except palace relief as the royals including his mother the Empress are tired of his boorish spoiled behavior. One thousand rugged Marines accompany Roger on his meaningless mission, but every one of these tough soldiers detests this royal pain in the butt. The assignment goes wrong and Roger and his troops become stuck on Marduk, a hostile planet. Over the next year or so, Roger leads his Marines and loyal Mardukans in a deadly march to reach the only spaceport held by the enemy. During the dangerous crossing that costs the lives of 100 men, Roger feels every death personally and turns into a strong military leader whose supporters are as loyal to him as any person can expect. However, whether he manages to lead the way off-planet still remains to be proven because he learns that there is more to this disaster than just what resides on Marduk. MARCH TO THE SEA is a powerful military science fiction novel that works on several levels as Roger turns from a hedonistic rotter into a strong leader. The story line is action packed as the land and ocean of Marduk seems real and in turn provides an authenticity to the adventures of the outsiders. Still it is Roger whose metamorphose against an antagonistic backdrop makes the latest outer space thriller from David Weber and John Ringo into must reading for sub-genre fans. Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2003

    WOO-HOO!

    During the first two books (MARCH UPCOUNTRY & MARCH TO THE SEA) spoiled Prince Roger transformed into a warrior. At the beginning of book three, Prince Roger Ramius Sergei Alexander Chiang MacClintock and his Marines have begun crossing a treacherous sea on the planet Marduk. ..... Many native Mardukan characters from the previous books had joined the Royal Marines. The Empire thought them all long dead. However, Roger's troop had to somehow get off the hot and boggy planet they had wrecked on before they could let the Empire know otherwise. .... After six long months of marches and too many battles to recall, they were finally nearing the small and secluded space port which was their destination. Information made the port seem to be hostile instead of friendly, but since nothing had been easy up until now, the information did not come as a big surprise. The hostiles would just have to learn the old truism: You DON'T mess with a MacClintock. .... ***** Okay, I do not think it is a spoiler to tell you this much: There is going to be a fourth book. There HAS to be. By the time you are half way into the book you just KNOW that there is no way all this can be done in one book. The authors added a few new twists to ensure the necessity of another book. Personally, I believe this series is the best, with only the Honor Harrington series being better. There is just too much time in between each of these books though. ...... If you are just researching and have not read the first two books as yet, then do not bother to begin reading the series until after the next book comes out. You must read all the books, in order, to understand the major characters, as well as what is going on. ..... Each book left me begging for more and this one is no exception. This is an awesome series with two well known and brilliant authors creating spectacular characters and places for readers to lose themselves in. Highly recommended book. Part of a highly recommended series. *****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2002

    Go Roger!

    I waited patiently for 'March to the Stars' to be released. When it arrived I read it in 2 days.....now am ready for more, please! I have read the first two, (March Up Country and March to the Sea), numerous times and 'March to the Stars' will be re-read again and again too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2