Customer Reviews for

Margot: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Jillian Cantor¿s latest novel, Margot, is a gripping and compell

Jillian Cantor’s latest novel, Margot, is a gripping and compelling story of Holocaust survivor, Margot Frank. Margot is not only a survivor; she is Anne Frank’s older sister.




She is known to no one as “Margo.” Rather, the essence of reinventing oneself is to change...
Jillian Cantor’s latest novel, Margot, is a gripping and compelling story of Holocaust survivor, Margot Frank. Margot is not only a survivor; she is Anne Frank’s older sister.




She is known to no one as “Margo.” Rather, the essence of reinventing oneself is to change one’s name. But “Margo” does not stop with her name. She is also no longer Jewish. Margie Franklin works for Joshua Rosenstein as a secretary in the law offices of Rosenstein, Greenberg and Moscowitz. The fact she is alive is the very essence and further affirmation toward her mission of never allowing the truth to surface and find Payter. It was what they promised each other: “…I will no longer be a Jew, he’d whispered to me as we were lying on the divan in his room, more than once. I will leave everything behind. Hiding who you are, it’ll be so much easier than hiding where you are. He would be Peter Pelt, and I would be Margie Franklin. We would come to Philadelphia, and we would be Gentiles together, safe together…”




After the war, Margie leaves Europe and seeks a place halfway across the world to her new life; Philadelphia, City of Brotherly Love. Sponsored by Ilsa and Bertram, cousins to Eduard, Margie’s mother’s friend, Margie is welcomed as the daughter they never had. They willingly nurture her with her adaptation into her new American life. It is when the movie The Diary of Anne Frank is released that Margie’s well-kept secrets begin to unravel. She is consumed by survivor’s guilt and the struggle to understand why she is alive. She is tormented with the thought that her father, Otto ‘Pim’ Frank, found her diary in the Annex when he found Anne’s. Did his plans include telling Margie’s story next?




Margie finds solace in her office mate and friend, Shelby. She is everything Margie is not—outgoing, carefree and happy to live in the spontaneity of life. Unfortunately, when Holocaust survivor, Bryda Korzynski, meets with Joshua Rosenstein, Margie soon learns Bryda’s case entails righting anti-Semitic assaults Bryda and her co-workers have endured. Margie’s hidden truths begin rising uncomfortably close to her once secure and very protected surface.




Jillian Cantor has taken a compelling topic and has woven a beautiful story. She portrays the horrific and emotional torment a human being endures when they are faced daily with the reality they have survived an epic tragedy in the history of mankind. “Margie Franklin” is the modern day reminder of the real young girl we are all familiar with—a child who endured the perils of the very essence of the definition of Axis of Evil we know as the Holocaust. Cantor does not spin a tale of maudlin woe. Rather, she paints reality through her word placement and subliminally reminds the reader that this is an event we must never forget and most certainly, mankind will (hopefully) never repeat. Her precision writing has enviable merit. There is never a moment when her words must “coax” the reader to turn the page. To the contrary, her word placement entices the reader to consume the next page and the page after that. This is a beautiful story and it compels me to pick up The Diary of Anne Frank and read it again. Bravo Ms. Cantor! You have gained a new fan of your writing!




Quill says: This book is as much a story about the deeply-rooted scars a survivor must bear as it is about healing and the hope truth provides once it is set free.

posted by FeatheredQuillBookReviews on September 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Margot gets 5 Stars & 3 Cheers!

Great read! I wasn't so sure about this book at first. I decided to read the sample first & I could not put this book down. I purchased the book and I am glad I did! I highly recommend this as a must read.

posted by Dobie1 on September 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Jillian Cantor¿s latest novel, Margot, is a gripping and compell

    Jillian Cantor’s latest novel, Margot, is a gripping and compelling story of Holocaust survivor, Margot Frank. Margot is not only a survivor; she is Anne Frank’s older sister.




    She is known to no one as “Margo.” Rather, the essence of reinventing oneself is to change one’s name. But “Margo” does not stop with her name. She is also no longer Jewish. Margie Franklin works for Joshua Rosenstein as a secretary in the law offices of Rosenstein, Greenberg and Moscowitz. The fact she is alive is the very essence and further affirmation toward her mission of never allowing the truth to surface and find Payter. It was what they promised each other: “…I will no longer be a Jew, he’d whispered to me as we were lying on the divan in his room, more than once. I will leave everything behind. Hiding who you are, it’ll be so much easier than hiding where you are. He would be Peter Pelt, and I would be Margie Franklin. We would come to Philadelphia, and we would be Gentiles together, safe together…”




    After the war, Margie leaves Europe and seeks a place halfway across the world to her new life; Philadelphia, City of Brotherly Love. Sponsored by Ilsa and Bertram, cousins to Eduard, Margie’s mother’s friend, Margie is welcomed as the daughter they never had. They willingly nurture her with her adaptation into her new American life. It is when the movie The Diary of Anne Frank is released that Margie’s well-kept secrets begin to unravel. She is consumed by survivor’s guilt and the struggle to understand why she is alive. She is tormented with the thought that her father, Otto ‘Pim’ Frank, found her diary in the Annex when he found Anne’s. Did his plans include telling Margie’s story next?




    Margie finds solace in her office mate and friend, Shelby. She is everything Margie is not—outgoing, carefree and happy to live in the spontaneity of life. Unfortunately, when Holocaust survivor, Bryda Korzynski, meets with Joshua Rosenstein, Margie soon learns Bryda’s case entails righting anti-Semitic assaults Bryda and her co-workers have endured. Margie’s hidden truths begin rising uncomfortably close to her once secure and very protected surface.




    Jillian Cantor has taken a compelling topic and has woven a beautiful story. She portrays the horrific and emotional torment a human being endures when they are faced daily with the reality they have survived an epic tragedy in the history of mankind. “Margie Franklin” is the modern day reminder of the real young girl we are all familiar with—a child who endured the perils of the very essence of the definition of Axis of Evil we know as the Holocaust. Cantor does not spin a tale of maudlin woe. Rather, she paints reality through her word placement and subliminally reminds the reader that this is an event we must never forget and most certainly, mankind will (hopefully) never repeat. Her precision writing has enviable merit. There is never a moment when her words must “coax” the reader to turn the page. To the contrary, her word placement entices the reader to consume the next page and the page after that. This is a beautiful story and it compels me to pick up The Diary of Anne Frank and read it again. Bravo Ms. Cantor! You have gained a new fan of your writing!




    Quill says: This book is as much a story about the deeply-rooted scars a survivor must bear as it is about healing and the hope truth provides once it is set free.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    I just finished reading it -- best book of the year!! 

    I just finished reading it -- best book of the year!! 

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Another in the list of books about WWII and its aftermath, Margo

    Another in the list of books about WWII and its aftermath, Margot by Jillian Cantor puts forth the supposition, what if Anne Frank's older sister had survived the war? The author herself says that she got the idea while reading The Diary of Anne Frank for the second time. She began to wonder, what of the other sister, Margot? Did she keep a diary, too? What was she like? Apparently, after doing some research, she found that not much information exists about Anne's less famous sister. This opened the door for a fictional story about surviving the holocaust with Margot as the central character.




    It is 1959. and the movie The Diary of Anne Frank has just hit the theaters in the US. Margie Franklin is living a quiet life in Philadelphia and working for a law firm. But Margie is really Margot Frank, the older sister of Anne, who was able to survive the holocaust. She eventually makes her way to America where she changes her identity, re-inventing herself as a Gentile. Once her father publishes Anne's Diary and it is made into a movie, her new life starts to unravel, bit by bit.




    Once I picked up Margot, I found it very hard to put down. The story alternated between the story of Margie, the girl hiding in America, and Margot, the girl hiding in the annex in Amsterdam. I was amazed at what a great job the author did presenting the two sides of the main character. I was particularly impressed with the way she was able to craft a believable story of what Margot could have been like while still staying true to the words of Anne's diary. On the other hand, Margie's life in America was all fiction, but incredibly well told and highly believable. I could really put myself in the place of a person in her situation, her survivor's guilt, the elements of PTSD inherent in her situation, the ever prevalent fear that someone would discover the truth about her, and the constant inner struggle to not lose sight of who she was. Through the author's words I was transported into Margie's mind in the best way.




    What really sold this book for me, though, was the fact that it was more than just a "what if" book about Margot Frank. To me, it was really an exploration of the after effects of the holocaust on Jewish Americans. Some, like Margie, immigrated to America and re-invented themselves to create a distance between their new lives and their old ones. Others, like Bryta, came to America looking for a better life, only to find themselves taken advantage of. Then there were the American Jews, like Joshua, who were removed from the worst of the war and lived a relatively unscathed life, which brought on its own brand of survivor's guilt. Through the exploration of all of these characters, the author was able to craft a story that should not be missed.




    This was definitely a 5 star book for me and will be on my highly recommended list for quite a while. I have yet to come across a book that deals with these issues in such a readable and believable fashion. A heartfelt Thank you to Jillian Cantor and The Sisterhood of the Traveling Book for making this book available to me in exchange for a review.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Heart touching!

    Amazing look into the mind of a holocaust survivor!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    A

    This is well written fiction. It puts a new human face on an outrage of history that we Americans have become a little immune to hearing about. Thank you very much Ms. Cantor for writing it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Great read!  I had misgivings as I began reading this book but l

    Great read!  I had misgivings as I began reading this book but loved the author's explanation of her choice of  Margot, Anne Frank's older sister , and the purposes the author feels for writing about Margot.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Hey ppl!!

    This sounds amazing. Should i read it?

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Fantastic

    It was beautifully written I couldn't put it down

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2013

    A pretty good "what if" book.

    This was a story about Margot, the sister of Ann Frank. It puts forth a story about what might have happened IF Margot lived and moved to America. It was a good story - but I had such a sad feeling reading it knowing it was just a fairy tale kind of book. It was well-written, done nicely, but it made me sad and I am kind of sorry I chose this book. Not the fault of the book itself though. Worth reading if WWII isn't a sore spot for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2013

    ¿The truth is, I have wanted to find you for a long time, but I

    “The truth is, I have wanted to find you for a long time, but I have been afraid. Afraid of what you might think if I told you everything. Afraid of what you’ve become since I’ve seen you last. Afraid, even, of what you might think of what—and who—I’ve become. I am not a girl anymore. Neither am I a Jew. And I have done things that I can’t understand or explain, even to myself.”

    Jillian Cantor’s “Margot” offers a fresh perspective on the Holocaust narrative. At once compelling and heartbreaking, this novel is an exploration of what it is to be a survivor of the twentieth century’s largest genocide. Seamlessly blending this fictional account with the historical record, Cantor creates an achingly raw and utterly believable story that breathes new life into Anne Frank through her sister Margot’s eyes. It is, overall, a novel of what-ifs. What if Margot Frank did not die in the camps along with her sister and mother? What if, in fact, she escaped?

    April, 1959. Margie Franklin, formerly Margot Frank, has risen from the ashes of her previous life and created a new identity for herself in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States. Working as a legal secretary for a Jewish law firm, she lives a simple and even boring life, from all appearances. But in reality her world flirts with the danger of being discovered for who she truly is. For the past fifteen years, she has done her best to deny her religion and her homeland, claiming to be a Polish Gentile. The Anne Frank portrayed on screen and even in her diary is not the Anne that Margie knew, and Margie can’t help but wonder why her own diary was never published. She also wonders if Peter van Pels could have survived and also moved to Philadelphia, as they planned. However, for the most part she tries to forget the past—until it is brought crashing down upon her when her boss, Joshua Rosenstein, decides to pursue a group litigation against anti-Semitism.

    “Margot” is a haunting and unrelenting psychological profile of survivor’s guilt. It invites readers to ponder what it would be like to live through the hellish concentration camps for being a Jew only to spend years trying to escape one’s identity. For Margot, hiding became second nature after spending two years in the annex, and even in America it is a survival technique. She becomes neither a Jew nor a Gentile, a lonely woman for whom everything serves as a harsh reminder and triggers painful flashbacks as she struggles to maintain pretenses. At the same time, Joshua Rosenstein deals with the guilt of living an easy life as an American and trying to compensate through his profession, introducing the dichotomy that exists between German Jews and American Jews in post-WWII society. Ultimately, though, there is no safe place when the person you’re hiding from is yourself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Po Wonderfully written

    A truly great "what if..." story. From the moment I began reading, I could not put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This story is incredibly moving. I had heard many good things ab

    This story is incredibly moving. I had heard many good things about the book and was anxious to read it. I was not disappointed. Not only was the story compelling but the writing was amazing. I was swept away from the start.




    There is not much information on Margot Frank but the author stayed true to what is available in developing her character. Ms. Cantor took the little that was known and crafted a captivating character. Margie’s fears and insecurities felt very real. I wondered at some points if she was not only hiding her identity from others but also from herself. Her struggle to regain a sense of self, acknowledge her past, and begin to move forward was particularly touching.




    This is a great book and I recommend it highly. It is thought provoking and emotionally charged. It is the first book by this author that I have read. The writing was incredible. I will probably read more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Loved this

    Great to see tjings from another perspective

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Incredibly hard to put down.  I can feel her aloneness seeping o

    Incredibly hard to put down.  I can feel her aloneness seeping off the page and am rooting for her like crazy.  What a wonderful book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I would highly recommend this book!

    Beautifully written!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Unique Idea

    A work of fiction with historical references and facts. I found it interesting and easy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    Interesting

    If you liked Ann Frank's Diary, you will enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    GREAT!!!!!

    GREAT "WHAT IF?" BOOK> HAVE TO KEEP TELLING SELF THAT IT IS FICTION>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    I really enjoyed this read!

    Ms Cantor did a great job in creating a story that seemed so real without using graphic details. I was anxious to return to this book each time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Fqecvv hs rynfc fjshj

    Fuduggh bgbyyj v bvhrh dbbvgjfbbb brjfjgjdd

    0 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2