Customer Reviews for

Marie Antoinette: The Journey

Average Rating 4
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Detailed and engaging

    I've read this book twice, and think it is absolutely wonderful. I knew almost nothing about Marie Antoinette before I read it, except some of the rumors, such as the infamous "Let them eat cake" comment, which Fraser is careful to dispel. This book presents a touching portrait of a queen who fell spectacularly from grace in the eyes of her subjects, and the events that led to her fall. Fraser does not absolve Marie Antoinette of spending lavishly while her subjects went hungry, but at the same time does present reasoning and understanding so that readers may comprehend that among the nobility she was not unique in this and was following an accepted standard. Though some may accuse Fraser of being too compassionate toward the queen, I think her research and insights are dead on, and am happy to read a biography that does not justify, but works against the vilification of a queen already made infamous by slander and libel in her own time and years after her death. To me, this book gives a much fairer picture of Marie Antoinette, coupled with a harrowing glimpse of the French Revolution as it began. Very informative, a great read if you are interested in this particular time in history.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The best biography of Marie Antoinette

    If you read only one book about Marie Antoinette, let it be this one. And if you don't like history or nonfiction, don't let that daunt you either; even as non-fiction, this book beats all the fictionalized novels about Marie Antoinette. In this case, the real story is just as thrilling. Fraser's research is great, and the attention to detail and emotion is stronger than in most non-fiction or history books. This one is the best!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2007

    interesting history

    Never has a history book been so interesting. I'm usually a fan of fictional historical romance or of fiction books. But this book was so captivating that i read it in a matter of 2 weeks 'it's a pretty long book'. I was never bored reading this and i certainly learned some history

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    A brillant book!

    I had been wanting to read this book for quite sometime, and I was thrilled when I checked it out from the library. It was a brillant book! It had everything: drama, action, tragedy, romance, and even some comedy, and it wasn't even fiction! Antonia Fraser is a fantastic writer, and I plan on reading some more of her books. Normally, I don't cry while reading a book, but this one made me tear up when Louis was forced to leave his family and be executed. Also, it makes you see Marie Antoinette, not as the spoiled, cruel, vicious adultress who seduced every man[though she did conduct one affair], but as a brave, compassionate, loyal, and wonderful person. Someone who didn't derserve to be exuecuted.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2006

    Marie Antoinette a real woman I wish I knew.

    Takes a little while to get into the story. A lot of names, dates, places, etc to remember. Once Marie Antoinette settles into Versailles you start to keep up with the names and such. But this story gives Marie Antoinette a human aspect, not just a historical figure who said 'let them eat cake' (which is debunked by the way). By the time it gets to the revolution and this desperate family is trying to find ways out you really start rooting for their side. You want them to escape and get away from the mobs. I actually got teary-eyed when poor Louis XVI is carted away to the guillotine. Antoinia Fraser doesn't let Marie Antoinette get away with being the 'perfect queen' though, she was far from it. All in all a very good read and I will probably read it again. If you are going to see the Sofia Coppola movie, read this, it will clear up some historical questions you may have.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2007

    Excellent Bio

    This book was an excellent biography of the life of Marie Antoinette. Fraser did a great job setting the record straight on the whole 'let them eat cake' fiasco and explained the reasoning for why she is considered the biggest scapegoat of the French Revolution. If you saw the Sohpia Coppola bio-pic then you know she didn't do the queen justice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2007

    A Great Read!

    I bought this book after first seeing the movie- which I loved!!! This book is a great read for anyone who is looking to learn about history. Admittedly it can get a little slow at times, but not so much that you lose interest in the book. It is by far one of the most interesting and well-done biographies that I have read and I truely do suggest that anyone with even a mild interest in Marie Antoinette give it a shot- and if you find the book too dry, watch the movie!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2005

    It was Amazing

    Antonia Fraser's Marie Antoinette: The Journey is a very well written biography of the often misunderstood Queen. While presenting all the details, Antonia Fraser pulls the reader in to the life of this Austrian princess. Although the book is rather long, it is only a tough read, when attempting to finish it in a weekend. I highly suggest this great book to all considering it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2014

    Excellent!

    Excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Enchanting

    I have read this book over and over again. It is so well written that i not only learn about this extaordinary woman but also get lost in her world. I bought it on my Nook because my paperback was falling apart.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Interesting bio

    Presents a more nuanced picture of the subject. In this well written and researched book, Marie Antoinette assumes a human and, at times, very sympathetic dimension.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Incredibly boring

    See headline

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    Well done

    Ms. Fraser captures the pomp, tedium and subterfuge of the court. Marie comes across at first as a naive teen who develops into a mature elegant, dignified representative of royalty. Some of the horrors of the revolution are vividly depicted. I came away from the reading with a more positive impression of the woman than I had had from history courses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Biography

    This is one of the first non-fiction books I have ever read, and I really enjoyed reading it, I also watched the PBS film Marie Antoinette by David Grubin in which Antonia Fraser appears.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    piece of cake

    this is a real treat for history lovers. l would recommend this for 12+. the story is very detailed, even breaks down intereuropean ideas and alliances into something you can understand. very good and highly recommended. - pengwin, from her NOOKcolor!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting book, great read!

    I was inspired to read Antonia Fraser's biography of Marie Antoinette after having read Alison Weir's biography about Henry VIII and his wives. Fraser's book was a wonderful read - well researched, and very engaging. She did a good job of presenting the facts of her research while at the same time offering just enough of her own opinion or interpretation of the facts to keep the book interesting (although the straight facts were very interesting on their own.) The pictures that were included with the book were a great addition and added to the reader's ability to feel drawn into the world of Marie Antoinette and Versailles. Overall, I thought this was a wonderful book and I would highly recommend it to anyone who has an interest in historical figures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    Great story

    Very enjoyable history of a most misunderstood person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    started off good....

    It really started good then it dragged on and on. I had to put the book down and then start another finishing this one here and there. It is a really nice looking book, lots of nice pictures. Better then the story... I think after finally finishing it that Marie Antoinette was murdered for lies that were spread. I feel sorry for her in this story. It's too bad what happened to her. I'd recommend this book if you have ALOT of time on your hands and would really want to know what happend to her.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2007

    Great Biography

    Great biography, meticulously researched, and well written. I don't think a better biography on Marie Antoinette will ever be written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2007

    A reviewer

    Excellent read. Fraser was very thorough...a little 'too' thorough because the book can at times be long and drawn out...but can't complain. Also sets the record straight on the whole 'let them eat cake' fiasco. Definitely recommended for anyone interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5