Customer Reviews for

Mariel of Redwall (Redwall Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    Intruiging!

    well written, beautiful cover illustrations,a must read !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :) :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    The most adventurous book ever!

    This book is full of adventure, suspense and an occasional laugh. When you read this book you will find yourself in a parallel universe of amazing animal warriors touching characters and a few you want to scream at. The main character is a young mouse who was abused and almost drowned. She seeks revenge on her abuser and her father's capturer Gabool the Wild. While you are captured in Mr. Jacques world you witness friends being made, problems being solved, and love being restored. This book is reccomended for people who love books with warfare, animals, and extreme excitement!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Mariel of Redwall

    This book was awesome! My school gave us summer "homework" where we had to read three books on this list and Redwall was one of them and I got totally HOOKED on the series, and I LOVED Mariel of Redwall! Mariel is a strong female protagonist with a brave and realistic heart. My favorite character in the book was actually Dandin. He was so awesome with Martin's spirit and all that! Mariel, and Dandin, who are mice, and Tarquin, who is a hare, set off on an adventure to Terramort Isle to rescue Mariel's father Joseph and the bell the searat Gabool the Wild stole off a ship that was meant for Rawnblade Widestripe, the Badger Lord of Salamandastron. Rawnblade is on a ship going to Terramort to get the bell and meet up with the heroes on the way. With the help of T.R.A.G., they anger a scorpion that ultimately kills Gabool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2007

    An awesome book!

    When the evil searat Gabool throws Mariel overboard into the sea, her one objective from then on is to get revenge on Gabool. Once she finally gets washed ashore, she finds her memory is gone. Mariel meets a hare named Tarquin who escorts her to Redwall. At Redwall she eventually regains her memory and sets out on a quest, with her new friends Dandin, Durry, and Tarquin, to hunt down Gabool. I like this book because it is very exciting. This book has a lot action in it. It has many battles, like when the long patrol attacks Graypatch¿s camp of searats. Graypatch and his horde lay siege on Redwall for two weeks. The battle at the end is huge. It is three times as big as any other battle in the book. Mariel of Redwall was a great adventure book. Many things happen to the characters as they travel across land and sea, such as when Mariel, Dandin, Tarquin, and Durry get captured by a band of demented weasels. Also, while the foursome is on their quest, Redwall gets attacked by a band of gruesome searats. A fleet of searats also attacks another kingdom, called Salamandastron. All of the characters are unique in their own way. Tarquin always looks on the positive side of things, such as when he was about to go into war, and he said that this ought to be fun. Rawnblade is a fierce fighter who never backs down from a fight. For example, he fought an entire fleet of searats, when he could have just fled. Mariel is the kind who will never change her mind once it¿s set, just like when she wanted leave Redwall. She left although everyone tried to make her stay. Mariel of Redwall is a great book. If you have the chance I say read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    I started reading Redwall books in sixth grade when Brian Jacques came to my school. I recently graduated from college and this is still my favorite series. Mariel of Redwall and its sequel The Bellmaker are my favorite books in the series. They are full of amazing characters, breathtaking descriptions of the surroundings, and fabulous food and hospitality. Hon Rosie is my favorite charscter of all times, and I loved reading about her and the other hares of the long patrol. These books have the capacity to draw the reader into a far away world and make them want to return again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2007

    Mariel Of Redwall

    Cast overboard by the wicked searat Gabool the Wild, a young mousemaid, carrying her knottted rope the Gullwhacker, sets out and finds the place called Redwall Abbey, a peaceful and serene place where all creatures are welcome. There she meets the young mouse Dandin, the heir of the sword of the legendary Martin The Warrior. Together they set out with a child hedgehog and a harolina-playing hare to destroy the searat Gabool. On their way to TerraMort,the isle on which Gabool lives, Mariel is reunited with her father, Joseph the Bellmaker, whos prized bell was stolen by Gabool the wild. With the help of the used-to-be slaves from Gabool's horde, who are promised a life in Redwall, the team overthrows Gabool and return to a life in Redwall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2006

    I WISH I COULD RATE IT A BILLION STARS

    I LOVE this book because it was really adventurous and a genuine page turner. Every one of Jacques' books I've read so far are truly amazing, and I praise him for his hard work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2005

    Great Book!

    YOu must read this book. It is awesome. My favorite character is Tarquin. He is really funny. And I am currently reading the sequel, The bellmaker and so far it is awesome. My favorite include Harry Potter, The Redwall series, the Alex Rider Series, and the Eragon series. If anoyone has a suggestion of a good book or series that i might like, please post it in this review board.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2005

    First one read.

    This was the first book from Jacques that I ever read. Before I read it I was not a big reader at all. If you are looking for an easy read and amazing characters then these are the books for you. You will be wishing it will never end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2005

    a true redwall

    Mariel of Redwall is a great book to the series that redwall fans will love. It has the same sense of adventure as the other ones. It is kind of slow moving at the beginning of the story, but it picks up the pace of entertainment quickly. There are all new characters and types of animals introduced, which may make it kind of confusing at the beginning. But they aren't anything you can't get used to. All in all, Mariel of Redwall is a great book in the series that people who like fantasy and animal stories will love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2004

    WOW!

    A young mouse maid, thrown overboard to her death is about to change Redwall forever. In this Redwall tale, Gabool the cruel terrizes creatures of all shapes and sizes. When little mouse babe Marial stumbles in her slave spot and almost causes Gabool his death, she is cast overboard to lose her father, her memory, and her life. After she is taken to Redwall Abbey and Martin's good soul returns her memery in a poem, she sets off on an adventure with her friends to save her father and his bell. The great bell that was cast for the badger lord of Salanmastron.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2004

    Pirates, sea rats, and danger around every corner

    Mariel of Redwall is your normal swashbuckling tale. In the beginning there's an evil rat pirate called Gabool, the Wild King of the Sea Rats. He throws a young maiden mouse named Mariel into the sea after he raids her father's ship. Gabool intends to steal the great bell that is on the way to Salamandastron, the land of the badger lords. Mariel washes up on land and is then taken to Redwall by some hares who find her. She can't remember her name or anything about herself, so she decides to call herself Storm Gulwhacker. She then sets out on a quest, along with a mouse, a hedgehog, and a hare, to kill Gabool. With the help of a badger lord named Rawnblade and her father's secret alliance of former slaves, Mariel and her army attack Gabool's fortress, intending to slaughter the wicked rat and destroy his armada of ships and sea rats. I don't want to spoil the end, but this book is extremely good. It's very long but it holds your attention. The best parts of the book are the battles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2004

    I DIDN'T LIKE IT THAT MUCH....

    THIS WAS MY LEAST FAVORITE OF ALL THE REDWALL BOOKS. GABOOL CREEPED ME OUT. I JUST DIDN'T LIKE IT. BUT I RESPECT IT AS A REDWALL BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2004

    A charming new heroine to meet!

    Joan of Arc, Eowyn, Lucy of 'Narnia', yes, history & liturature are full of heroines. Meet Mariel, a plucky, courageous mousemaid who comes to Redwall and learns who she really is. With a small band of friends, funny and loyal alike, she journeys to find again the murduring pirate who killed her father, the Bellmaker. Totally adventerous and sometimes laugh-out-loud funny, this book is a real page-turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2003

    Another fabulous addition to the Redwall series

    This one took me very long to read, like, maybe a month, but still I was so entranced by it at the end that I was ashamed to take so long to tuck the book away. This was a wonderful story, and sets up a grand tale for The Bellmaker, starring the entire cast a season or two after this one. Trust me- this is a must have book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2002

    Its a Mouse

    I think Mariel of Redwall is a great book because, when you start reading the book its like you need to find out whats on the next page. Its a great book if your looking for adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2002

    It was sooo cool!

    This book was great! I could not put it down,I finished it in one day. It seemed as if i was really there. I highly reccomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2002

    What else do you expect from Jacques?

    This book was really good. All I really have to say about this is the same as for any other Redwall book: Exciting, suspenseful, action-pcked with the occasional peaceful scene and comic relief when things got a bit too serious. All in all, like all Redwall books, a good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2002

    My favorite book in the Redwall sires

    The 4th book in the sires of Redwall was amazing. In it a girl was tied to a rock and 'hurled to her fate by a son of Hellgate'. When she was washed up to shore she named herself Storm Gullwacker. The rest you wil have to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2002

    Must read Must have!

    Another great story by Brian Jaques. About a young mousemaid who is detirmined to rescue her father from the sea king Gabool the wild.A great plot(as always.)His beatiful world full of imagination & adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4