Customer Reviews for

Mariel of Redwall (Redwall Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2002

    a good book in the best series in the world

    This book was awesome which is really not up to standard for Brian Jaques. Read the book and the rest of the series and you'll get hooked

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2002

    The Best I've Read

    Brian writes a magnicficent adventure to keep you on your toes. One of the best he's written. I would recomend this to anyone who loves aventure and hand to hand combat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2002

    Great

    I'm really only about 100 pages into the book but it's already got my attention, I'm glad I got it. It's only the fourth one of the series that I have read but I'm already addicted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2002

    I give it 5 stars

    It is a wonderful book. Oh, the magic it produces. I myself have read it a thousand times. I urge you to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2002

    MARIEL

    I am really only 130 pages into this wonderful book, but I already love it. I really didn't know about the series until I read 'Salamandastron', which is also excellent, now I love Jacques books. Read This.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2001

    Awesome ! ! !

    I have just finished up this book and am still thinking about it, and it has earned it's rank as my favorite book of the series yet. It is filled with great adventures and can't be beaten. The best, definitely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2001

    Suhweet

    This book was incredible!! Finally! a Redwall book with a female hero! I also love her weapon. I think all the Redwall books are awesomely written, you have GOT to read them!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2001

    3rd best so far

    my favorite of the books i have read so far are redwall, mattimeo and mariel of redwall. i think brian jacques is the greatest writer since... ever really. i think that any one who likes books, animals and/or medieval things this definatley the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2001

    A True Heroine

    I spent every waking moment reading this book! A Redwall fan til the end, I was astounded by Mariel and her gullwacker. She is a great role model for girls. Adventuresome and uplifting, I recommend this book because it has lots of GIRL POWER and will make you wish the story never ended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2001

    Same recipe still produces a great dish

    Ah, the redwall books. How I enjoy the redwall books. If you don't know, all of these books are set in an anthropomorphic world where the animals have human characteristics, some more than others. The mice, squirrels, badgers, rabbits, etc. are the 'good people of Redwall Abbey and Mossflower Woods' (where most of the stories take place, or at least figure prominently), while the rats, stoats, foxes, snakes, etc. are the 'evil folk.' Especially the rats. Yes, it makes for a fairly simplistic look at the world, but it's fun, so who cares? This tale involves the young mousemaid Mariel, whose ship was attacked by the vile searat pirate Gabool the Wild. She and her father wer kidnapped and taken prisoner. She was tossed off the island by Gabool, however, and by luck made it to shore near Mossflower Woods. The main adventure consists of Mariel's journey back to the island home of the pirates and the eventual battle there, while a group of searat pirates makes a strike at Redwall Abbey itself. I am discovering that all of the Redwall stories are formulaic. Somebody will attack the abbey, and somebody will go off on a quest, with only a cryptic poem to guide them. I've seen this at least four times now, but it never seems to get old. Odd that. I think I just like the hedgehogs, with their adorable cockney-styled accents. And all the descriptions of food. Food is the largest recurrent theme in these stories, with many descriptions of all the delectable items that are consumed at them any feasts that Redwall Abbey celebrates. Great stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2001

    Greatest Book Ever

    I thought that this was a graet book. I'm still in grade school, but it is the greatest book I have ever read. It also helped my class for a reading contest. I liked the part where the big scorpion killed Gabool. I thought that was really funny. I think Brian Jaques is an awesome writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2001

    Mariel Is Awsome

    Mariel is the second best book that I have read right behind redwall. Buy It now!!!!!!!! I command you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2001

    Years to Come

    I absolutely loved this book and so will the rest of my family when they can read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2001

    Best Book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book was really good. Brian Jacques is probably the best writer. I really liked Mariel and Tarquin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2001

    Simply Magnificant

    I have read many books concidering the age of mine, which is twelve, and this I think that this book is better than the lord of the ring series or the harry potter series by far. The one thing that you might want to do is start from the very first book in this series which is redwall and then work up from. Don't miss this series because it is a sparkling jem!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2001

    gReAT boOk!

    You MUST read this book! You should start by reading the first Redwall book, and read the whole series in order

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2001

    a must for redwall lovers!

    I wold just like to say that I loved this book. Jaques talent for making woodland animals have human qualites is amazing! It was really hard for me to put this book down until I finished

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2001

    Mariel Smariel.

    I remember when I first sat down to read this book. I tried so desperatley to see the value and importance of this tale. But alas, I couldn't. Five years later, I went back to it, and read it again. And alas, no such luck. Then I realized that this book has no value! It's plot is pointless! There's no urgency that is being presented to the reader! So a little mousemaid fell overboard and wants to get revenge on an ugly sea rat, who cares? Really, though, what Mariel of Redwall needs is a good strong plot with a central villain who just doesn't come and go. Mariel is fine, but she needs more of a reason to go after Gabool other than her father, who she isn't even sure is alive. Some sort of irony that ties them together. And Gabool needs to establish himself as the head villain. Half the book is about Graypatch, a weakling, compared to Gabool, parading all around Mossflower. Jacques is a great author, but he could've done better. What a waste of a good villain like Gabool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2000

    Mariel of Redwall was AWESOME!

    It was very intriguing. One of the best Redwall books ever. Brian Jacques made it feel like I was in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2000

    Best Ever

    TTTTTTTTHHHHHHHHEEEEEEEEE BBBBBBEEEEEEESSSSSSTTTTT EEEEEEVVVVVVVVEEEEERRRRRR

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4