Customer Reviews for

Marilu Henner's Total Health Makeover

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent new way to look at Food

    After reading this book I now have a better understanding of how our bodies digest and process the foods we eat, also how harmful it can be to eat foods that are not organic. I found the information on food combining in particular extremely interesting and informative.
    I always give this book as a gift when someone ask me for advice because I am so healthy and in shape at age 50+. This is a book I recommend to anyone regardless of whether their in shape and have a good healthy lifestyle.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    EATING FOR HEALTHY FOR EVERYONE

    I am not a vegan or a complete vegetarian - Marilu offers great advice, her books are a wonderful reference guide, I have combined what I can into my life with great success. Her book Healthy Life Kitchen is also excellent. She was way ahead of the new material and she was so accurate.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2004

    The Start of a Great New Life!

    I cant' eat any dairy and when I found this book, my life was changed, along with her other books that are full of recipes, I live this program (NOT a diet) pretty much all day, every day- her great website, marilu.com is a huge part of staying on track, connecting with others and getting more information- She's not pushy about the steps- you take the steps as you feel comfortable doing them- it really is a great new life for me and it's been 7 years since I first read this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2003

    Thank you Marilu!

    I first got her audio tape, which encouraged me to go to the library for this book. I am wanting to buy it and her cookbook because within 3 weeks of giving up dairy, meat(except fish), chemicals and doing the food combining, (I am not off coffee, yet) I have lost 10 lbs with out trying and am not bloated or gassy and I eat beans and rice several times a week! I just turned 40 and this is EXACTLY what I needed to jumpstart my next 40 years! :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2001

    A Great Health Book

    Marilu gives 10 steps to improving your health which some people may feel are radical. However, after trying out at least half of the steps, I am feeling more energized and healthier. If you are tired, or overweight, or just feel blah, this book is for you. It challenges the way you think about different food groups (dairy, meat, sugar) and will help lead you to a new lifestyle.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2001

    Great book!

    This book really helped me change my eating habits. My goal was not weight loss, but looking and feeling better. I had a puffy face, bags under my eyes, and often felt bloated, gassy, and tired. By following Marilou's plan of food combining, eliminating dairy, and reducing chemicals, preservatives, additives, refined sugars (toxins) I started to look and feel much better, younger, and lost weight without even trying! I am never hungry on this plan because you can eat to your fill, as long as you properly combine. I love it and have become a total believer and convert! The book is easy to read and follow, only occasionally lapses into 'silly' talk, which is easy to overlook, and is balanced by a lot of nutritional research on her part.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    What happened to the pictures?

    I owned this in hardcover but got rid of it due to lack of space. Repurchased on my nook, but all the beautiful photos of Marilu and her family and some of the foods are missing. Still a good book, but you aren't getting the full book. It isn't available at Barnes and Noble store either except on c.d. once again underwhelmed by technology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2000

    Will absolutely change your life!

    This book really enlightens you to what you should know about food and the way to be truly healthy.This is what you should have been taught from the day one to live a long and happy life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2000

    A must read//changed my life!

    I was impressed with the all encompassing comprehensive view this book took. It not only talked about the fundementals of health. But it also gave new ideas that are quite effective. I am glad I read it, and so glad I have started living it. I can't stop talking about it to friends and family. It cleary just made sence. It gave me the motivation I needed to make changes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1