Customer Reviews for

Marilyn Monroe: The Biography

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2008

    totally great!!!

    after only being 17 years old, and not truely knowing who she was, i hvae always been a huge fan! reading this was like stepping back in time and floating over her as she made her trips in life. We got to know the true her

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    The whole truth

    The only bk I've read about Marilyn (and I've read many) that is based purely on fact. Not only does he research well enough to put together a full portrait of her life but he also expells several rumors & tells reasons why they cannot be true. Finally a bk that shows respect for this wonderful woman & does her justice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2008

    Fantastic! A Marilyn Monroe Fan Must Read!

    I just finished reading Marilyn Monroe: The Biography and I was very pleased. I picked up this book when I took on a sudden interest in learning more about her, not really knowing much, and I have to say this book did not disapoint. This book was written so well that I could not put it down, and you could tell that the author was going by pure fact and not rumor in everything that he wrote. He gave excellent history not only on Marilyn herself, but of all the people that entered her life. I wanted to read a biography of her life that was based on no speculation or how the author percieves the subject(Marilyn) and this book gave me just that. If anyone is interested in reading a biography on Marilyn Monroe this is most definitly the one to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2007

    Once you start, you can't stop

    This book is for all Monroe fans. when i got the book in sept. of 2005. Because it is so big, i thought i would never get this read, i'm not a big reader but this book is so good you won't be able to put it down. At the end it tells about how she died and will give you the chance to have your own opinion of how she died. This is the best book out there on this amazing but sad star.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2002

    Best Marilyn Monroe Book Ever Written

    Donald Spoto does an outstanding job in this book about Marilyn Monroe. After reading many books on her, I read this one and found that Donald tells it the best way and the most true. He does not leave anything out and the REAL way she died is revealed. If you want to learn about Marilyn, don't bother reading any other book because this one is all you need. The pages just fly by, and you will come away with a better understanding of the original and ultimate sex goddess.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2001

    The Truth about Marilyn Monroe

    Out of all the books I have skimmed through and all the websites I have read about her life, Spoto has done a wonderful job on depicting Marilyn. Not only does he set the story straight and tells truth of Marilyn and her tragic life, he also brings up the myths or stereotypes about her and proves to you that they are not true. Yes she lived a confused life, yes she was fond of cavier and champahge,yes she slept with JFK for one night, but she was not murdered and she did not have affairs with Elvis or Marlon Brando. His afterword proves shows where other books have gone wrong and how people used her for money. If you want the truth about her life and her beauty, this book is the one buy. And when you finish it you feel closer to her and understand her more than you do inany other book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Amazing!!

    This book is outstanding! By far the best Marilyn Monroe biography out there! A must read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1