Customer Reviews for

Marines (Crimson Worlds I)

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Really enjoyed it - looking forward to book 2

If you like military science fiction with a little more to it than just battles, you will probably enjoy this book.

It's a first person account of one soldier's experiences, so my mind immediately went to comparisons to classics like Starship Troopers or the Forever ...
If you like military science fiction with a little more to it than just battles, you will probably enjoy this book.

It's a first person account of one soldier's experiences, so my mind immediately went to comparisons to classics like Starship Troopers or the Forever War. I could see some influence of both, but clearly this is its own story.

It starts out with a detailed account of the main character's first battle. I thought it was good, but perhaps a little long. If the whole book had just been similar, I would have enjoyed it but rated it a bit lower. But the next couple chapters give us backstory on the character and his past. Subsequent chapters give the reader much more information, including descriptions on the world and its history.

The story has several levels. On its most basic level it is an account of one man's redemption, but there is a lot about the background universe. Earth is definitely dystopian, and the story is a dark one in many ways.

It is well-written, and if fed me just enough info to keep me interested and anxious for more. The tech is interesting, and feels realistic. The backstory seems very deep, and I would have enjoyed more, but it seems to be the first of a series, so hopefully that will follow.

There was a sample of the second book included, which I also enjoyed. It seems to shift from the first person telling and broadens out to include more characters.

All in all, I really liked it. I thought it was a fresh and interesting take on a tried and true genre.

posted by tamerlaneNYC on September 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

an ayn rand wanna be

this didactic political tome makes many false assumptions about the human condition. mainly asserting anyone who doesn't share the authors libertarian views is a coward, craven and unwilling to stand up for what is right. the plot line reads like a resume of how excel...
this didactic political tome makes many false assumptions about the human condition. mainly asserting anyone who doesn't share the authors libertarian views is a coward, craven and unwilling to stand up for what is right. the plot line reads like a resume of how excellent it is, and how great your life can be, if you only think of yourself and your closest compatriots. i am embarrassed to have purchased this trilogy.

posted by carl-larsen on March 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    Really enjoyed it - looking forward to book 2

    If you like military science fiction with a little more to it than just battles, you will probably enjoy this book.

    It's a first person account of one soldier's experiences, so my mind immediately went to comparisons to classics like Starship Troopers or the Forever War. I could see some influence of both, but clearly this is its own story.

    It starts out with a detailed account of the main character's first battle. I thought it was good, but perhaps a little long. If the whole book had just been similar, I would have enjoyed it but rated it a bit lower. But the next couple chapters give us backstory on the character and his past. Subsequent chapters give the reader much more information, including descriptions on the world and its history.

    The story has several levels. On its most basic level it is an account of one man's redemption, but there is a lot about the background universe. Earth is definitely dystopian, and the story is a dark one in many ways.

    It is well-written, and if fed me just enough info to keep me interested and anxious for more. The tech is interesting, and feels realistic. The backstory seems very deep, and I would have enjoyed more, but it seems to be the first of a series, so hopefully that will follow.

    There was a sample of the second book included, which I also enjoyed. It seems to shift from the first person telling and broadens out to include more characters.

    All in all, I really liked it. I thought it was a fresh and interesting take on a tried and true genre.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Engaging Read

    Quirky storytelling in a good way. Interesting characters with strong world crafting. A few copyedit isues but do not interfere with smooth reading. In fact, the story reads quite smoothly. The kind of characters you want to follow.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Very good. The following two books get even better you can see b

    Very good. The following two books get even better you can see both the author and the storyline develop.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Awesome book

    Its a great book for people that love space travel and people should read it remember its awesome

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    Excellent series but it gets predictable before the end.

    Excellent series of books. Marine language is included but fits the story so well it is hardly noticeable. The political shenanigans are sometimes hard to put up with, but overall quite a good read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    decent read

    a

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Great thread

    Enoyable characters, believable conflicts and I don't mean the battles!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    I paid twice for the book but all i got was the preview

    I think that I would love the book... to bad I can only read the first 38 pages!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Starship Troopers, Hammer's Slammers, Armor

    I haven't read a good Space Combat Marines story in a long time. This book is one. Set in a dystopian future a young criminal is offered a future among the stars. He finds home and family among the marines in space.

    It's a good read. I would recommend this to any military sci-fi fan. I will be reading the other books in the series in the near future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Jay Allan

    Is a great story teller and very easy to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    an ayn rand wanna be

    this didactic political tome makes many false assumptions about the human condition. mainly asserting anyone who doesn't share the authors libertarian views is a coward, craven and unwilling to stand up for what is right. the plot line reads like a resume of how excellent it is, and how great your life can be, if you only think of yourself and your closest compatriots. i am embarrassed to have purchased this trilogy.

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Good start to the series

    This is a great book and it looks like it is going to be a good series. More people should know about this book. It has a great sci-fi and military feel to it but that is not all it has. The main character has a good rags to riches story. An overall good story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    I enjoyed this book very much

    The story and characters are interesting. The pace of the story kept me reading and not wanting to put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    For those who enjoy military sci-fi, this is a good (but maybe n

    For those who enjoy military sci-fi, this is a good (but maybe not great) read. The tech is interesting and believable. The setting is fleshed out nicely with plenty of room for more information in the following books. Where I thought the story missed a bit was in the character development. I was thoroughly interested in the characters, but they seemed as "robotic" as their armor much of the time. Having read the first chapter of the next book, I was very much into the naval battle taking place and will be giving the series more time to keep my attention for long haul. Everything is there to make this a great story. There just needs to be a little more "human" in those power suits.    

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Don't waste your time

    I have never bothered to write a review until now. Of all the Sci Fi I have read this is the first one I've encountered that left feeling as if I needed to warm others to stay away from. Sorry Jay but the truth hurts. A serious yarn that is part Old Man's War part Halo with none of the cool stuff in between. Just a dream out continuation of the same old conflicts we have today carried into space.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2014

    Just Okay

    I like military Sci-Fi, but this one fell short in several areas. The character development was sorely lacking as well as a back story on the main character. Way too much in troop movements and tactical with the action descriptions way to lean. It lacked the human element.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Plz read

    Who likes Dr. Who

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    A great read.  The story is well developed.  Takes power armor t

    A great read.  The story is well developed.  Takes power armor to the next level.  A must for anybody familiar with "Star Ship Troopers"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Very good except

    Very good except it had way to much medical for a non medical person. But was a good read except for that

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Awesome

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2