Customer Reviews for

The Mark (Henry Parker Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Debut Winner

Good plot, great characters, fast pace and a surprise ending. What more could you ask for. Sometimes it takes years for a writer to have a bestseller. Pinter has done it in just one novel. A debut winner indeed. Read it - you won't be disappointed. Has movie written ...
Good plot, great characters, fast pace and a surprise ending. What more could you ask for. Sometimes it takes years for a writer to have a bestseller. Pinter has done it in just one novel. A debut winner indeed. Read it - you won't be disappointed. Has movie written all over it!!!

posted by Anonymous on July 17, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Read

I enjoyed this book, it kept me interested throughout. All the twists and turns of having to clear ones name were very exciting.

posted by 2860957 on January 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    Good Read

    I enjoyed this book, it kept me interested throughout. All the twists and turns of having to clear ones name were very exciting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    Starting out very slow.

    Rating should be no stars. I have read 7 chapters and I'm having a very hard time getting into this book. It sounds like a 8 year old is writing this. Maybe an 8 year old could do better. Reads like(SEE DICK RUN SEE DICK FALL). Guess I got taken on this one. Do not recommend

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    Wow

    I read this thriller in one day! what a thrill ride. I am on book # 2 of the series. This book was really good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2007

    A Debut Winner

    Good plot, great characters, fast pace and a surprise ending. What more could you ask for. Sometimes it takes years for a writer to have a bestseller. Pinter has done it in just one novel. A debut winner indeed. Read it - you won't be disappointed. Has movie written all over it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Loved it!

    Picked out this book on whim after reading the back cover of the paperback at a second hand bookstore. Thought it sounded like a decent story so i grabbed a copy. So glad i did! I read the entire book in 2 days and cant wait to start the next Harry Parker story (i am buying it for my Nook right now)
    Definitely worth my time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2009

    The Mark

    New author, thought I would give it a shot. Boy, am I glad I did, and you can bet I will again. Couldn't put the book down. Takes a look from a different perspective. Really good, kept my interest throughout. Definitely worth reading. Looking forward to reading Guilty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2008

    wow

    great book read it in one day could not put it down cannot wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2007

    A reviewer

    Move over Baldacci & Flynn. The new guy just blew you out of the water! I can't wait for 'The guilty'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    The Best

    When i was reading The Mark, I could not put it down. When i was getting close to finishing the book i slowed down cause i didn't want it to end. It's so descriptive. It takes you into the minds of the characters. I was sucked into the book i could feel everything that was going on. I laughed, I cryed. A few times i had to stop reading to remind myself to breathe. It is the best book i have ever read and can't wait until The Guilty comes out. I recomend it to anyone and everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2007

    Quick read, decent plot

    This is a quick read, the problem with this book is that it sort of reads a little bit like a wild Tommy Lee Jones movie, where sometimes its just unrealistic and your like 'wow thats silly!' Otherwise, it keeps your hanging because you really feel nervous for the main character throughout the whole book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2007

    Kept me turning the pages

    I picked this up because I'm a big Lee Child fan and he gave a quote for the book, and I was quite pleasantly surprised. This is a very fast read, good characters, and I was nervous as to whether they would make it out alive. Some of the scenarios are a little far-fetched, but the writing is good and there are some pretty funny moments. I'm curious to see what the author does next--apparently this is the first in a series--but this is one of the better thriller debuts I've read recently.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2007

    Edge of your seat, from cover to cover

    The fact that Henry Parker is young and just starting out as a journalist gives him a vulnerability that the reader can really relate to. If you enjoy books that transport you right into the scene of the action with heart-quickening adrenaline rushes, The Mark is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2007

    decent start, one to watch

    Good plot, if sometimes it stretches credulity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    Simply brillant...must read this book !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2007

    Great debut-looking forward to more from Pinter

    I thought The Mark was really great. It was certainly a page turner but also didn't neglect character development. I was concerned for Henry Parker and found his character to be so interesting and unique. He's not a guy with extraordinary powers- just a regular person going through the same troubles and emotions anyone would in that situation. I really look forward to the Henry Parker series and hope that they are all as great as this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    This is a terrific thriller

    Henry Parker dreams of becoming an investigative journalist like his heroes Bernstein and Woodward. So when he has an opportunity to work in New York he leaps at it. However, still new to his job and the city, Henry is assaulted while on assignment.-------------- When he regains consciousness, Henry finds he no longer seeks the news, he is the news. The NYPD think he is a cop killer while the FBI considers him as the prime suspect. He realizes if law enforcement catches him, he will take the fall as no one will believe his innocence even he has doubts with the evidence that he knows of. On the lam with the Feds and local cops giving chase, Henry quickly learns how dire his predicament is when mobsters seek to silence him after they recover a package he allegedly possesses Henry realizes if the mob gets him he would need to turnover to them what they demand if he is to die without a brutal beating, but the problem is that he does not have what they require. He knows he needs to elude the cops and the mob while also pursuing the same clues that will lead the cops and the mob to him.-------------- This is a terrific thriller starring an interesting protagonist who goes from awe to desperation as everyone wants a piece of him. The exhilarating story line is told either in the first person by Henry or in the active third person with the switching very smooth so that no disruption occurs. Readers will appreciate the insight into the frightened frantic hero as he explains what he thinks is happening to him while inside of an action-packed on the run investigative tale.------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3